We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great starting off point” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Greencastle, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great starting off point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here last week as a starting off point for a cruise leaving from Vancouver. I found this a very nice property. A little expensive. Very convenient to the highway but a little confusing getting on the highway if you are unfamiliar with the area. Rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a nice pub/bar and a very basic restaurant on the site and a liquor store within walking distance. If your idea of a hotel is a place to sleep, get a good meal and be a jumping off place for activities in a quiet safe area, then this is ideal. The downside is that it seemed a little confusing to me getting to nearby commercial development nearby such as other restaurants or shopping ( ok with me) . We had trouble finding a bank. That being said I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjlew71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    188
    24
    14
    7
See reviews for
194
135
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I were in this hotel because one of our grandsons was to play in a hockey tournament in Burnaby.

The hiotel is situated in a quiet area and has a pleasing appearance from afar and close up. It has ample parking spaces.

The hotel was certainly five star: the reception desk was very good, having everything ready for us on check in; the housekeeping ladies were very efficient and amenable to adjusting their hours of cleaning to accommodate tired hockey players who had to sleep in late or sleep in the afternoon; the room was spotless and, although we hung our towels up each morning, to say we did not need clean ones, they were always changed anyway; the wi-fi worked well; we had a good view from the second floor and a quiet room; and the beds and pillows were comfortable.

There is a rather odd-shaped indoor pool, which is not much use if you want to swim lengths, but fine for kids to play in.

The npn-owned restuarant was fair, but not up to the same standard as the hotel, service being slow and the menu being ho-hum, i.e. low average.

However, there is a non-owned pub, which is owned and run by Fritz (that's his last name, but what he goes by) which is simply superb and certainly up to the standard of a five-star hotel. Fritz is a wonderful man who celebrates and displays items and souvenirs of wartime Britain, hence the name of the pub, Churchill's.

All-in-all, we would obviously go back to this hotel if we were in the area.

One con, however, is that the only stores within two or more kilometres were a convenience store across the street and a liquor store next door. In other words, to get to any stores or entertainment, you do need a car. Or a taxi, which explains why there was always at least one cab sitting outside the main entrance.

Room Tip: Be pleasant when checking in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melville P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a basic hotel. Nice enough but pretty standard. We found it very expensive for what you get and it's location. It's convenient from the highway if you have a car, but it's kind of in the middle of nowhere so the rates seem out of line. Would not stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mdburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear mdburgess,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very pleased you found our location convenient. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the rates. Prices do vary depending on the market. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to serve you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

After a long hard physical day at work, the hot tub/pool and sauna all felt great. Then off to the neighbouring pub for a relaxing dinner. Great food. Hard to choose as there were so many good things on the menu. Service was great and fast. Finish the night with a night cap at the little hotel lounge called Fitzgeralds. The server (Fritz), was very knowledgeable about different types of alcohol. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. !940' décor. Next morning breakfast at the Pantry.

Room Tip: Higher the room, the better the view and would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Since our family event was on the North Shore of Vancouver, this was an execcellant location, just off the highway. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel, room and surround property are well maintained and attractive. Ours rooms had internal connecting doors making it very social able, giving us more contact as family. We enjoyed the food and our stay. Yes, we would definitely come again!

Room Tip: Allow some extra time if you are departing in the morning and having breakfast at the Holiday Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Some medical issues meant we needed to stay fairly close to a hospital, but we badly needed a getaway. So we went to the Internet, and within minutes we had booked three days (on a holiday weekend) at this hotel. We arrived at the same time as what seemed like about fifteen kid sports teams and all their families - and then never heard them again. This just seemed like a place where families felt at home, teams felt welcome, and cranky, tired, fussy old seniors like us also felt we were desired guests. The place was extremely quiet. Everyone seems to feel at home. Housekeeping was excellent. Lots of free parking too. I do not know how often we will find ourselves staying in North Van again - but certainly if we do we would return here and we would happily recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have said at this hotel several times for business, but this time stayed with family and loved it! It's close to the highway and makes getting to anywhere in Vancouver very accessible. Got to downtown in 20 minutes. Wonderful staff! Very friendly and always willing to help. The rooms have been very well kept. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0207traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
2.4 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
4.3 mi away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#6 of 10 in North Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Capilano Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Capilano Inn & Suit...
#4 of 10 in North Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#9 of 10 in North Vancouver
3.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
2.3 mi away
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#54 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Address: 700 Old Lillooet Rd, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7J 2H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning hotel conveniently located off Highway 1. Spacious rooms and suites with features that include microwaves, fridges, free internet access, free parking & bottled water. Great amenities include restaurant, lounge, banquet rooms, indoor pool, fitness centre, hot tub & sauna. Accessible rooms offered.20 min drive to Downtown Vancouver and only 90 min drive from Whistler and minutes from Grouse & Cypress Mountains, Capilano Suspension Bridge, PNE & Deep Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn North Vancouver
North Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing