We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ewww”
Review of Grouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grouse Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Check in clerk was rude and very unhelpful, not a pleasant check in due to the strong smell of urine in the main office. If this wasn't the only hotel available this past weekend, there is NO way we would have checked in. upon first impression the rooms seemed pleasant enough. I was not impressed with the smell in my room the next morning though... it was like all of a sudden the febreeze in our room wore off and we were left with a gross smell in there too. Maid service wasn't very helpful, my room had a full garbage the whole time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 273 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in! I changed rooms three times, the first one smelled so bad of mold you could smell it before you even opened the door, the second room was so dirty the bedding had huge stains and they looked fresh, the third room looked and smelled better but in the evening i killed 6 carpenter ants that were coming out of a hole in a pot light had to stuff the lights with towels to keep them out! When i asked to talk to the manager i was told i couldn't because he had the day off??? when i did finally talk to the manager he was very rude to me! he did finally give me a refund and tell me to get out of his hotel. I do not recommend anyone stay here if you need a nice hotel to stay in north Vancouver stay at the North Vancouver hotel it was very nice! hell even a cardboard box on the street would be better then the Grouse hotel!

Room Tip: Go to North Vancouver Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked a suite and a room for myself and 5 of my children while we were attending an event in downtown Vancouver. I didn't know what to expect because the rates were so low and included a free buffet breakfast and free parking. I was pleasantly surprised to find that although the rooms are definitely dated, they are in good condition, very clean, and very comfortable. The breakfast was adequate and had a decent variety of choices. It only takes 5 minutes to drive to downtown Vancouver (10 minutes during rush hour) so its very convenient to getting to anything you could want to do in the city. We'll be attending the same event next year and I will book this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 651brendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This motel is very old and dated BUT the price is reasonable and location convenient. Continental breakfast is not bad and the room was basically clean. Most front desk people here are not friendly and maid service not great. They made our bed and left clean towels but didn't give us more coffee or coffee cups. We had a kitchenette and the drinking glasses are more like juice glasses.

Room Tip: You wouldn't want a room on the Marine Drive side but most others are set back enough that road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llidam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night when I needed to stay overnight in North Vancouver and only needed a cheap clean place to sleep.

The room I had was clean, and basic, nothing fancy. 2 queen beds, a table, TV, and fridge and basic usual's towels, soap shampoo.

The motel appears older and doesn't appear to have been renovated anytime recently.

The front desk clerk at check in was quiet, but efficient and overall it was a quick check in experience, same clerk for check out.

The wi-fi was a little spotty, I did have some issues connecting, and some slowness but overall it worked for checking emails.

The room was pretty quiet until morning when housekeeping started, you could hear them talking and their carts upstairs, so it was a bit hard to sleep past 8am.

They do offer a free breakfast although I did not go, so not sure how it is.

There is plenty of parking and its free. Its a good alternative to downtown Vancouver motels where parking can get a bit pricey since free parking in Vancouver hotels is becoming scarce, only a 20 minute drive from Downtown Vancouver or about a 20 minutes bus ride, and the bus stops right outside the motel. So if on a budget and can't find something in Vancouver proper this is a good alternative.

As long as you go in with the mindset that this is an older hotel, and as long as you don't expect 3 star or higher accommodations, this motel is reasonable for the price I paid which was 53 for the night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jsmth322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The most disgusting inn I even stayed.................................................
Room is dark, dirty bed sheets, dirty, noisy and a smelly bathroom! Breakfast was the worst I ever had..
Never again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Grouse Inn. The hotels' website pictures were a little misleading but for the price we payed, we were still very happy with our stay. The continental breakfast was outstanding; cereal, waffles, pastries, granola, hard boiled eggs, variety of juices and coffees. The beds were comfortable and the rooms smelled wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelF0RTravelsSake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
North Vancouver Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Vancouver
325 reviews
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#8 of 10 in North Vancouver
492 reviews
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
743 reviews
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
#4 of 10 in North Vancouver
606 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#78 of 92 in Vancouver
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Inn

Address: 1633 Capilano Rd, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range: $74 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grouse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing