We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good, helpfull emplyee and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good, helpfull emplyee and good location”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

easy access to downtown and capilano area. good quality (not the best best western I've seen but it was good enough) front desk emplyee was very helpfull and quick. I would recommend it for sure

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hossamammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    150
    96
    26
    13
See reviews for
136
115
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel and paid upfront through Expedia. They took our card details on arrival and when we checked out told us 'they don't recognise expedia' and charged us again. The rooms are also VERY Average - Don't stay here!! I'm really dissapointed with their attitude to billing me twice!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Vancouver hotels

Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My family picked the Best Western in North Vancouver since it had the lowest prices. We were fooled into thinking we'd get a suite- what we got was more like an efficiency with barely enough room for 3 people to manuver around. The room itself had an odd smell and curious stains on the ceiling (luckily no leaks) and a carpet I would not set my bare feet upon. The circuitry had issues as one of the light switches by the bed almost made the TV blow out. And yet, despite the squalor, the beds were incredibly cusiony and comfortable!

We asked for a "quiet" room and were at first happy to be farthest back from the main road (Capilano Road). However, all rooms face the parking lot so I don't think any of them are quiet. I stayed up half the night listening to car doors slam and people pack/unpack suitcases and stompy up/down stairs. The other half of my night was spent listening to the upstairs neighbors having, err, relations. So if you must stay here, avoid staying on the ground floor. Just FYI, there are at least two other accomodations within walking distance (Grouse Inn and Comfort Inn) so if you dont like the looks of this place, don't hesitate to walk and check out the other places (which is what we ended up doing).

There's some dinky cafe attached to the hotel that we did not eat in- I don't think breakfast is included in the hotel stay. Wifi was available but it really was skittish and choppy.

To give the hotel some credit, it is cheap and has a good location minutes from the Cap Bridge, Grouse, Lynn Canyon. Also really close to the junction of Marine Drive/99/Lions Gate Bridge so you can pop back into Vancouver or visit Horseshoe Bay, Whistler. So if you really don't care about ambiance and just want a place to sleep, this would fit your bill.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank peg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This was a very good hotel to stay at since it was centrally located -close to Stanley Park and downtown Vancouver, with reasonable driving time to Britannia and Port Coquitlam areas.

The front desk staff (particularly Michelle) was very friendly and helpful - giving suggestions to food establishments, shopping malls and directions to attractions.

Our room was clean and comfortable. Beds were in great condition since they were replaced in Feb, according to the hotel staff. Ice and vending machines were closeby.
the only negative point was the parking- stalls were so small that some larger cars took 2 spaces to park so that left even less parking for the rest of the patrons.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank koabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The suite on the ground floor was ideal for my mother using a walker - spacious and easy to manouever around the room. It felt very safe for her to be in the room.
The room was very comfortable, clean and relaxing. Bathroom was safe and clean.
The kitchenette was very adequate and the sitting room was spacious too.
The staff at the hotel were all friendly and helpful.
The hotel was very accommodating with extending our stay.
Overall we had a great stay and would have no hesitation in returning to the hotel.

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with the staff for options
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zainmohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Service was good,Straight forward,The room was compact with an Excellent queen size bed and 4 pillows,Clean and neat. I found the location very good for my needs,Close to Horseshoe Bay and a half hour away from the Airport
Close to Downtown and Stanley Park,Very reasonable prices
All in all a very good experience staying there

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plumberglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I feel bad having to write this because the staff at this hotel were the best I have run into. Unfortunately the hotel itself was not. I also got some kind of a bite on my neck staying there and ran into the smell upon entering the room and useless wifi. The worst though is that we took a room on the front side of the hotel. It was like sleeping in the street as far as the noise goes. Capilano Rd is a huge major road and your room is right on top of it. The traffic noise is beyond belief and it isn't just rush hour. All night long you will get motorcycles and loud cars waking you up. I slept in segments of 20mins in between. We also kept finding ourselves locked out of our room for 5 mins at a time because the lock wouldn't work.

One of the other positive notes is that while it does not have a fitness centre they give you a pass to use at the local gym which is only steps away. It is massive and quite nice and way better than the little hotel work out rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
North Vancouver Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#9 of 10 in North Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
#4 of 10 in North Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Address: 1634 Capilano Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 4km from Downtown Vancouver, we are within easy access to many, restaurants, shopping and recreation areas. This core Best Western offers comfortable updated rooms and suites with kitchenettes. All rooms include amenities such as coffee makers (Tea & Coffee provided), Iron & Ironing board, Hairdryer, Free Parking and Internet Access (wireless). On site is an outdoor heated pool (open May- October), guest laundry and De Dutch coffee shop that is open for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capilano Inn And Suites
Best Western Capilano Hotel North Vancouver
Best Western North Vancouver
North Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing