We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions”
Review of De Dutch

De Dutch
Ranked #190 of 379 Restaurants in North Vancouver
Cuisines: Dutch
Restaurant details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Big portions”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Travelled from Ireland and was recommended Dutch for breakfast. We were met and seated by a friendly girl and our server was most helpful and pleasant. The menu is extensive and the portion sizes are big , but it is quantity rather than quality. Most of our food was luke warm but the coffee was hot and nice. Dutch was very busy and all the seats taken i think this reflects the use of free wifi and its location rather than the food. I rate the food 3/5 but the prices are exorbitant. I had French toast like another reviewer 3 whole slices of bread , very bland .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sean f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
calgary ab
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Excellent Food and great service"”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food was delicious and the waitresses were excellent! Very helpful, attentative and pleasant!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank veecinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Vancouver”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

While looking for a place to have breakfast prior to going on the Whistler tour the Bell Captain at the Coast Coal Harbor suggested the "Dutch". The restaurant sits right on the harbor in front of the float plane terminal with fantastic views both patio and inside dinning are available. The specialty of the house are the Dutch Pancakes which are platter size and slightly thicker than a crepe and comes with twenty different fillings. In addition the menu is extensive with something for everyone my wife thoroughly enjoyed the Vegetarian filled with fresh tomatoes, mushrooms, onion, green pepper and Edam & Cheddar cheese.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddalton2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“decent food but expensive”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were looking for a good American breakfast and was intrigued by the ad for this flat type of pancake. It was ok but the batter didn't have much taste. We also had french toast and a scramble b-fast. The pancake alone wouldn't be filling e/f for an adult and expensive at $12-13. The french toast was huge w/ 6 halves of thick cut bread and came w/ Canadian bacon and has but again expensive at $15. I think it's way overpriced. I could have ahd the same thing at IHOP for 1/2 the price although overall, food prices in Canada I think is more than the US.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for breakfast in Vancouver”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The concierge in our hotel recommended this place for breakfast and we wasn't disappointed. They have a huge choice, including various Dutch pancakes (a cross between a crepe and an American pancake), eggs, steak etc. There were 7 of us and we were given the private room on the side which was a nice touch. Very friendly and attentive service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatCon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Dutch also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to De Dutch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing