We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great alternative location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average hotel, great alternative location”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

An older style hotel that is a little bit dark and dreary. Room was ok, but pillows were awful (very soft and lumpy). Wifi did not work in the room so had to go down to the lobby. Staff were helpful. No room safe was surprising and very inconvenient (had to leave valuables in office safe).

Best aspect is convenient location on the north side. RIght on top of market shops and stone's throw to Sea Bus (ferry) and buses to Capilano Suspension Bridge, Grouse Mountain, etc. Having said that, would probably stay downtown next time (Gas Town looked interesting).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Micwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    237
    98
    41
    36
See reviews for
124
237
56
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Maybe 20-30 years ago, this place was the talk of North Van but, despite renovation, it was a dive. We "splurged" on a "180 room with view across the water to downtown Vancouver", which was ruined by curious pedestrians wandering In Front of our room! on the "terrace" to snap a photo or two. This would have been laughable if not an invasion of privacy and a security concern. Just Don't Do It!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank waterboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your 180 degree view of Vancouver on the waterfront. I am sorry that you didn't find the room to your standards, but I can assure you that the room is well kept, and has higher end furnishings and fittings. This room is used for many special moments, and previous guests have really enjoyed it. The patio out front does have a gate, and we try extremely hard to limit access. One has to actually jump over the fence (very dangerous) to get to your patio. The view is so amazing, despite warning signs, people are always attempting to get the best view shot off Vancouver there.
We will address this again.
You'll find many positive reviews on our hotel, and the location has always been great. Lonsdale Quay runs at some of the highest occupancies in Vancouver, and we have many happy return guests that enjoy the value and locatio. I'm sorry it did not suit your standards. Maybe you may try the fourth floor Carrie Cates Suite next time, as it does not have a walk way in front.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns.
Sincerely,
Farah Steen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was probably one of the worst hotels I've stayed in. The location was great and nice to be close to the ferry and great restaurants. But that's were the positives stop. The linens were gross and we had to ask to have them changed. When we got into the room it's small with very odd sized furniture. The ice bucket still had water in it from the previous guest and when we complained we just got a "I'm sorry" and that's it. The bathroom was really outdated with a shower curtain that wasn't even long enough to keep the water out of the shower. It was just a bad experience and we complained we were brushed away with a "I'm sorry" We will never come back here and I strongly suggest that no one stay here unless things change.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevewarrenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry for your stay. We do wish you had come to the desk right after check in. We would have moved you right away. The room has been put into maintenance and our housekeeping manager is reviewing the room also with staff. I understand that our Rooms Division Manager spoke to you, and you have received a credit for your stay.
We are happy that you enjoyed our location and the surrounding attractions and restaurants. We hope to be able to give you a better experience in the future. I can assure you, and as you'll see with our other reviews, the rooms are kept clean and are comfortable.
Sincerely,
Farah Steen
General Manager
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We recently gifted our Mother with a stay at the hotel to celebrate her 90th birthday. As a surprise, her daughter, and sister from England and niece from Seattle, also stayed at the hotel. Everyone loved the hotel, the location and especially the rooms.

Farah and her staff are to be commended on their professionalism as well as the outstanding service they provided. The extent that Farah and her staff personally went to, to ensure a very special stay was noticed by not only the birthday girl, but the rest of the family as well. They also mentioned how friendly and helpful the staff were during their stay.

We had a minor glitch which was the fault one of our family members, however, Melanie personally took the time and effort to ensure everything went smoothly.


We highly recommend staying at this Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredandlovingit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and kind words. I have shared your comments with my team, and look forward to another opportunity to welcome your or your family in the future. I am also happy that Melanie was able to resolve any issues.

I also hope your event was wonderful and memorable.

Sincerely,
Farah Steen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for a quick one night getaway on a Saturday night. We booked std room through Expedia as when we called the hotel they only had the deluxe rooms left, but after getting off the phone with the hote., we were able to book a std room right away on Expedia. I thought perhaps we would change our mind and upgrade when we got there, but there was no offer, so I decided not to. Bad decision. Our room , 352, located beside THREE SETS OF DOORS. It was on the third floor, right off the lobby to the hotel, and there was one door with a security lock, leading to another set of doors into the hallway. Another set of doors led to the outside, right outside our room.. So it was noisy during the day.. thankfully not alot of people going places at night.

The room was on the very small side, with cheap looking furniture and very little of it. A funny little white fridge stood on the floor in the middle of the room, again a bare wall. ...weird... the headboard was cheap, wobbly, the bed linen was cheap and felt funny to the touch. The TV was so small, perhaps 18"????? Something like that, anyhow it was so small.. in this day and age even the Super8's or what have you had better accomodation then this room did.

On the positive note, the bathroom was nice, but only one set of towels per person.. Used to having a few more. Everything about this stay was a little less than comfortable. I am sure if you stayed in an upgraded suite the atmosphere would be different.

The location was great, 5 minutes, out into Londsdale Quay and outside area facing water was really nice. The hotel is located right next to the Seabus Terminal.

The shops and food court in the Quay were great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richmonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We very much appreciated the location of the Lonsdate Quay. Two of our 3 rooms had excellent views of the Harbour. The upstairs lobby is attractive. It was fun to be located in the Market and with easy access to Vancouver on the seabus. The staff was welcoming when we registered and we felt that we had come across ‘a find’. The prices are moderate and generally in keeping with the level of accommodation being offered.
Our wheelchair accessible room was a little shabby compared to the other 2 rooms and it did not have much of a view. Although we eventually got a much needed shower chair, it took a while and it felt like we had to convince the staff that we really needed it. The housekeeping standards could be improved.
We very much enjoyed the food options and the atmosphere in the market. We liked sitting near the water and found staff in the stalls and other patrons to be friendly and helpful.
The parking was a bit tricky and it took us a while to learn how to enter the correct lot We thought the chain restaurants nearby within walking distance were adequate when we were looking for food late at night after the market was closed

Room Tip: Car parking was a bit tricky
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach
Level Contributor
190 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Wow, parking when you first arrive is a task. You need to locate the underground parking next to garbage cans and mall service entrance. Once in its a breeze. Look for elevators and go to 3rd floor of mall, yep that's right, it's where the hotel lobby is located. Very poor signage just doesn't help if its your first visit. All rooms are on the 4th floor, your back on elevator up one floor and through security door, pray the key card has been coded correctly or your back down stairs. Room was ok as rooms go, 2 queen beds, nice small patio that gives you view over inlet. If you have electronics, severe lack of electrical outlets. One cup coffee maker, asked for daily paper but unless your quick to retrieve other guests will help themselves to yours. Extra charges for parking, breakfast and anything else if you want extras. One way traffic upon leaving parking makes for difficult exit to Main Street. Staff could use some serious polite training on front desk.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Redrooster52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
0.1 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,239 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
645 reviews
2.0 mi away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Vancouver
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
379 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#9 of 10 in North Vancouver
458 reviews
2.6 mi away
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 90 in Vancouver
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Property: Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Address: 123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the Experience! Located on the spectacular North Vancouver waterfront! The Lonsdale Quay Hotel is a gateway to Vancouver's attractions, Whistler and major North Vancouver businesses. Whether for business or pleasure, our hotel is your best choice on the north shore of Vancouver! Explore our new Executive Rooms, Junior Suites and Standard rooms! Our Waterfront Boutique property will leave you with lasting memories. Fantastic Vancouver waterfront boutique hotel located in a vibrant market and shops. Your best North Vancouver Hotel choice. Accessible to all attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lonsdale Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Quay North Vancouver
Hotel Lonsdale Quay
Lonsdale Quay Hotel North Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing