We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth for what we paid for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We paid almost $100 per night but the hotel is more like motel, not very well maintained. It's loud at night

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 494 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

This is a very nice hotel, located at North Vancouver. It is not fancy but it is very confortable and close to ski areas. It is the second time I stay there and never thad trouble. Wifi and parking is free!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aguto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to have you as our guest and appreciate that you found our hotel to be comfortable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to North Vancouver during a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

If your Boss tells you to find a "Cheap" room, this is it! Cheap stops with the price. The rooms are not cheaply done. As a matter of fact, there is presently a "Renovation Program" in effect, so you can ask for a "Renovated Room" and be "Totally Satisfied". I stayed for 6 nights, and found the Denny"s Restaurant next door had excellent food. There's also an Asia food Restaurant on the same property. Unfortunately, I only ate once at Earl"s Restaurant next door in the west side of the property on my last night. The beef Steak was the best I ever had and the "Eye Candy" was exceptional! -------- Motel was easy to find and had staff that "Cares" MS Saskatoon

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJS062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience for others to read. As you said we are working hard to provide value and comfort for all of our guests. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to North Vancouver very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I stayed here with my partner and some family in december, and we were greatly impressed by the staff, rooms, and the convenience of this location. I've stayed in quite a few Travelodge, and a lot of chain hotels in general, and I found that the staff here were very helpful, very friendly and personable. Granted, while this is not the Waldorf Astoria, it more than exceeds any expected value for your money. Our room was well outfitted, clean, and with a large bathroom! If you're looking for a place near downtown Vancouver, but don't want to have to deal with the craziness of staying downtown, this is the spot for you!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9__Escape_Artist__9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2011

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us here in North Vancouver. We had the privilege of having several family groups stay with us over the holidays and appreciate the many positive comments we have received. We are working hard to make our future guest stays even better and invite you to return to see everything we are doing for you, our valued guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two night while visiting family in Vancouver over Christmas. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was super comfortable. However, I think what made this stay exceptional, was the customer service. Everyone from the woman at the front desk, the housekeeper, to the manager were beyond friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you so enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the oppotunity to welcome you back to North Vancouver in the future.

Kind Regards

Randy Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I have stayed at the NV Travelodge twice now. You can't beat the internet prices, but don't expect this to be a Las Vegas Hotel, it's not. It's an older Motel, but it's clean, convenient and easy access to Grouse Mountain, the North Shore and Vancouver.

I booked based on price, and was happy. The bed was decent, the room was older but very clean and the lady at the front desk was a sweety and very polite.

I ticked the box for a restaurant, but there isn't one. However there is a Denny's right next door and the motel offers a coupon for a deal on food there. While Denny's is pretty simple food, hey, a deal's a deal, right?

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peachlandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your experince on your recent stay with us. We do indeed strive to offer value for money for all of our guests. I was particularily pleased to hear you enjoyed the new beds. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to North Vancouver on your next trip.
Kind Regards

Randy Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

This was one of the worst places we nearly stayed at. The room was disgusting. The place was genrally falling to bits. An absolute dump. It has made us adopt the policy of avoiding booking online trusting a name like Travelodge to checking the room before booking. The recpetionist was was of the most unhelpful, unprofessional people we have dealt with. We didn't even get the cases out of the car. We requested a refund 30 mins after paying for the room. The receptionist rang the manager to tell him we was not happy and he didn't even question, just told her to refund. Avoid like the plague!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2010

As we attempted to explain to you at check-in, the damage you saw on the overhead canopy adjacent to the lobby was caused by a rather large motor home that impacted the hotel. To say that the place is "falling to bits" is not justified. Clearly from your response at arrival you were anticipating that you would be stayting in a hi-rise hotel closer to Vancouver city center. I can see by your travel reviews that you found the full service hotel you were looking for. I apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered with our staff, but had she been giving the opportunity to speak uninterupted she would have gladly assisted in your concerns and relocation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
North Vancouver Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Vancouver
326 reviews
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
471 reviews
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
#4 of 10 in North Vancouver
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,425 reviews
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
747 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#78 of 92 in Vancouver
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate

Address: 2060 Marine Dr, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 1V7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range: $48 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lions Gate Travelodge in beautiful North Vancouver! Nestled at the foot of Grouse Mountain and adjacent to the historic Lions Gate Bridge into Stanley Park and the city centre, we are the best choice in value and comfort for your next great adventure. We are minutes from highway #1, skiing, tennis, waterfront parks, and extended shopping. So much to see and do in our own backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Vancouver Lion`s Gate Hotel Vancouver
Travelodge North Vancouver
Travel Lodge North Vancouver
North Vancouver Travel Lodge
North Vancouver Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing