We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confusing layout, mixed results”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
River Rock Casino Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Confusing layout, mixed results”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Signage seemed to direct you to the $12 valet parking, since if you didn't take this option, you'd need to go down the street to the free hotel parking that was quite a walk (bring luggage w/wheels!). We walked all lover the place trying to find the reception desk, checked in at the Casino side, but were then sent across the street to a room with the worst view I've ever seen. Industrial, dumpsters, railroad tracks...and the skytrain made noise the entire night, although we didn't hear any of the planes overhead. If you want to visit the buffet, go early and get signed it, it was still an hour wait on wkend. But the food was high-quality and tasty; the selection was limited, but they were above average. If you want the pool, casino, food, you had to cross the street or skybridge to get to it. Pool was filled with children, but large enough to still enjoy, and open until midnight. Appreciated that the casino was smoke-free. Rooms were wonderful; bathroom roomy, beds super-comfortable and you get an espresso machine in-room to use. Coffee shop had stale, tasteless pastries, so maybe go somewhere else for breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the East tower or you'll be out of range of most of the resort activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear KateSeattle_WA,

Thank you for our feedback from your recent stay with us.
Our valet parking attendants will be more than happy to hold your bags in the front while you park your car, alleviating the carrying of suitcases from the parkade. Also, any of our valet, guest services or concierge department (or any other staff for that matter) are more than happy to help you to the front desk or point you in the right direction. We are here to help you. I will pass on your feedback to our pastry chef regarding the pastries at Java Jacks.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon,

Regards,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    532
    158
    58
    53
See reviews for
348
516
70
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jenick44
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Pros:
Close to home
No smoking
All the amenities of a 4 star (minus mini bar)
Great Room Service
On the skytrain
Free Breakfast buffet (vouchers)
Room at the Hotel was nice, bathroom very nice as well
Wonderful staff
Energy Efficient Hotel
Allow Pets

Cons:
Lacking in casual dining options
Not enough selection at bar/restaurant and not all people want to go to a high end restaurant for dinner before the show.
LuLu's needs to be upgraded. It's not a place where you would want to eat.
We went to Curve because it looked nicer but their menu is trying to hard to be fancy when all we are looking for is a burger or something simple and delicious. Very expensive for a small plate of food. Perhaps take after Cactus Club or Earls and add great affordable comfort food.
Pool needs upgrading
Being a Casino destination, there should be a separate adult pool (the pool area is obviously catering to couples with kids). If they want to be more like Vegas this would be an appropriate move.
Should switch to digital from satellite TV

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Jenick44,

Thank you for choosing The River Rock Casino Resort. I will be passing on your feedback regarding out casual dining options to our Executive Chef . Although Lulu's does accomodate the casual diner, it is definitely has more atmosphere in the evenings with our live bands who play nightly. As for Curve, maybe we need to revamp our menu and we will look into this with our management.
Glad you enjoyed our excellent customer service and we hope to have you back again soon

Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Purchased a Groupon online and got to experience the new Hotel at River Rock. Experienced friendly and helpful staff, modern rooms with good views, nice amenities (fridge, coffee/expresso machine, wall-mounted flat screen tv, huge floor length mirror and wardrobe, safe, robes), a nice bathroom with great towels and a soft floor rug, but terrible beds and pillows - way too soft. Plus, the heating/cooling system in our room was unable to be controlled manually, which was inconvenient and a little annoying.

Parking is not the best. Free gated parking under the hotel is very limited, and the other free parking across the street is a fair distance away and challenging to find when faced with hotel, casino and theatre guests all competing for the same spots. You also have to walk outside to get to the casino and hotel.

Pool area is fun with a great slide, but hot tub is so small for the number of guests using it. Why would the hotel put in such a small hot tub for the size of the property, and especially now that they've expanded the hotel to accommodate even more guests?

Casino is good with a variety of slot machines and tables, and musical entertainment. And it's nice to be able to stay til the wee hours and then walk back to your room with ease.

Breakfast buffet was also good but on Sunday, brunch starts immediately after breakfast (10:30am) and it's very confusing when staff are trying to prepare for brunch when there are still breakfast guests eating. Staff are taking items away and bringing out new items, and breakfast guests aren't supposed to be eating the brunch items even though all guests end up being mixed up together anyways. Very messy of a situation. Food item selection was good, though, and buffet was reasonably priced.

As a hotel staying guest, staff do require you to bill your room in advance of entering the buffet so you will need to know how much gratuity you wish to leave before knowing what kind of service you receive, or you might want to bring some cash with you to leave at the table when you leave.

Hotel check out is early at 11 am, but if you call down to the front desk or operator, they will allow you to stay until 12 without charge.

Not a perfect stay, but we enjoyed ourselves overall and were happy to try the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScreamingBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Screaming Banshee,

I am also a big fan of our newly renovated rooms in The Hotel as well ! The Nespresso machines and ipod clocks are such a great addition! We do have numerous parking sites to cater to all of our guests and our free parking by the West Entrance holds over 600 vehicles. Another options if you find the walk a bit too far is to use our valet as they would be happy to park your car for you.
I will pass on your feedback to our Buffet managers about the confusion between breakfast and brunch. They may be able to sort something out so it is not as confusing for guests.
We hope to have you again soon and really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback!

Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

enjoyed a night at this lovely property. i liked the circular winding escalator in the lobby. the rooms were very clean, stylish and high-end looking.

the food at the buffet (included in our bed and breakfast package) was very good, including smoked salmon and eggs benedict.

the employees all seem happy to work there. i received a nice package of chocolates/candies from the concierge which was a nice touch.

a very good value considering the b & b package was $139.99 and the breakfast probably would have been about $30 pp if charged separately.

went to see gladys knight perform and was very impressed with her.

i would highly recommend a stay here. we will come again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnarita1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Donnarita1964,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and Gladys Knight show this past weekend. We strive to expand our Buffet offerings to meet everyones needs and will pass on the feedback to the management team.
We hope to have you come back and stay again soon

Regards,

Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This Hotel is veryy nicely done but only seems to cater to people who are interested in the Casino. The shows would eb a draw but there were none during our stay. The location is quite out of the way if you are wanting to experince all of Vancouver.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Tod A,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We most definitely try to cater to all of our guests at River Rock. Other than our casino, we also have a wonderful spa, 3 restaurants, a full amenity gym & show theatre. Continue to check out website for upcoming shows as this Spring Summer is going to be packed full of amazing stars! Also a quick way to get to Vancouver in 16 minutes is The Canada Line skytrain system. It is such a great addition to our Resort. We hope to have you back again soon.

Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 2 weeks in a row. 1st time as a couple with 2 other couples for a trip to the casino and 2nd time just Mom and I while we visited a show.

We stayed at the Hotel which is located across the street rather than above the casino. Great rooms! Clean, modern and spacious. We stayed in a modern King room - great technology, your key card activates the power in the room, when you leave the room, all power OFF. Smart energy saver for sure.

For able bodied people the trek to the casino is easy, there is a walking escalator within the skybridge which takes you to the casino. It might be a bit of a hike for some less able. The parking is expensive but I guess that's the same for all of Vancouver. Valet parking is $12. The free parking is in a mult-storey next to the hotel, 1-2 min walk which was not a big deal for us but I can imagine it would be tricky for older folk and possibly a bit confusing.

We had a blast on both trips. No smoke in the casino, how nice is that!? I can't wait for Las Vegas to copy!? There is a live band at the weekends so you can dance the night away if you wish. There is a food fair at one end of the casino but very difficult to find anything that isn't fast food (sushi - california rolls?). Lulu's lounge serves food and drinks, expensive! $15 9oz house wine but great food. The buffet breakfast for $15 is very reasonable, lots of selection for a breakfast and starts the day off right. The view from the breakfast room looks out to water and boats, you can see the mountains in the distance... was lovely but they really need to clean their windows more often, I was surprised that the windows of the hotel in general weren't very clean? Not a biggie but when everywhere was so new and pristine?

Overall a great place to stay with fun things to do.. we drove from Victoria, hit Granville Island for shopping, hit the hotel, watched the show, gambled a little and the next day we hit IKEA before returning home. Was a fun trip but dropped some money, that's for sure :)

Room Tip: All the rooms seem similar to me. We watched the planes go over, extremely close but no noise issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear BCGirlie,

I'm glad that you and your mom had a fun time with us during your last trip. Our rooms in The Hotel at River Rock have all the latest technologies and amenities and we are trying to do our part in saving energy where ever we can. Our energy saving cards are one of our newest technology upgrades. It sounds like you also took good advantage of our location and proximity to the skytrain!
I am sorry to hear you had a hard time finding some other Food and Beverage outlets. All of our staff are more than happy to help you find the many different food outlet locations throughout the resort. Our guest services and concierge team are fabulous and are on site 24 hours a day.

Thank you for your extensive review and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon

Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at “the Hotel”

I called to make reservations a few weeks before my stay. I gave them all my info (name, address, credit card, etc.). I called 2 days prior to my stay to confirm my reservation and they said they didn’t have my name or reservation. Luckily I was able to make reservations still.

They were doing construction/repairs outside the room in the morning. There was loud banging and power tools. It woke me up thinking what was going on! Who wants to be woken up like that! There was also a loud buzzing sound when you turned the lamps on.

When I checked out, I was given my bill which was accurate to my knowledge. A few days later, when I checked my credit card statement, I noticed I was charged an extra $150+. I called to inquire and they told me it was the incidental deposit and they rudely insisted it WASN'T charged and it SHOULDN'T be on my credit card. When I told them it’s on my statement and I was looking at it, they said it still shouldn't be but anyways, should be reversed within 2 days. It has been almost 2 weeks and it still hasn’t been reversed.

I was always looking forward to staying at the River Rock Casino Resort, but this was quite a disappointment. The room was nice, but had a few issues. It’s connected to the sky train station so easy access to downtown/airport. But if you are looking for a place to stay with easy access to the airport, I'd choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Kay_B842,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience during your stay in The Hotel at River Rock. I apologize for the noise that you were woken up with. We are currently opening a new Chinese Restaurant on the main floor and unfortunately they may have been working that morning. As for the $150 charge to your card, I am wondering if you can contact our Hotel Manager, Udo Schwarze at uschwarze@riverrock.com or 604-247-8901 and we can look into this issue for you. Your feedback is very important to our operation and will be passing it on to the appropriate areas.

Thank you,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Casino Resort

Property: River Rock Casino Resort
Address: 8811 River Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#3 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Rock Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Rock Casino Resort is Western Canada's only 4-Diamond Casino Resort located in Beautiful British Columbia. Situated next to the Fraser River in Richmond, River Rock's stunning location has waterfront and city views of Vancouver and the North Shore Mountains. With the Canada Line transit system right at the resort's doorstep, getting to downtown Vancouver is only 18 minutes away and the Vancouver International Airport is just a quick 7 minute ride. Featuring deluxe guest rooms, luxurious one and two bedroom suites, Executive rooms and spacious penthouse suites - River Rock has something to suit everyone. Amenities include a show theatre with world-class entertainment, a 24-hour casino with slots, table games and poker room, 10 food and beverage outlets, Spa, fitness centre, salt water swimming pool and business and conference centre. River Rock Casino Resort has everything you need to create the perfect mix for both business and pleasure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Rock Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Richmond
River Rock Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing