We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and service”
Review of Browns Socialhouse

Browns Socialhouse
Ranked #26 of 371 Restaurants in North Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mountain Highway
Transit: Lynn Valley Road is a major bus route with a stop in both direction right outside. Not far from the Phibbs exchange bus loop or Lonsdale Quay Sea Bus terminal.
Description: North Vancouver's second Browns Socialhouse location is in Lynn Valley, located right in the heart of the Lynn Valley Centre. This Browns is the perfect place to socialize with friends and family with one of the best patios on the north shore complete with outdoor couches, fire pits and heat lamps. It's the perfect place to watch the Lynn Valley Village Concert Series that runs every Friday all summer long. Browns Lynn Valley also has an upper loft-style mezzanine which can be booked for private functions for large groups.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice food and service”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

When we lived on Lonsdale we came here all of the time. It is always great. The atmosphere is really nice too. It is upscale casual, so it good for all occasions

Helpful?
Thank DenekaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey A, Marketing Manager at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2016
Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    44
    18
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
north vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great social place to go”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

$4 drinks makes for an affordable night out, food is just "ok" but the great environment makes up for it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flygirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey A, Marketing Manager at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2016
Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A winner but ....”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This location in Lynn Valley has been in existence for about a year now and it has found the key to success and a complex of shops to be a success in. The whole experience is social, including tables for 4 and more, tall tables with tall stools, TVs to watch with friends, and pretty good music, usually set at just the right volume. There's a great patio area, half in tables and chairs, half in sofas surrounding a "fireplace.' A great place for either drinks or a meal.

The menu is extensive and the kitchen knows what it is doing. Have been a half dozen times and the food is consistently very good. Fresh ingredients, presentation is nice and creativity in the dishes is evident. Good value for what is served.

There are daily drinks specials that mainly run about $4.50. Wings and Ribs are specials every day from 3-6 pm. Sunday and Monday are $9 pizzas.

Service: Achilles heel. Always a warm welcome, always friendly servers who are knowledgeable about the menu. They come back to ask how everything is. Then, nothing. If you want to ask for a coffee half way through your meal, if you're ready for your bill at the end of the meal, the server has vanished. Or the server looks out over the tables after finishing up at another table but "sees" nothing. It would be better if the server "patrolled" her duty area every so often and made some eye contact in case a customer wants something more. Definitely needs work.

The bill: Be aware. When the hand held device is brought to your table, the device is programmed to let you select a %age tip to add to the total. Be aware that this %age is calculated against the after tax amount and not the amount before tax. Seems a bit dodgy somehow.

I will continue to visit and recommend it to others.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MuftiVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey A, Marketing Manager at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2016
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I always end up here. And I'm okay with that.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've been to various Browns around the lower mainland and was intrigued to learn that the one in North Van is actually the original.
Though I sometimes feel guilty for not trying out a different, more indie restaurant, there is a reason I keep coming back. The food at Browns is consistently great. Their low-carb option on their spa bowls is brilliant and tasty.
One thing that rots my socks about eating out is the extravagant cost of alcohol. $9 and $10 glasses of wine? Really? At Browns their $4 "don't ask what it is" wine (and beer) offering is great, and I'm always surprised at how nice the wine is.
The service is great, always very friendly and prompt and accomodating. I love their Cowboy and Cowgirl salads.
I've been here with friends, my boyfriend and my family and everyone always comes away happy. There hours are also great to encapsulate brunch or dinner or late night drinks.
And that's why I always end up there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey A, Marketing Manager at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2016
Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
201 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good food, and all day breakfast menu”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went to another Browns Socialhouse location in Vancouver (closer to the Anthropology museum area). The food was fresh, well-seasoned, and they have a low carbs option for the healthy conscious like me. My partner ordered their breakfast menu, which was awesome.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-bitten-shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey A, Marketing Manager at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2016
Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Socialhouse also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Browns Socialhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing