We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gave 4 stars because of the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Airport South
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gave 4 stars because of the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very cheap good hotel close to the airport, have stayed many times when flying from YVR. After trying most of the hotels closely with a free airport shuttle thesis now my stay of choice.
Breakfast is ok, the usual basic fare.

Rooms are clean and comfortable enough. Alarm clocks are difficult to set I usually bring my own. Airport shuttle is reliable and quick.

Best to get a room on the back, as there can be a little road noise on the front at times.

Room Tip: Get room other the back, it's quieter and has a surprisingly nice view in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlasticSack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    96
    50
    10
    15
See reviews for
48
84
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Erie, Ontario
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

I've stayed here a few times because of location to family and cost. This hotel is extremely reasonable, but be prepared to pay up front. They won't just take your credit card info, they charge your stay on upon arrival. I found that very odd. The rooms and beds are just okay, starting to get a bit worn, but quite functional. The windows do open, a huge bonus for me. If you stay on the backside of the tiny property, it backs right onto Minoru Park, a beautiful oasis in busy downtown Richmond. It's also 2 blocks from the busiest shopping mall and right smack in the middle of the business area in town. Location to the airport is 10 minutes or so, and they will you shuttle to & from. The included breakfast is pretty good! You can actually make your own Belgian waffles on the iron. The price is definitely right, and is way cheaper during the week. I paid in Jan/Feb/12 from $59.99-$99.99 per night. The pictures that are shown on this site are accurate.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the back of the hotel so you can see the park, and the quiet room with the long hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

I was dreading staying in a budget hotel in Vancouver on route to Asia. However, I was really surprised that right from check- in, to room quality, free wifi, comp breakfast and airport shuttle all for $80. How can they do that. I own a small hotel in Costa Rica and was very impressed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinsito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keremeos, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Booked the hotel, in advance. flight from interior was cancelled on day of hotel stay. hotel stated 24 hour prior notice was needed to cancel!!!!!!!!
How do you cancel 24 hours ahead, when a flight is cancelled by the airline.?????????

So called manager was very rude, and what manager answers all incoming calls???????

Pretty shady practice

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had a pretty good stay at the hotel. On arrival at the airport I called for the shuttle. I was told that the shuttle wasn't operating and that we should take a red cab and have the driver come in to the hotel for payment. It was impossible to get a red cab so we grabbed another cab that could fit us in. I didn't want to stand in the rain all night. On checking in, the person at the desk told me to talk to the manager in the morning about the cab. They paid me the flat rate that they get from the hotel which was very fair. I was happy with that. The park in the back of the hotel is very nice and the proximity to the mall is good. Breakfast in the morning was good. The stairs are not usuable because they are locked. Waiting for the only elevator to go up one floor was teidious.

Room Tip: Room at the back is what we had which was quiet. sounds like street rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Charlotte
Level Contributor
272 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Quality Inn backs on a quiet and beautiful park; to make the most of your experience, book a room on the back side, away from the noise of Westminster Highway and the excellent Foggy Dew pub across the street. Top floor, middle, back is the quietest, best option.

Rooms are small but comfortable, but the lone elevator makes every entry and exit very time consuming. There's parking included, in a garage with tiny, cramped spaces, or on the laneway behind the hotel.

The Quality Inn free breakfast was adequate, but uncaringly presented. We stayed two nights, and both mornings, there were no bowls. The same cereal (and jug of milk?) sat unused because cheerios don't work well on a plate! They also wash and reuse their plastic utensils. How tacky is that?

The area around has many good ethnic restaurants, most Asian, but including Greek and other cuisines. The Richmond mall is a block away, and has everything you need. There are many small shops nearby as well.

This is a perfectly acceptable hotel that could improve to match its location with a few minor improvements.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Really really clean hotel. Rooms had plenty of space. Just a couple comments, one is parking there really is a limited amount of underground parking which is very tight I would recommend a small car. The other is it does sit on a fairly busy road that can get noisy. So if your a light sleeper get a room that faces away from the main road.

Room Tip: Get a room that is away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Airport South

Property: Quality Hotel Airport South
Address: 7228 Westminster Hwy, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing