We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food but pitiful sight”

Sun Sui Wah Chinese
Ranked #19 of 902 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Food but pitiful sight”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We ordered their well know squab, a beef and vegi dish, wintermelon soup, and one other dish. All the items were very good. What turned me off was how the server cleaned the table beside us. He poured the leftover tea from the teapot unto the lazy susan and then wiped it off with the table cloth. What sanitation does this resto have? I can imagine what they do inside the kitchen. Am having second thoughts about going back there.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank fishlover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    55
    22
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great food”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Great New Year's gathering. Great food, reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Young88Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FRESH made to order and Clean unencumbered flavours”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

WOW!! Dinner on a Sunday evening 8pm.

Everything was made to order and tasted very fresh.

Huge tanks at front as you walk in with fish, huge scallops, lobsters, crabs, etc. -

Had the Squab (very meaty and not at all gamey - almost tastes like well done beef!) - the skin a cross between chicken wings and duck.

Lobster with Garlic was AWESOME!!!!!

The singapore fried noodles were the way they should be prepared.

Sweet and sour pork with lychee - the pinneaple was fresh pinneaple not canned.

Order of baby bok choy with garlic perfectly cooked.

Can't wait to go back! Worth the trip.

Service was very attentive and respectful.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDABOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Everything is delicious”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We got all our staple Dimsum dishes, and everything was awesome. We even had to order seconds for some things. For a Chinese restaurant, the service here is amazing. People are dressed professionally, constantly serving you more water/tea. It's a little more expensive than other dim sum places, but worth it to us. We always make a stop here for dim sum when visiting Vancouver (from Seattle), and will continue to do so!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank croelin1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Okay, not great”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Was eager to try this restaurant after many recommendations. Had Dim Sum on August 7, 2010. The dim sum is typical, not spectacular. The service however was great and efficient. Waiters are considerate and communicate in sign language, instead of yelling over your heads, like many chinese restaurants. I was not impressed, but the restaurant is clean,and the decor is pleasant. They charge tea by the person, even if my kids didn't drink tea, how odd.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Sui Wah Chinese also viewed

 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Sun Sui Wah Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing