We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another unforgettable meal in Vancouver”
Review of Tropika

Tropika
Ranked #354 of 913 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another unforgettable meal in Vancouver”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stumbled upon Tropika while walking at Robson. I saw the Trip Advisor sticker at the door and knew right away that we are going to have a good meal. How right I was. We had the most delicious seafood dish Malaysian style. This was my first Malaysian dish. Love, love, love it and will now actively look for Malaysian restaurant at home.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    12
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This restaurant has closed 2 years ago...”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Please change your address of the new Tropika. it is hard to make a review of non existent restaurant. There is Tropika at Lansdowne. I do not know if they are the same restaurant or owner. I have visted the one in Lansdowne. I will make my review when Trip advisor has made correct changes to the address of the said restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GSF_842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hit and miss south East Asian food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Some Singaporean-Malaysian dishes are great - char Kway tow but others are not (like hokkien me). Clientele is a curious mix - lots of young students from Asia but also business groups and families.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PickyPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Missing in Action”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Tropika at the Aberdeen Centre was the go to place every time we visited Richmond — their Malaysian Crab and roti were so good, just the thought of them would make us want to return. Without really noticing, two years have gone by since we have been able to return and although the plan was to visit what has become a favourite restaurant, the disturbing discovery this evening is that it appears to be no longer in business.

There is a large sign on the door that the kitchen is out of commission, but in smaller print, the landlord has posted a notice it has changed the locks as of February 19, 2013...

So disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berhala236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent for Lunch”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was hesitant to go to Tropika for lunch after a lengthy dinner wait with a large party a few years back. However, the food was served promptly, was fresh, tasty and affordable. I will definitely go back the next time I am in the Aberdeen Mall vicinity of Richmond.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightSided
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropika also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Tropika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing