We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local fare without lines of tourists”
Review of Raglan's Bistro

Raglan's Bistro
Ranked #40 of 379 Restaurants in North Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good local fare without lines of tourists”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We came here for dinner at the recommendation of a local at Grouse Mountain. The restaurant is very tiny (I am thinking there are no ADA laws in Canada. No wheelchair would fit inside the restaurant. We barely got a baby stroller inside!) and made to resemble a 60's California surfer bar. Beatles music (Helter Skelter album) played the entire time. Service was quick and good. We ordered bacon cheddar perogies for an appetizer, and we each got a different type of poutine ( a local fare of fries, different meat toppings, cheeese, and gravy to cover the entire mass) as an entree. The serving size is large, and 3 of the 4 of us left with a "to go" box. Unless you are starving, one order of poutine could easily satisfy two people.

The tab for 4 of us for the above mentioned food and 3 soft drinks plus an on-tap beer (in a huge glass!) was $78 bucks plus tip. Not cheap and not overly expensive either. Casual dining at its best.

The restaurant is located in North Vancouver in the city by the waterfront. We were there just as the sun was setting, and the view over the harbor is simply gorgeous.

Not easy to park on the street close to the restaurant, but there is a big parking lot at the end of the street with just a short walk to the restaurant. Be prepared to pay to park. Everywhere we went had this feature: no free parking.

Try Raglan's, and get the poutine. You won't be sorry!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what happened to this place?”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We used to come here quite often, but this Saturday was completely screwed. It was not busy at all - both tables outside were waiting, and only two (including us) waiting inside. Two others were finishing and left shortly. 14 minutes after our order was placed we were quoted another 10 minutes waiting time. We came at 3pm and left hungry and frustrated at 3:25pm having paid $15 for 4 juices. Truly, they were less than 30% full and we did expect to have a quicker service.
Did they forget that "Bistro" is sort of "Fast"? Fries, burgers, poutine, quesadilla - was our order. Nor even started when we left. So disappointing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Occasi0nalReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good burger! Friendly wait staff.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Came in after seeing some positive reviews on Tripadvisor about this restaurant. They have a fairly limited menu and were also serving breakfast at the time. I think the decor is meant to imitate a beach shack and the vibe in there was friendly. The burgers come with certain options which increase in price (plain burger is $10, with cheese $11, bacon and cheese is $12 etc). The bun is ciabatta which was an interesting twist, and I really liked it. The meat was good and the taste of the burger was great - much better than I was expecting. The server was attentive and friendly. I will certainly be going back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlavourSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a great vibe!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Met some friends here, and if you're a Vacouver tourist it is such a great call. Got to take the seabus over, and hang out in Raglan's cool spot, with tropical drinks and a surf themed decor. The food was great, the drinks tasty/fruity, the service friendly and patient. Great people watching, very chill. Loved it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpicunko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, GREAT DRINKS!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Love this place! Have been here several times and always sit out on the patio. Their menu covers all the bases and everything we've had so far tastes great! (Poutine, sandwiches & burgers, pizzas, and amazing coconut prawns) Not to mention their tiki inspired cocktails are awesome!! Would definitely suggest and definitely be returning!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raglan's Bistro also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Raglan's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing