We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wow, parking when you first arrive is a task. You need to locate the underground parking next to garbage cans and mall service entrance. Once in its a breeze. Look for elevators and go to 3rd floor of mall, yep that's right, it's where the hotel lobby is located. Very poor signage just doesn't help if its your first visit. All rooms are on the 4th floor, your back on elevator up one floor and through security door, pray the key card has been coded correctly or your back down stairs. Room was ok as rooms go, 2 queen beds, nice small patio that gives you view over inlet. If you have electronics, severe lack of electrical outlets. One cup coffee maker, asked for daily paper but unless your quick to retrieve other guests will help themselves to yours. Extra charges for parking, breakfast and anything else if you want extras. One way traffic upon leaving parking makes for difficult exit to Main Street. Staff could use some serious polite training on front desk.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Redrooster52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 603 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely room overlooking the water and Vancouver. We stayed one night over the Labour Day weekend and so it was quite expensive. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beware the car park entrance, I spent a long while in the wrong place! The market below the hotel is well worth a visit, especially the food hall. The room could have done with a good dusting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week. The hotel is situated above a market on Lonsdale Quay, North Vancouver and we were lucky enough to get a room that overlooked the bay to Vancouver on the other side. Would recommend North Vancouver where, although there was always something going on, it was that wee bit quieter. Another plus is that is much more convenient for visiting Grouse Mountain and Whistler. The hotel room was a good size and very clean. Very comfortable bed. A very good hotel in a five star location. Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flembo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hotel turned out to be very disappointing! We found the hotel in general to be quite dark & dreary. The room was worse, including a very uncomfortable bed, pillows were cheap quality filled with lumpy sponge filling, the balcony door opened but had no balcony, the windows & balcony door were covered with very old venetian blinds which were insad shape, not only broken but filthy as well, the pull chords were gross covered in years of dirt & were tangled, knotted, etc. The valance over the window was falling in the middle right over the balcony door. The bathroom tile was broken in places & needing repair. The bathroom door could not be opened all the way because of the arched shower curtain rod. The door also interfered with the toilet ( not being able to sit with the door open). We had booked an Executive King room but other than the bed being a king this room in no way was as advertised.

The only restaurant located in the hotel was only open for breakfast but I wouldn't bother. Closed one day as we arrived too late and when we did get there in time breakfast was an over-priced big disappointment! Would so not stay here again!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GrandmaRose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay, and the east side room facing the harbor was not up to your standards. I have sent your comments to our housekeeping department also. In terms of the pillows, they are purchased from a reputable hotel supplier and are considered 4 star quality. We will review the rooms in your room, as they may need to be replaced. The blinds are being removed this winter as we have now added black out drapes. Also, the curved shower rods have become a standard that we were forced to add. Unfortunately, when standards are put into place, some hotels are not built completely to suit them. However, most guests enjoy the extra space and light in their showers. It’s a personal choice.

The hotel has a food court with over 20 food choices, and three restaurants that you can choose from. We are also surrounded by many amazing choices. I’m sorry you didn’t have a chance to enjoy any of these.

I hope your next stay to North Vancouver is more pleasurable.

Sincerely,

Farah Stéen
General Manager
Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Loved it that you could just come downstairs and there you were at the ocean and could watch the harbour seals. The room was nice especially for the price. And the beds were comfortable. Great location to see Stanley Park or Capillano Suspension Bridge. There is a market on the premises. That was kind of cool walking through. They were working on the room across the hall but they did not start really early or work really late. We were never never in our room when work was being done, but we could hear it when we were outside during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you were able to see the harbour seals. They are not always in the front, but when they are, it is certainly enjoyable. Also, we are accessible to all the major attractions via transit and car. It’s nice to have the market below to stroll through, we are happy that you got to experience that also. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Farah Stéen
General Manager
Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Lonsdale Quay Hotel is pleasant and slightly dated. Its location is convenient to the ferry (which departs regularly for the Port of Vancouver - an enjoyable 12 minute ride.) If arriving from the ferry, simply walk to the right as you exit the ferry terminal and enter the Lonsdale Quay Market. The hotel is located at the far end, beginning on the third floor. Be prepared to show your passport at check-in, which the pleasant and professional receptionists will be happy to hold in a lock box at the front desk if desired.
Our room had a comfortable king-sized bed with clean linens and plenty of pillows. There was also a mini refrigerator and shower/tub combo with nice water pressure. The only downside was an aging air conditioning unit that made a fair amount of noise, but it did its job. We stayed one night prior to departing for a cruise. Overall, this is nice place to stay in North Vancouver.

If you found this review helpful, please let me know!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and found it to be comfortable and clean. The hotel is located in a great area, accessing the downtown core easily and the Horseshoe Bay Ferry Terminal.
Our team was happy that you found them to be professional and happy. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Farah Stéen
General Manager
Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked a room for one night and was told there was no availability for the following night. When I arrived, inexplicably I was told I could have the room for two nights. I went up to the room and when I entered the room the balcony door was wide open. I thought that was a bit strange, but I mistakenly concluded that the cleaning staff had accidentally left it open. I also noticed a faint but definite chemical/glue smell in the room but I couldn't tell if it was coming from the room or the hall. Later that night I closed the balcony door and went to sleep. A few hours later I awoke to a very powerful and sickening glue smell in the room. I turned on the AC to try and vent the room but it didn't help much and by the morning I felt quite ill from the smell. In retrospect it was obvious they had been doing some renovations in the room that day and had left the balcony door open to attempt to vent the smell out. I had no intention of staying there again that night even though I had nowhere else to go; I was actually feeling physically ill by the time I left the room early that morning. I spoke to the manager about the situation and she did not deny they had been doing work the previous day in the room and that is why the balcony door was left open. At that point I felt angry because management obviously new there was a problem but they risked my health by sticking me in a room with chemicals in the air. Not only were they risking someone's health but doing it in a deceptive way. Instead of offering to refund the room rate she offered to take 40% off the bill. What a joke. I would never stay at this hotel again, nor can I recommend it to anybody else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maarten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for your experience. We are in a season where some necessary maintenance must be done before the rainy winter in Vancouver. The work completed was done on the balcony, and we had a few other rooms that had the same. If you had notified us immediately, we could have moved you to another room. When the room was inspected prior to check in, along with your neighbors, it was found that the smell was no present. Of course, everyone has different sensitivities. We did not hear of your problem until you checked out with our clerk and then advised them. We would not wanted you to have an uncomfortable stay by no means.

If you ever experience a problem at check in, its best to notify the front desk asap. Our ultimate goal is for you to have a comfortable, happy stay. The work has now been completed.

Sincerely,


Farah Stéen
General Manager
Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
0.1 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
731 reviews
2.0 mi away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#6 of 10 in North Vancouver
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#8 of 10 in North Vancouver
485 reviews
2.6 mi away
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Address: 123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range: $124 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the Experience! Located on the spectacular North Vancouver waterfront! The Lonsdale Quay Hotel is a gateway to Vancouver's attractions, Whistler and major North Vancouver businesses. Whether for business or pleasure, our hotel is your best choice on the north shore of Vancouver! Explore our new Executive Rooms, Junior Suites and Standard rooms! Our Waterfront Boutique property will leave you with lasting memories. Fantastic Vancouver waterfront boutique hotel located in a vibrant market and shops. Your best North Vancouver Hotel choice. Accessible to all attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lonsdale Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Quay North Vancouver
Hotel Lonsdale Quay
Lonsdale Quay Hotel North Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing