We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It provided what I was looking for”
Review of #9 Restaurant

#9 Restaurant
Ranked #217 of 902 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It provided what I was looking for”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I've read that some people have complaints with this restaurant.
That certainly does NOT describe my experiences.
It's a 24-hour restaurant located in a mall; it does not pretend to be haute cuisine.
It serves acceptable Asian and Canadian fare quickly and inexpensively.
Given that this is a Chinese restaurant, obviously most of the restaurant items are Asian.
But there are Western selections too, and I went early morning for a Western-style breakfast. I was not disappointed.
On entering, I was immediately seated, and a hot cup of Chinese tea was quickly brought to my table, along with the menu.
I ordered Selection J: A ham omelette, with toast and peanut butter and jam, hash browns, and coffee. A good deal for under $7.00.
The omelette was not exceptional, but it was fine and contained lots of shredded ham slices.
It was delivered hot and quickly.
Perhaps this restaurant does not meet the needs of some people.
But it, more than adequately, provided everything I asked for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murphy-Hagunos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, good value”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The restaurant was clean including the washroom, I expected less it being a 24 hour restaurant. The food was great and the service likewise. The only thing is that it is a cash only joint.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geveyanjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
715 reviews
450 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Just like hong kong I only better prices”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Pleasantly surprised our group.
All dishes were generous portions of hot yummy chinese favorites like noodles with dumplings and rice congee seafood. Service is ok not super friendly. This is a bustling busy cafe in the mall. Convenient easy parking. Prices fair and way less than hk. Recommend the afternoon tea set includes beverage same cost.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“It should be the #1 Chinese Restaurant in Vancouver”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

There are 2 sayings about Chinese Restaurants in Vancouver

1 All the good Chinese Restaurants are in Richmond
2 It is so competitive in Richmond that if you are not good, you better move to Calgary

I agree wholeheartedly with these 2 sayings.

#9 has been there for ages. Every time we travel to Vancouver, it is more or less our canteen. Please do not misunderstood, all I am saying is that it is so good that we go there a lot of times. It has so many varieties to pick from that you can go there a lot of times without having to repeat the order.

They open 24 hours a day, may be the only one that do so in Richmond. Most other early ones open at 8:30 am / 9:00 am, and all others open after 11 am.

It is also the less expensive Chinese Restaurant. You will not go wrong with anything you order, but look at their combination special, and watch out for the size of the dishes, it can be too big for your party.

For Breakfast, their 3 major attractions are the BBQ duck, the beef stew fen in clear broth, and the won ton soup. I also like their fish congee with real big chunk of fish

There is nothing wrong with their menu. they have already demonstrated their competitiveness with good food, long hours and reasonable pricing. But I do hope next time I went there, they can introduce some new fusion dishes like what Peter Fang, owner of House of Nanking in San Francisco has done.

(My party has been there for breakfast, lunch, dinner, late night, and afternoon tea, Tripadvisor only allows me to select one)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Y C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“good ,cheap,and stays up really dang late!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The thing I like about chinese resturaunts is that they are almost 24/7 and this place is a serious example. I mean it even serves cheeseburgers for drunk hungover party people! What's not to like about this ppave? Plus I find the food pretty good and the service is fast. May not be friendly but when you are hungry in the middle of the night where everywhere you go is closed, who cares about friendly service as long as your food comes in fast right?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoinji J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed #9 Restaurant also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to #9 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing