We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun day at Santa's breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grouse Mountain

Grouse Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$252.48*
and up
Private Tour to Capilano Bridge and Grouse Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just 15 minutes from downtown Vancouver, Grouse Mountain attracts locals and tourists alike. During the summer, guests enjoy hiking, Zip Line Adventures, paragliding, sightseeing, lumberjack shows and more. In winter, we have skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, sleigh rides among many other activities. Grouse Mountain also features several different dining venues, from café style at Lupins to casual dining at Altitudes and fine dining as a guest at The Observatory. We also have a refuge for endangered wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun day at Santa's breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Took our family including four grandchildren ages ranging from 12 - 3 years old to Santas breakfast Xmas eve. It was very well organised, buffet was good and there was plenty for the kids to see and do. After breakfast we went skating, sledding and checked out the reindeer everyone had great fun. The gondola ride is spectacular at any time of the year so worth going up for just the ride.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,087
    1,097
    322
    92
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shetland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“October '13 vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We visited in late October before the snow had arrived and I had thought that it would be nothing more than a quick up and down on a cable car. How wrong could I have been! It was an exhilarating ride up on the older of the two cable cars ( the only one operating that day) which meant we had a bit of a queue to wait in. The car was thus fully loaded like sardines in the proverbial tin but was OK. The age range surprised me through toddlers to seniors with a good number of outdoor pursuit fanatics using it as a quick way to the top rather than doing the "Grind" up. What opened out before us was quite a surprise with a really rather good chalet with all the facilities you could want. The cafe and restaurant was a welcome sight and proved to be as good as they looked. On leaving the lodge building to go walking out to the higher areas around we enjoyed the carvings of the rather large tree trunks dotted all over the place. The enclosure where Grinder and Kooler the two orphaned bears habitat is easily accessible for all. We were privileged to be able to watch these two beautiful animals preparing their den area prior to winter arriving. All in all it was well worth escaping the fog at the lower levels to the bright and airy mountain top where we spent the better part of the day. A thoroughly good day out with lots to keep you occupied even when there is no snow to enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review of non-skiing person”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I do not like skiing, but my wife made me visit this place because of Zoo. So the Zoo was closed. But we found fun in skating with children (for my small daughter it was the first experience), and the fish soup in the restaurant on the top was perfect. The way in the cabin to the top and back could be considered as a separate attraction. And the parking lot was free. Thanks a lot for a wonderful good day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots to do and great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

You can do Grouse mountain for free if you like a good hike. We took the gondola up in the summer and then the ski lift to the top (extra fee). Great views from the top but you do have to spend more money to go up the wind turbine which then begins to make it very expensive.
There is a wolf pen and grizzly bears on show in addition to the wildlife (we saw a couple of deers).
Great day out if you are in Vancouver, would highly recommend it.
You can get here easily and cheap with a day travel card. Get the seabus over to the bus station and follow the crowds to the grouse mountain bus. Far cheaper than an organised bus trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyp543212003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Options!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Step off the gondola and see a view of the ice skating pond, where children are learning to skate. Beyond is Santa's Workshop and a corral with a reindeer. To the right is a small lodge with restaurant, ski shop, views of Vancouver and beyond. What a great start to the pre-Christmas season.
In late November there were a few inches of snow on the ground, and ice as we approached the pond. If we had traction-enabled footwear, we could have hiked further and gone up to the Wind Turbine. Next time we'll bring our boots and snowshoes for more exploring.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grouse Mountain also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
West Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
Squamish, British Columbia
 

Been to Grouse Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing