We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YOu GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grouse Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“YOu GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The room had no privacy with no net curtains so you closed the curtains and sat in lamplight in the middle of the day or got looked at by the passers by. In bed at night, you can hear the people upstairs walking around. Sink in the room , not the bathroom. Lots of very loud kids and a halal cafe in one corner. Stern, unsmiling East European staff, but helpful nevertheless.Breakfast food ok and aligned to the price but the dining room is a grim affair. The website is just like a real estate ad, totally misrepresents the quality level of the place.
Having said all of this, if money is an issue, it is ok for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Away from the stairs means less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    63
    67
    34
    59
See reviews for
72
89
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Do not expect something fancy. You get something very basic for what you pay. Furniture is very old. Pictures are totally different from reality. Free breakfast is a joke. Rooms are not clean.
Thanks they brought a crib for my baby and upgraded us to a suite for our anniversary, but I wondered what would be a regular room if the suite is so bad like this!
One night is enough for the price and quality. Not recommended for long stays.
Bed and sheets are old. Hairdryer was not working!

Room Tip: Second level, you can get some view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antoine3hindeleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elaaaki, General Manager at Grouse Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your comment, we were very surprised to read your review of your
recent stay at Grouse Inn. The experience you detailed is not the norm for our Inn.
Our guests typically find the Grouse Inn clean and comfortable.

Our Complimentary Continental Breakfast now includes many items for a great start of the day.
I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Vancouver hotels

Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very good hotel, you'll feel comfortable there, also there are good restaurants like Deny's or Caspian (Persian cuisine) over there. You are close to beautiful places so you can go and walk around. Also you have a good view to see the mountains. Enjoy the good breakfast. But the only thing was the stupid wifi login!!!! But totally that's awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arya_kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elaaaki, General Manager at Grouse Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are pleased to hear that our rooms and facilities were comfortable and met your expectations. Not often enough do we hear from our guests and your recognition is greatly appreciated and ensure our continued efforts to providing an exceptional and quality service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The room in this hotel was more than adequate in that it had a comfortable bed, and a fridge and a microwave. However the remote control for the television did not work properly. More importantly, the room was not clean. There were bits on the floor, cobwebs in the overhead ceiling lights, and the bedspread was stained. The breakfast is fine, and the front desk clerk was very nice. I obtained the room for about $50 on Hotwire, and I was very glad I had not paid more than that, as it is seriously lacking in the cleanliness department.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4coasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Upon arrival, I checked into my room and conducted an inspection of the room.

I turned down the sheets and bedcovers to find long dark hairs on them. The counters of the bathroom sink and bedside tables were dirty with some kind of liquid spills... coffee?

I complained immediately and was moved to a different room that smelled of cigarette smoke. Again, the counters were dirty. I slept terribly that night because the sheets were so itchy.

The next day the staff moved me back to the other room and I insisted that they give me non-itchy sheets. They did.

In the evening I took a shower while the water accumulated up around my ankles. The next morning same thing. I was taking a shower while 4-6 inches of water accumulated in the tub due to a non-draining drain. I looked down the drain and it was disgusting.

After the plugged shower drain incident, I checked out and found a B&B where, while it wasn't 100% clean, it was better.

I stayed 3 nights but should have left and stayed elsewhere after the first night. I decided not to because I had business to do in North Vancouver and it was convenient geographically. I would not recommend this motel to anyone.

Most of the staff, including the manager, are rude and apparently so bored with their job they would rather talk on the phone to their friends than help customers. In the end, the manager gave me only a $10 discount on the first night's stay. He became angry with me because I complained within hearing range of all his guests who were having "breakfast" in the breakfast room next to his office.

The "breakfast" was terrible. Dry bread. Cereals that looked grey. A 4-slice toaster where only 2 "slices" worked.


During that time the staff moved me twice.

Room Tip: Take a tour of the room offered to you. Inspect the countertops. Feel the sheets. Fold over the shee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank floodedsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel rooms are old and stinky and they open to the outside with so much noise. The sheets were visibly dirty and I had to request new ones. Their breakfast is a joke, I don't know how do they call it continental breakfast.
I reserved it online because nothing else were available for that day with my last minute trip and the only reason I didn't check out, was because I only had to sleep there for a few hours. It was too expensive for a cheap, dirty motel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abcdmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Vancouver hotels
0.2 mi away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#9 of 10 in North Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
#4 of 10 in North Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Inn

Property: Grouse Inn
Address: 1633 Capilano Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grouse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing