We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere, friendly service but mediocre to bad food...”
Review of Gusto di Quattro

Gusto di Quattro
Ranked #21 of 378 Restaurants in North Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, friendly service but mediocre to bad food...”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I used to like Gusto di Quattro. I hadn't been there for a few years so I was quite looking forward to it when my friend suggested we go there for lunch. My waiter misunderstood my order, but that could have been my fault so I wouldn't place much weight on that. However, the food was so mediocre that I was shocked how much the quality had deteriorated. It is probably the worst Italian food I have had in years. I don't think I will go back for a long while.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    41
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wine list to die for!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Came across this little Italian restaurant by chance. Excellent food, fantastic wine list. Cosy atmosphere. The first night was excellent but unfortunately the table we sat at the second night was a little drafty as the back door kept being opened.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Service worth the price, food a little too fussy for my idea of Italian.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've spent a considerable amount of time in Italy and enjoyed a lot of food there! And my tastes really run to classic "simple ingredients prepared well results in delicious Italian food". I also do really enjoy fine-dining restaurants and appreciate what they have to offer.

So when a friend and I stayed at the Lonsdale Quay Hotel recently and were looking for a place to go for dinner, this seemed a natural choice! It's right across the street for crying out loud!! And Dine Out Vancouver was on so we snagged three courses for $38! What a deal!

Right away I loved the ambiance and coziness of Gusto di Quattro. We were welcomed and our coats were hung for us as the hostess escorted us to our table. I really appreciated the warmth of the restaurant after the chilly evening.

Throughout the entire evening, I was more than impressed by our servers' commitment to providing excellent, friendly, professional service and they all seemed quite knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. We ordered a half-litre of malbec, which was really delicious.

But overall, I was not wowed by the food. The bread was not warm when it was served with the oil/balsamic dip. And personally the food was a little overly-manipulated for my tastes. The fussiness of the food was more reminiscent of French cooking than Italian, to me. My mushroom soup had so many things going on in it that it was a little too heavy and dark in flavour for me to enjoy. I ordered scallops which came with some steamed spinach/mushrooms and also a potato cake, which were good but not amazing. I did truly enjoy my dessert option though, which was an olive oil cake which featured a delicate lemon flavour and was served with an ice cream. It was delicious.

For the price we paid, we got a good deal for some good food. But I don't think I'd make the effort to go there on a regular night and pay full price when there are so many other great, authentic Italian restaurants in the city! I did really appreciate the excellent service and I do also recognize that there may be a lot of people who would really enjoy this food, but Gusto di Quattro isn't really my idea of Italian.



Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgarly
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had four in our diner party, and four excellent meals. I had the seafood linguine, and normally you are hunting for the seafood, not here. My entree was loaded with scallops, shrimps and mussels. As I can not personally share my fellow diners opinion(s), there were NO leftovers, and everyone was quite pleased. Service was great, wine was good, ambience is small, but comfortable. Would I go back? Absolutely. If you like seafood, try the linguine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cheezewiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good choice for classic Italian”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The room is inviting and so is the staff. The food quality is excellent here. We have been several times for a special occasion and it's a favorite.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank nmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto di Quattro also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gusto di Quattro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing