We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for dim sum. 20% off if you pay before 11 am (opens at 9 am)”

Jade Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #91 of 897 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Centre
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Ok for dim sum. 20% off if you pay before 11 am (opens at 9 am)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We came here for dim sum due to the proximity of the resto to our hotel. I was expecting extraordinary fare based on Yelp reviews, but it turned out to be just the average dim sum experience minus the push carts with all the food on it. We had a good meal, but nothing to right home about.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“So-so Dim Sum, Missed Dessert”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We went there after reading it scored Silver reward in best Dim Sum shop of 2013 in Vancouver. So we did go with high expectation.

Since we miss the 11am 20% discount window, we order the standard package that supposedly come with dessert. Servant told us no more cake dessert, but would replace with dessert-drinks (Tung2 Sui2). But they did not deliver it, and we missed to follow up due to kids distractions. Bad servant.

Their Shrimp Wrap dim sum was good, but others were just better than average. I mean, taste wise is average, but I can see they added in different unique ingredients to make a typical dish stand out. Still.... could not tell much difference.

I have had much better dim sum in San Jose California. I would expect the 2013 Silver medalist to beat my expectation handily. But ...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sftong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Rep For Canadians”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We are from Houston, TX coming up to visit Vancouver, Canada. We have always heard that Canadians are really friendly and Vancouver is the place to be. We visited this Jade Restaurant in Richmond because of the reviews. There are many to choose from in this area but Jade seem to have a good rep. We arrived at 8:40pm the restaurant doesn't close until 10:30pm. Service at the beginning was decent when they took our order. After they served the food, they were not to be seen anymore. They got upset when we asked for authentic chinese hot sauce with red peppers. They said they don't have any and gave us some mexican sauce. Soft drinks were never refilled. We had to ask for steamed rice, soy sauce, spoons for our kids. They didn't seem happy because we were just asking for the basics to eat our dinner. Food was not up to standards as Houston in the Bellaire area. They picked up our payment but never gave us back change. Is that the way Canadians do business? Bad name for Canadians.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
308 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“The real thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went for lunch this noon here based on reviews on tripadvisor. Considering the number of Asian eateries in Richmond,theJade isranked highly. Our dim sum were FANTASTIC. This was especially true of the durian - frozen in a coconut bun. Sublime

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“We had another delicious seafood experience here! It's more expensive than others, but worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This Chinese Seafood Restaurant in Richmond really does NOT need a review from me, as most of the local seafood lovers already know about this place very well. However, NEW TOURISTS who love seafoods and are staying nearby the airport, might find this Cantonese restaurant worth going for a try. However, if you want King Crabs, you need to go with a party of 4 or more...!

Its spacious, comfy dining room is located on the 2nd floor with ELEVATOR and stair access. All tables have table cloth. It offers excellent seafood dishes and has very attentive and friendly service. They serve wine and beers, too.

OUR EXPERIENCE

While visiting Vancouver in late March my wife and I had cravings for King Crabs, which, lucky for us are still in season! During our PREVIOUS trip to Vancouver 2yrs ago, we had the FRESHEST tasting King Crab in this very restaurant. On that visit, we had 1/2 of a King Crab (~5lbs) steamed in famous Chinese "huadiao" wine! It tasted heavenly!

Yes, there are several other seafood restaurants nearby Jade Seafood, which are very popular for King Crabs, and their prices are actually cheaper than Jade Seafood. However, those popular ones are always crowded and have a long wait before and after being seated. We knew, because we were in one of those restaurants 3 yrs prior, and we didn't think the lower price was worth it. So, that evening in late March on this trip, we went right back to Jade Seafood, longing for another feast on scrumptious King Crabs! Well, guess what!? The luck was NOT on our side! They NO LONGER served HALF CRAB, because all their stock was heavier than 9 lbs each, and targeted for parties of 4 or more! The friendly waiter and manager told us that NO WAY 2 of us was able to finish a 10lb King Crab, no matter how hungry and inspired we thought we were! At $28/lb (BTW, at other restaurants, ~$23-26/lb), they advised us to be sensible and to resist the temptation...! We could sense that the manager and the wait staff were truly feeling sorry for us! They said they appreciated our loyalty of coming back to them, and offered us a discounted price for a LOBSTER dish and a free veggie dish of our choice...! My wife was more disappointed than I was for not being able to sink our teeth into a King Crab that evening, but we finally came to our senses and decided to take up the manager's offer! To ease the pain, we ordered a bottle of Yellow Tail wine ($19, great restaurant price) right away. The rest of the meal? We had a 3+lb Lobster ($24 per lb discounted price) in ginger and scallion over a bed of noodles, a free veggie dish (snow peapod leaves), very tasty razer clams in black bean sauce ($6each), and 2 scallops in garlic sauce and transparent noodles ($12ea). Too much food for two people? - Well, not too much for US TWO! We actually finished them all, including the ENTIRE BOTTLE of Yellow Tail AND a small bowl of rice to boot! They were all super delicious! We did have to take our time stuffing ourselves, more slowly than normal though.

It was almost CLOSING time, when we asked for our bill. Our manager and wait staff came over and told us how impressed they were with our great appetite, BUT they still maintained that EVEN WE, could never have finished their 10 pounder King Crab by ourselves!

In our next trip to Vancouver, we'll try to drag another couple of people to come along, back to Jade Seafood for a feast of a 10+lb King Carb!

BTW: For tourists, the best way to get to restaurants in this area is by taxi, even though there's a Rail Stn nearby. Before leaving the restaurant, BE SURE to ask the host to CALL a taxi for you.

Late Mar 2014

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterskis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Jade Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing