We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely visit!”
Review of ThistleDown House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ThistleDown House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our stay at ThistleDown House was delightful. The grounds were in bloom, the bedroom was elegantly decorated, the bath was luxuriously appointed, and breakfast was a work of culinary art! Our favorite part of our stay, however, was the conversation over breakfast, both with the other guests and with our fascinating and friendly innkeepers, who have been welcoming visitors to ThistleDown House for eighteen years!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenleaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for ThistleDown House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 389 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

For my birthday I treated myself to a night at ThistleDown. Although I live in the city, it felt miles away, with the beautiful setting of the BnB. The reception was very warm and I felt right at home. The room was cozy, well equipped and I had a great sleep. Breakfast the next morning was outstanding, and my food sensitivities posed no problems whatsoever, which is always much appreciated! Directions and recommendations for my hike the next day were given with enthusiasm. I will recommend this lovely place to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlvandervelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife & I came to North Vancouver for a family celebration and required a one night stay at a nearby lodging. We stayed at the Thistledown for the night and found ourselves in a beautiful heritage home surrounded by many unique hidden gems that made exploring the home and property one of the highlights of our stay. The host & hostesses we met were gracious and made us feel very welcomed. The complimentary glass of sherry or port was a nicely added touch to the welcoming. The following day breakfast was elegant, and served with friendly smiles and engaging conversation. I cannot overstate the genuine warmth we experienced from Ruth, Rex & Liz. I highly recommend Thistledown to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We wished we had actually booked a couple of extra days at Thistledown - we booked last minute because of a cancelling at another place. Were we ever glad we did! Rex & Ruth were amazing hosts. Everything was outstanding: the food, the rooms, the location. Check out their website thistle-down.com for pictures of the place and some of the amazing food they serve. There is no doubt we will book with them next time we fly into Vancouver!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are visiting Vancouver, then this is THE B & B for your stay. Your hosts Rex and Ruth (and Liz their friend) have that special ability that creates an atmosphere that befits their splendid heirtage home. Their attention to every detail for your stay is immaculate. The rooms are full of surprises and show a superb mix of collectable antiques and modern decor . Breakfast!! What a way to start a day!! Simply out of this world.!!! Each time we leave we promise ourselves to return because we just want more. M J & P E Sharman Leicester. UK

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but we love Sweet Tibbies with its balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiger1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My daughter and I had our first adventure together in 12 years and our stay at ThistleDown House was beyond our expectations. It was very sychronistic that we stayed there, as my daughter created the itinerary for what she wanted to do on this journey and I (in another state) chose the place to stay. Neither of us shared our choices until we got to ThistleDown. The Capilano Suspension bridge was at the top of her list and it was literally within 2 blocks walking distance. We both could live here in N.Vancouver, Canada, what a treasure!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I don't often write reviews, but I feel like this experience was worth it. My husband and I spent four days in Vancouver with a couple of friends for a quick get away but also in part to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. Ruth and Rex went above and beyond to ensure that our stay and our anniversary was a spectacular experience. We did a simple vow renewal in the gardens at Thistledown. Ruth and Rex created a beautiful setting for our renewal. All of their recommendations for places to visit and eat were spot on. Wonderful people, great B&B. Deserves all of the accolades you see from all of its guests!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Vancouver hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
709 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,342 reviews
1.3 mi away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#6 of 10 in North Vancouver
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
#4 of 10 in North Vancouver
597 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
433 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#8 of 10 in North Vancouver
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ThistleDown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ThistleDown House

Address: 3910 Capilano Rd, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7R 4J2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in North Vancouver
Price Range: $161 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ThistleDown House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A highly acclaimed, award-winning 1920 heritage-listed Craftsman style property fully restored and filled with fine antiques and works of art from around the world. Six rooms, all en suite, are beautifully finished and furnished and equipped with many amenities. Afternoon tea is served and breakfast is deliciously creative and multi-course. Fifteen minutes from the core of the city, ThistleDown House is situated on Vancouver's spectacular North Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your ThistleDown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing