We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely mediocre”
Review of Charthouse Restaurant - CLOSED

Charthouse Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Steveston
Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Barely mediocre”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was dark outside while we were having dinner so I can't speak to the view, but I can say that not even an amazing view would bring me back to the Charthouse. Despite being right in Steveston the food, especially the fish and chips, were bland and disappointing and the food was actually quite expensive. Given how many options there are for seafood in Steveston I'm not sure why you would choose to go to the Charthouse.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cben5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunset on the Fraser.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My ladyfriend and i stopped by The Charthouse for a seafood dish and watch the sunset. I was born in Steveston and lived there when it was a true commercial fishing town. We arrived just before an amazing sunset. The lady that served us was a delightfully funny lady. We told her that the blue moon would be out after sunset. She had heard people talk about the blue moon but had no idea why they called it that. I explained that it was a rare treat when the moon was full twice in the same month. She laughed because, like many people, she thought it was a blue colour. I had only learned this a few years earlier, while watching the moon rise on a beach in Mexico. Yes, i was waiting for a blue coloured moon :-) I had the Johnathon Livingston seagull, a seafood platter. To be honest, i can,t remember what my lady friend ordered. After all it was a beautiful, romantic sunset and im lucky to remember what i ate. It was a very good meal but it was the view that made it magical. We will return again for the sunset seafood delight. Its a stunning sunset and the people are so friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcwilson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Apparently don't like kids”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I along with another couple and our 4 kids showed up for dinner, their were plenty of open seats available ,we were first told we would have to pay a 17% gratuity and we couldn't split the bill which we thought was odd but agreed that was ok ,the hostess then sighed and went back to get table set up and then came back to tell us yeah were not going to be able to serve you with out even a sorry ..so we went to shady island great food ,great service and we left them 25% tip

Helpful?
Thank Union13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible location but needs menu upgrade as just average”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We has the Almond Crusted Sole but the rice pilaf was not fresh & almonds were just dropped on top the fillet; fresh steamed broccoli & carrot were perfectly done; the side salad was just greens & one tomato quarter; waitress was very friendly but forgot the early tea/ coffee request with the salads coming first. Maybe past it's prime and in need of menu or chef renewal, as is a lovely location looking out over the wharves & fish boats selling their fish & seafood.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betterthanboating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Its alright...”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Food was decent - good portion sizing for what you pay for. But nothing spectacular! Needs better music and an updated atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charthouse Restaurant also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing