We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Grouse Experience”

The Observatory at Grouse Mountain
Reserve with OpenTable
The Observatory at Grouse Mountain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 384 Restaurants in North Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Take bus 236 from Lonsdale Quay. It will bring you to the base of the Skyride.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Full Grouse Experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you're paying for the Alpine experience anyway, you might as well have dinner there. It's considered fine dining. The entree was lovely. I had the salmon and it was soft and flaky. My mother had the beef and it was plated very well with beautiful designs. The best was the dessert. We had the chocolate and peanut butter. It was so gorgeous! And it was delicious, not as heavy as I thought it'd be from the menu. It was great to have this dinner to finish off our time at Grouse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmcfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    92
    39
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great View, Great Grizzlies !”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Go early and walk the short trail around behind the Observatory and Chalet to see the orphaned rescue Grizzlies, Grinder and Coola. These beautiful Grizzly Bears are both males but seem to get along well, a must see if your up there this summer.
The Observtory restaurant was excellent. We were with two other local friends and had a wonderful evening view of Vancouver, Stanley park, islands and Burrard Inlet. If you make reservations for the restaurant there is no fee for the Skyride, otherwise it's pricey .
Our appetizer was the 'Duck-3-ways' believe it was the Fraser Valley Duck tasting, wonderful and very unique.
On mains, my friend and I had the Organic Beef Strip-loin, mine at medium-rare perfect, well-seasoned. My wife had the Sous-Vide Pork Loin, loved it. The 'Garden' came in a tipped over flower pot, wonderful presentation, olive tapenade very uniquely mimicked in presentation, garden soil. Lol. Very cool.
All four of us agreed the ' Carrot Cake re-invented'..Uhhh..well, should have been left 'un-reinvented'.. Don't fix the wheel, Dont mess with Carrot Cake Chef,, lol. Loved everything though, great service too

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick8469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent staff”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Unique entrees, delicious appetizers. We had the last sitting, they brought us free desserts and appetizers for the longer wait. Everything was delicious. The views of the city were gorgeous

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spritedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“delicious food, fantastic view, very good service...”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Best meals ever? You keep asking this but are there less than a handful which pass this threshold for me. However, it was really very good.
The amuse bouche; rack of lamb (slightly pink), halibut (perfectly moist), and 2 beef - medium/medium rare - beautifully presented in modern style and with a couple of pre-prandial cocktails, a great way to watch the sun go down over the bay. Fantastic views from our window table - surprisingly small restaurant but that makes it quite intimate. The portion sizes were moderate but perfect for us and we had enough room for dessert. Brûlée; dessert for 2; and cheese trio. Perfect.
The main courses are all C$39 - and the C$39.95 Skyride is inclusive. Total excl gratuity C$60 a head (or C$20 after the Skyride offset). Seems like excellent value to me.
And what value the view ?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stanmansurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Vancouver scenery from close to the sky”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This fine-dining restaurant at the top of Grouse Mountain is very enjoyable, especially on a sunny day. It has gorgeous views and is right by the Grouse Mountain Park, which has a series of attractions, like two grizzly bears and beautiful wood carvings on huge logs. All four of us ordered striploin, which was supposed to be cooked medium rare. It was actually medium to medium-done, so a bit tough. The taste was very good though. Some of the deserts, especially the chocolate-peanut butter cake, were way too sweet. Otherwise, the presentation and service were excellent. The main dishes are pricier compared with those of equivalent restaurants in Vancouver, but that's because they include the lift from the bottom of the mountain. It's worth it. If you plan on long walks prior to dining in Summer time, it's a good idea to bring some mosquitos repellent; they can be quite annoying. The views and walks are great, one of the highlights of any visit to Vancouver--not to be missed. We were celebrating my wife's birthday, which I announced while making the reservation, and she got an edible chocolate "happy birthday" card on her desert. Nice touch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Observatory at Grouse Mountain also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Observatory at Grouse Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing