We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice LaQuinta except too close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice LaQuinta except too close to airport”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed 092610 and 092710. I had some trepidation about the location near the Vancouver airport. And the airplanes coming and going did bother some but we rested pretty well. Best I can remember heard some up to about 11pm, and early somewhere around 5am. Otherwise a nice LaQuinta at a good price. The continental breakfast area is a bit more crowded than usual. A big plus is the indoor pool and whirlpool - excellent. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CONNvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    270
    118
    35
    16
See reviews for
175
208
57
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed here because we would leave for Chicago early in the morning. We came from Calgary (by plane). Ariport shuttle was convenient and prompt. Staff was friendly and helpful. Wired internet in the room (which I consider a plus), wunderful bed (pillow was ok), We had to leave at 6 o'clock. But it was no problem to have an early breakfast (which officially starts at six). A lot of Asian shops (and restaurants) in the neighbourhood. Mall, Zellers, Save on food nearby. Within 10 minutes a lot of family diners (eg White spot) as well. Definitely value for money and would stay again. The only drawback was that i heard the elevator noise from my room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowbarNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed here on our 1st night after landing. We were very impressed at the value for money. A clean environment. Friendly staff and the airport shuttle was very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

After having stayed at other hotels in Richmond, this one was a very pleasant surprise in terms of price quality (98 CAD+ tax). The hotel is clean and modern with all the amenities one would expect. The bed was first class and we slept very well. I would have given the hotel a five star approval until we went to breakfast. We should have been warned when we saw one guest in the lift bringing down his own cutlery. It is not the food, which was quite acceptable except for the synthetic orange juice. The BIG ISSUE we had was with the dishes and utensils - all very much cheap plastic. In this day and age of green consciousness it is unbelievable that a hotel would use a fully disposable set of plastic cutlery and dishes not at all bio-degradable. It just gives the client the wrong image and certainly tainted our view of this chain. This "all plastic" policy is a mistake and its management should do their sums again on its cost/benefit if it has such a turn-off with customers which it will certainly do as we all become more aware of the environment and the resources we waste and unhealthy refuse we create with disposable plastics.

Lets hope common sense prevails and there is a turnaround in this policy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin22059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2010

This hotel is loacated in a Asian community, Richmond, walking distance to lots of Asian restaurant. This is a bonus if you like asian food. The hotel is a few years old, but I was surprised in pretty good condition. Service is amazing, free internet, breakfast and swimming pool. I will definitely go back to stay if I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

There were 10 of us traveling together and we needed a place that was reasonable in price, safe, and easy to find in Vancouver. By chance I had booked a one night stay over the internet for the La Quinta, since it allowed 5 people in the room instead of the usual of only 4. The service was great when we got there. A roll away bed was provided immediately and the room was large enough for all of us. The hotel was easy to find and it is in the most unique location. We found us in a China Town setting with tons of authentic Asian cuisines to chose from for dinner. We had to pick up my daughter and her husband from the airport, a 10 minute drive that was easy to find. We are hoping to return to Vancouver, Canada again now that we know that it is only a short 4 hours from our place in Washington. Richmond and Vancouver are interesting cities and diverse in culture and ethnicity. Our overnight stay at the La Quinta was very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eburgvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights last week with a wonderful time in the middle of Richmond, BC's 2nd. Chinatown for R&R. Highly recommended & one of the best-kept secret for value/dollar spend as current exchange rates between USD & CAD is nearly 1:1 only - saved $$ vs. staying at Hamptons, HI Express & Ramada, etc. priced at higher nightly rates.

Flying into YVR, hotel is 15 minutes away from its free, 6 am-midnight shuttle van. We stayed also at a Coast hotel for 2 nights & LQ simply outshined them on a comparative & competitive basis (and theirs charged for parking, located in middle of nowhere) We're able to check in early - around 1:30 pm & was fast, easy by friendly desk staff, obtained our free parking pass to put on dash - lots has capacity for about 35 cars & will be full when it's busy (slots between parked cars are tight since they tend to drive more compact cars, our Corolla from Hertz fitted nicely - gas is $1.15 per liter now or expensive around here - about $4.30 USD per gallon, ouch - $41 to refill the tank !!!) On-street parking outside on Alexandra Rd. is metered until 9 pm but available if needed, as in all urban areas, remove all valuables & use common sense - thiefs will skip your obvious rentals/US-plated cars & look for those fancy Benz, BMW & Acura, etc. Leaving a GPS/mount on the dash is simply saying, "break mine & run."

Open 2 story-height interior lobby is bright, airy w. seating areas & breakfast section is on opposite side, 24 hour coffee/tea/hot water service + microwave (none in rooms) & meeing room is open for extra seating in morning hours for hot buffet - loved the waffles, eggs & sauages, and very good coffee too. Mini business center with 2 Dell PC connected to a multi-function printer, which we used to print our airline's return flight check-in & boarding passes - 7 pages at no extra charge (ever try that at the Marriott or Sheraton's) - great & thanks, LQ management. Otherwise, HSI was working in our room - wirelessly & via Ethernet cable, speed was around 1 MB up/down - not fast, but good enough for web surfing & email, etc. using our own laptop, plus it has a 3 outlet extensions at the work desk - got our cameras & usb-chargers all plugged in.

Swimming pool is small but okay, great for family with kids on a rainy day (brief showers & rain aren't ususual in YVR or BC area, but sun will come out - Alaska cruisers, plan accordingly as you will need those raincoats in your ports of call, as we learned & many were surprised by it, sunny days are rare) - there's a shower area & clean towels. Small gym room with 3 pieces & cups for bottled/filtered water provided - open from 6 am to 10 pm, and it was great to burn a few calories before dinner at the treadmill. Next to elevator are vending machines & ice, instant cup-a-soup noodles sold for those 2 am jet-lagged stomach urges.

There's just 1 elevator and it could be slow when the place is busy, so walking down the chairs might be quicker (exercise - hint, hint) and as our photo showed, hallways & rooms are very bright & well-lite, clean & still got that "new" look. Security cameras are mounted at different places and we feel very safe both inside, outside & around the property at all times.

Upgraded to an Executive King at no extra charge (FF membership in "Returns" ??) for 3 nights at end of 3/F hallway in main building, so it was very quiet for us. At certain times, we could hear jets taking off as they climb & turn, but didn't bother us & it's common if you stay in airport vicinity no matter where. We take along binder clips on all trips to hold those darkening window blinds together tight so morning lights are never a problem as we slept, jet-lagged or not or after staying up late (as we checked out the nearby casino for some fun).

Bathroom is basic, clean, roomy & toilet flushed great, multi-adjustable showerhead & very good water flow (newer sections have shower stalls only) & fast running tap (no restrictors) - we have options of cleaning bed linens/sheets every 3 days only but always fresh bath towels daily by housekeeping. Bath essentials were okay, no hand lotions or hair conditioner, but at least there's a mini-sewing kit.

Small but cute clothing closet, okay for hanging a few items like suits & dresses - free digital storage safe on the top shelf working, and we used it to store our camers & passports, etc. while we exerecised or dined around the corner at night. Working mini fridge to store anything cold & coffee maker, and we used it to boil hot water - then kept it cool & saved on buying bottled water (tea bags in lobby) Work desk was nice as one night, we decided to buy takeout from the nearby Aberdeen Centre mall's Asian food court & ate in our room while watching TV with a view out toward the parking lot in the front, occasionally hearing jumbo jets taking off nearby - airport is busy with landings/takeoffs even at 2 am, yes, to Europe & Asia. (Our alarm rang at 4 am & we checked out at 5 am for our 8 am departure since we had to do a Hertz dropoff & allow extra time to clear US customs & immigration at the departure first)

A small roof-top garden on the 5/F, room key is needed to unlock & gain access, has 2 outdoor long bench, great for watching the skylight & snow-capped mountains to the east as daylight fade away (sunset ?? if it's not cloudy or showering, etc.) - or just to relax, sip a cool drink (bubble tea, Starbuck latte, wine or beer) & munch on snacks before heading out to dinner or night in town. There's a large Karaoke club - lounge (Asian customers) across the street to the right, it's open late in the day & well into the early morning hours, we didn't check it out as not our style at all, just FYI.

La Quinta is 2 blocks from the pricier Four Points Sheraton also located on Alexandra Rd, and this 3 long blocks can be best described as "restaurant row" dotted with many at various price points - the Radisson Hotel is also not far from us either, next to the Yaohan Centre with a huge choice of Japanese/Asian food, bakery, unique cakes, snacks & pre-cooked items for takeout & also a food court. Back on our block, if you are spending more than a day or two, check out the Chinese restaurants that offer "western" style breakfast & sandwiches in the morning (open at 8 am) with great coffee/dark tea with enriched milk at $6 or $7 pp and their daily "set lunch" specials - all under $10 pp - just ask the front desk staff to point out a few for you. Pho 99 served the rich-brothed Vietnamese beef noodle soup (that's why it's named as "Pho") & dripped ice coffee with milk (it's strong & better than Starbuck's cappachino. At least several restaurants on these blocks have daily "dim sum" specials with discounts before 11 am, and there are the all-you-can-eat Chinese hot pots & cook you own in the soup specials for around $20 pp, and of course, the high priced seafood restaurants with fresh jumbo shrimps-abalone-lobster-king crabs-raw oysters & shark-fins soup, etc. You will also find Japanese & Korean restaurants here, and, in case you missed it, there's a Wendy fast food on No. 3 Road that's about 5 minutes away by car - and a IHOP further south.

All and all, LQ is ideally situated in the middle of all these action and for what we paid, it's truely a bargin and definitely worth it, it's not your typical Sheraton, Crown Plaza or Marriott propety, but it's on par with the Hamptons, HI Express & Ramada's if not a notch better - no extra charges or surprises, even free newspaper in the morning outside the door, very helpful & friendly housekeeping and front desk staff - hate those that bang on the door or make so much noises at 11 am with the DND sign to ask about cleaning your room.

If you plan to drive around BC with a car, their location is ideal & it's just 20 minutes to downtown during off-peak hours, easy for us to drive to Stanley Park or to Gastown, and we took a leisure day trip on the Sea-to-Sky Hwy up to Whistler for the scenic beauty of the coastline along the way, stocking up our "picinc" items at nearby mall's food court before we head north.

LQ is definitely on our highly recommended lists to friends & relatives planning a stay in YVR, and for our next return trip to the area somewhere in the future again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mking8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport

Property: La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport
Address: 8640 Alexandra Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 4K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
La Quinta Vancouver Airport
La Quinta Richmond
Richmond La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing