We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great People!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal's View Vancouver Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
1 review
“Great Place, Great People!”
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Crystal and John greeted us, even though we showed up after 10 pm. We have stayed at many B&B's and this is the first review we have written---figure we owed it to them for being so wonderful! Crystal went out of her way to make sure we had something to eat before we went to bed---homemade chicken noodle soup. Wow, what a lady! We stayed two nights and we not only had a beautiful and spotlessly clean place to stay, we also made a couple of lifelong friends in Crystal and John. I am not a touchie feelie guy, but I hugged them both when we left---felt like I was leaving old friends behind. These folks are the best of the best---never the least bit intrusive, yet ever ready to please and help. From directions and suggestions, to great breakfasts and beyond, to anything else they can do to make your stay more enjoyable, Crystal and John will treat you right. We hope we have the pleasure of visiting them again.

  • Liked — The people who own it and the cleanliness/attractiveness of the place
  • Disliked — no dislikes at all
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wisenbarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    16
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
157
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

The first thing my husband and I noticed about Crystals View B&B was how overgrown the yard was. Maybe they thought it was charming, but we were not impressed. When we saw the inside of the house, although very clean, that too is over decorated with much too much stuff around...Less is more!!!
I agree with another reviewer that there is a lack of privacy, we like a seperate private entrance. Fortunately we were there during a holiday and only had to interface with our friendly hosts at breakfast. The meals were very good, lots of homemade goodies served with much good cheer. Again, a bit too communal for us, as the B&B's we have stayed in the past were set up as little dining rooms with seperate tables.
Our bed was very comfortable, the area quiet and the views are outstanding. The house is in a residential neighborhood very close to all attractions.
Our one complaint, and it will keep us from ever going there again, as soon as you walk in, you are asked to remove your shoes! The had WHITE carpeting on the stairs and bedroom! What were they thinking? I did not feel comfortable walking around a strange house without my shoes - we think that if you want to run a B&B, use carpeting that either can be cleaned or replaced easily, you don't ask people to remove their shoes, it's too personal.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Weeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

I was excited when I came across Crystal's View B&B as I did not wish to stay in the city of Vancouver. The location was also idea for the ferries. Upon my arrival Crystal's son greeted me and helped with my bags. Crystal literally whirled into the door in such a disorganized state of mind that made me feel totally unwelcomed and an intrusion. When I advised her that I would be getting up early the next morning, she was extremely upset, spinning in circles, told me I would wake the other guests, of whom I never saw, and made it very clear there would not be any breakfast served. I would have been happy with a muffin left on the counter. The baked goods were all store bought anyway. The next morning I was getting up early as well and I was told breakfast would be prepared. I received a cup of coffee. The room was ok - however, it was hot and stuffy, the sheets old and faded. When you opened the windows the roar of the traffic on the highway below was very loud. I was constantly told I received a special rate which compared to other properties in the area (The Thistle Down) was not so special and I definitley overpaid for my stay there. Would not recommend this B&B.

  • Liked — Location to Ferries
  • Disliked — Too Many to list
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Seaspray77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Crystals B and B was decorated nicely if not a little too eclectically. There was entirely too much stuff in the room. We could hardly see in the bathroom mirror do to the overly large flowers. Also, all the bath products were old and we had one bar of soap to share for the entire bathroom sinks, Jacuzzi tub and shower.. We stayed in the Vivaldi suite. Although room and Jacuzzi were smaller, they were very nicely decorated and the view was nice of the Vancouver harbor and skyline. Although, Crystal was very thoughtful and gave me a birthday card and small gift, she was way too chatty for our taste. Our room was in the main house, so we always had to walk by her and were peppered with questions about our day. She was VERY friendly, however, we like to just be by ourselves. Oddly enough, one day she had told us that she was putting a new bed in our room and asked if we could be gone all day to accommodate her.

Crystal also was particular about the furniture and items in the room. The bed was awesome and we are very picky w our beds. It was a feather bed and duvet. Make sure you read the book by the Jacuzzi titled "Woman and Aromatherapy." Also, no candles were aloud and we brought candles and always use them. The breakfasts were good and she made every effort to accommodate us. The area around the B & B was mixed w some nice places and some a bit run down. The street sign to her street is missing so we got lost on the way in. It's the last right turn(without a sign) BEFORE you go up the hill. We were nervous as we pulled up that it was on of the somewhat run down ones. Overall, the place was beautiful and the flowers and yard were delightful. This was our first time in a B & B and it's a little to close for comfort for us. We like to go to your room and not talk to anyone. I am not sure if we will be back, but maybe. West Vancouver is a nicer, quieter area and not as commercialized as north Vancouver. I would recommend this place to anyone. We just like a little more privacy. Ask about the room downstairs that has its own entrance. Crystal did everything she could to make our trip special including making special reservations for my birthday at the EXCELLENT French restaurant Bistro La Regalade, telling us about the lumber jack and birds of prey show and the free suspension bridge.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen.allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2007

This is a B&B like no other, combining the comfort and style of a luxury hotel with a friendly family home. Its ornate Italian –style décor and Crystal’s meticulous attention to detail give a feeling of opulence and you will want for nothing as far as amenities are concerned. We stayed in the Vivaldi Room with its sunken Jacuzzi bath, veranda and stunning views over Downtown Vancouver.
It may not be one of the cheapest B&Bs in North Vancouver but it must rate as one of the nicest.

Crystal, her husband John and their teenage son and daughter all help in running the B&B and made us feel like one of the family. They even provided afternoon tea for us, with delicious cookies and waffles, when we turned up one afternoon, unannounced, with my aunt and mother. Breakfasts were also delicious with fruit platters and freshly baked muffins a regular feature accompanied by a variety of main choices, such as quiche, egg and bacon and of course waffles and maple syrup…yummy!

North Vancouver provides a great suburban setting in which to stay, tucked between the stunning coastal mountains and beautiful Downtown Vancouver. The B&B is close to a regular bus route and with public transport, in and around Vancouver, so cheap, clean and efficient getting about to visit all the local attractions is very easy indeed.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelhappyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

Crystal and John are wonderful, accommodating hosts. We had delicious breakfasts, delightful conversation, and a marvelous time. We stayed in the large room downstairs, with the jacuzzi tub that has color-therapy lights, a very nice touch. The views from the window in the room and in the dining room are of Vancouver - breathtaking day and night. The house is right on a major busline that runs down Lonsdale, the main drag in North Van, so there are restaurants and shops minutes away. The bus in the other direction takes you to Lynn Valley, an eco-reserve that we spent quite a bit of time exploring. We plan to return to Crystal's View on our anniversary.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2007

I just loved your B&B. Breathtaking view, comfortable accommodations, nice extras in the room not usually available in a B&B, and the breakfast was delicious

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Miranda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
643 reviews
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,237 reviews
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
#4 of 10 in North Vancouver
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Vancouver Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Vancouver
305 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,715 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal's View Vancouver Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal's View Vancouver Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crystal's View Vancouver Bed and Breakfast
Address: 420 Tempe Cres, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7N 1E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal's View Vancouver Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the Owner Crystal has been pursuing her passion in the bed and breakfast industry for 20 years. Born and raised in Europe, Crystal studied and received an economic degree and began work in hotel management. Her artistic side joined her love of the public when she opened Crystal's View Bed & Breakfast in 1996. An strong interest in interior decoration, culture, travel, cooking, and baking, harmonize well together and fulfill her dream of operating a small business specializing in warm hospitable service. Crystal's dedication to her guests and home reflect the passion she has for putting her heart into whatever she does. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Crystal's View Vancouver Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing