We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
North Vancouver Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Folsom, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotels in Vancouver are very expensive. Even in North Vancouver they can be pricey. We went on a family vacation and wanted to see lots of attractions and sites in the Vancouver area. Our money was allocated to the outings and we did not have a lot to spend on the hotel.

North Vancouver Hotel advertises itself as clean, reasonably priced, close to Vancouver, and near food. It is all of these things. The place was clean, the staff was nice and it is pretty quick to get anywhere. Look, it is not a destination hotel. The pool is small. There is no food on premises. The rooms are not spacious and luxurious. There is no shortage of hotels like that in the area. But it is a great value in an area without many great values. Breakfast being included is a real plus. Usual motel fare but with kids, who cares? Filled them up for the morning and there was enough to satisfy the adults as well.

For family value this is a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDataMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that our guests understand that we are not aiming to be a resort, but merely a well-priced, convenient, clean and comfortable night’s stay. Our location is another great asset as well as our complimentary breakfast. Again thank you for your comments and we hope you and your family will stay with us again the next time you are in Vancouver.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    124
    78
    20
    24
See reviews for
115
102
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

On the morning of our checkout we found a giant rat in the room. Who knows how long it was there for. When we went to reception about it, they said it would be over an hour before someone to deal with it as maintenance doesn't start work until 930. We had a ferry to catch so couldn't wait therefore it was up to us to deal with the rat and get it out of the room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your response. We are sincerely sorry that you had this unfortunate experience. Pests sometimes make their way into a room if the door is left open. This is something that is unavoidable, but we do our best to deal with the situation when it happens. The day that this incident occured we notified pest control and had a team come as soon as they were able. We have pest control maintenance programs in place and the K9 team checking our rooms regularly as part of our preventative maintenance program. We assure you that we will work with our maintenance partners very closely to make sure things like this doesn't happen again. Thank you again for your feedback; we hope you will consider staying with us again.


Sincerely yours,

Steven Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Vancouver hotels

cardiff uk
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stay here from the 4-7th of may, very helpfull staff, nice clean rooms, good breakfast, good location for bus routes into vancouver centre. Its the right side of the city for moving on to whistler, Stanley park, or the aquarium, it has free parking, it even has a pool, very good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the North Vancouver Hotel in November 2011. My glowing review is still posted from that trip, so I won't go into those details with this one.
We decided to stay again for our next trip to Vancouver which was at the end of March 2013. This time it was just our little family and our very large dog. We really appreciated that the hotel was pet friendly. We didn't mind paying the extra $20 for him since the hotel is already so well-priced. I must admit I did look elsewhere for a cheaper pet-stay price, but there wasn't one. There were also very low weight restrictions on all of the other hotels that said they were pet-friendly.
I came home to the hotel very late after enjoying some of Vancouver's nightlife with friends and my family was sleeping. I couldn't get into the room for some reason. I asked the front desk to reset my card. They did so. It still didn't work and I didn't want to wake my husband. The front desk agent came out to help me right away. It turns out my husband had used the second lock. :) Can't keep our escape-artist daughter too safe!

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you so much for your review. You have no idea how rewarding it is for our staff to hear that our guests enjoy staying with us over and over again! Our pet friendly policy is definitely one of our best assets, and we pride ourselves on having friendly and helpful staff. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are back in Vancouver.


Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is great. Whilst it is an older establishment it is clean and comfortable and in a central location to North Vancouver (also only 10 mins drive to downtown). The suites with kitchenettes are very handy if you like to make your own food. All of the front desk staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful- Shamail in particular was great. Would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Guest Relations Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We take pride in our clean and comfortable rooms, as well as our convenient location. Our suites with full kitchen are always popular, especially with our extended stay guests. Our staff is always happy to accommodate any needs our guests might have and they will be happy to hear that their hard work has paid off. We will be sure to pass on your compliment to Shamail. Thank you again for your encouraging review, we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Sincerely,


Annejolie McLarnin
Marketing Co-coordinator
North Vancouver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Huge rooms and very friendly staff. We were visiting Vancouver for 1 night and chose North Vancouver Hotel for it's location and price. Free parking and breakfast included were also necessary. We had room 220 away from the street and it was very quiet. I only wish there was some kind of covering on the window near the closet (it's higher up and frosted) so it wasn't so bright when the sun came up. The location is close to everything and a fraction of the cost of staying in downtown Vancouver.

The breakfast was a little tired but the muffins and milk were good, stay away from the wierd eggs and sausage mixture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarrysMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found the price and location to your liking. Our spacious rooms, friendly staff, free parking, and good location are all reasons that our guests enjoy staying with us. We our glad your room was quiet, and we will look into providing curtains for windows facing the morning sun. It is unfortunate that you did not find the eggs and sausages satisfactory. We are always looking to improve amenities based on the responses we receive, including the breakfast we provide. Hopefully next time you will find the breakfast has improved. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Annejolie McLarnin,
Marketing Co-coordinator
North Vancouver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband & I enjoyed a two night stay last weekend. We picked this property for it's location and price. I was visiting some friends in North Vancouver & my husband went skiing at Cypress so the location was perfect (we had a car). We were very impressed with what we received for what we paid for (approx $150 CAD for two nights in a standard room) and would definitely stay here again.

When I made the reservation I did request a room with a King bed but upon check-in (late on a Friday night) we had a room with two queens or maybe doubles. It didn't bother us so we didn't mention it to the Front Desk. If bed preference is important I would reconfirm at time of booking and maybe again on the day of check-in.

The room was clean and comfortable - newish, modern motel room - for what we paid for it was great value for money. The only cons (and they were few and very minor) that I could comment on was the water pressure in the shower wasn't great - still you could have a decent shower and my husband commented on the slow wifi. We both have good celluar/mobile data plans so it didn't really bother us a great deal.

During the course of our stay I noted they had a few ski groups booked in, families & organized groups of youths. There was some noise in the evening (especially if you're staying on the first floor) but it really didn't impact our stay and I was surprised that the group of kids were so quiet.

The breakfast that was included in our rate was fantastic value for money. There were pastries, bread, bagel, cereal, eggs, sausage, pancake machince, milk, cream, juice, fruit, tea, coffee. It was clean & well attended to by pleasant staff. Nothing super gourment but again awesome value for money.

One night we drove 10 mins down to Lonsdale Quay and took the SeaBus over to Downtown Vancouver for dinner so that was convenient. We also drove to/from the Horseshoe Bay BC ferry terminal and found it to be quite convenient.

If you're looking for a clean, comfortable stay on the North Shore I would recommend this property. We also thought about staying at the Best Western & Comfort Inn that are located within walking distance but were happy with the decision to stay at North Vancouver Hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a strong preference for a quiet room, mention it at the time of booking. Also if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCAussie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed and informative response! Location and price are two strong points for us. Our staff are always happy to help, and would have been happy to move you to a king bed room if you had let us know, but we are glad that you enjoyed the room you stayed in none the less.

The water pressure in all the rooms is standard, and unfortunately each person prefers different water pressure levels. We understand that these days travelers travel with many devices that require Wi-Fi. In order to facilitate the high volume of traffic, we are looking in to increasing our bandwidth to accommodate our guest’s needs. We also provide high-speed cable internet connectivity in rooms for guests who have laptops.

We often host sports teams and different groups, but we do our best to confine them to one area so as not to disturb the rest of our guests. We have a wide variety of options at our continental and hot breakfast, and we try to keep it as clean and organized as possible. We are happy to hear our guests appreciate our staff’s efforts.

Many people stay with us on their way to the Horseshoe Bay ferry terminal or when they wish to spend time in downtown Vancouver. There is so much for our guests to do near our convenient location. Thank you for your feedback and positive recommendation to others. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Annejolie McLarnin
Marketing Co-coordinator
North Vancouver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
685 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
#4 of 10 in North Vancouver
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#8 of 10 in North Vancouver
468 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,300 reviews
4.6 mi away
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Vancouver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Vancouver Hotel

Property: North Vancouver Hotel
Address: 1800 Capilano Rd, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B6, Canada (Formerly Ramada Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — North Vancouver Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foot of Vancouver's Grouse Mountain, home of the 2010 Winter Olympics, North Vancouver Hotel ranks among the best boutique hotels in Vancouver and was recently voted the People's Choice Hotel by readers of local publication North Shore News. The staff at our newly renovated and affordable pet friendly hotel in North Vancouver provides a luxurious and comfortable stay. Our hotel in North Vancouver features certain room types equipped with partial or full kitchens, ideal for your prolonged Vancouver accommodation. Unlike hotels in downtown Vancouver, we feature many complimentary amenities, including complimentary hot breakfast, as well as free parking, local calls, WiFi Internet and seasonal pool access. The North Vancouver Hotel is located within minutes of various Vancouver tourist attractions such as Stanley Park, Capilano Suspension Bridge and Downtown Vancouver, as well as exceptional dinning and shopping. We offer special packages, including Snowshoe Package or Ski Package for the winter season and Cruise Packages from May until October. We have both Canadian and International guests coming to stay in our hotel in North Vancouver. Book now at one of the boutique hotels in Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Vancouver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing