We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible stay, actually we can't stay there for a single night, and they feel no guilty of that” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“terrible stay, actually we can't stay there for a single night, and they feel no guilty of that”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

It's my first time to experience such terrible situation for a 3.5 rated hotel.
there is no micro-wave, no refrigrator, and we were arranged to a distant room far away from lobby where they declared they can provide such facility, AND, there is a quite noisy vending machine beside our room(a broken one since we found other vending machine don't make that kind of noise at all), AND, the room is quite old, the door has a obviously big crack around the lock, don't know what happened to this room in the before. We felt big discrimination for the arrangement and unhelpful clerk from front-desk. They can't move room for me, they were even told me microwave is not a problem, then told me they don't provide microwave at all when I call them again and ask when I can get it.
We booked for two nights, but we just can't stay for a single night at all since my son was crying for the noise and my wife is crazy about the terrible experience of this so called ' luxury hotel'.
tried to call the direct line number listed on the website, just get a voice mail message, left voice mail and get no returned call. called again to their front-desk. the so called manager Jonathan was rude and don't even want to listen why I leave. Felt big discrimination just because I booked it through hotwire for a cheaper price, still not cheap for the room& service.

Stay away from them!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripInNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    224
    121
    75
    49
See reviews for
183
145
42
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for one night, April 18th, 2013. It was the worst place we have ever stayed. We arrived late with 4 big suitcases as we had just arrived home from Hawaii, we had a wondeful holiday there. When we checked in we were very tired and hungry, the desk clerk stuck us on the first floor which would have been okay, but our room was a long ways from the front desk. We struggled down hallways through 2 sets of heavy doors that don't stay opened, you needed a map to find the room. We dropped off our luggage and headed for the Shark Club for something to eat, excellent. The room was freezing all night and in the morning, even though the heat was turned up as high as it would go. Early in the morning we were woken up by the housekeepers talking and banging around, not very considerate. We could also hear other guests talking and the blow dryer going, not sound proof at all. We found a cheerio on the carper, yuk!
Needless to say this place is terrible and we wouldn't recommend it. We got out of there as fast as we could. We checked out at 9am, told the desk clerk this was the worst place we have ever stayed at, the room was freezing and not clean, housekeepers noisy, not sound proof, she couldn't have cared at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henderson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin J, General Manager at Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am disappointed to learn that your time with us was well below the expectation that you have come to expect from the Sandman Signature Hotel & Resort Vancouver Airport. Certainly, this is not typical of the level of accommodation and service for which our hotel is well known for, and I wish to extend our sincere apologies for your discomfort and inconvenience.

As it seems that our on-duty staff member was unable to resolve your concerns to your satisfaction, I would invite you to contact my office directly so that I may work with you to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

I look forward to hearing from you...

Sincerely,

Franklin Jackson
Executive General Manager
Direct line: 604 276 1144
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Staff at the Sandman Signature are exceptional. Recently I stayed with my 2 year old son who loves planes. They provided us an amazing room on the 20th floor with stunning views out to the North Shore mountains and overlooking the airport. Everything was accommodated for. The Balcony proved to be a major attraction as we sat out in the wonderful warm night air. The soundproofing in the rooms is very impressive. I was astounded that you couldn't hear any airplane noise at all. The waterslide was great fun!!
I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The Columbia Tower has amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CriticalDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

booked this hotel on hotwire so it was a book for a good price and then find out which hotel you get..the hotel itself is modern ,clean and with helpful front desk staff....our room was on floor nine in one of the towers....there was free Wi-Fi but it was slow....they could also update the tv sets in the rooms too..........the airport shuttle was handy and fast...all in all not a bad hotel..its a little out of the way of good restaurants

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richie5817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I keep coming back to this hotel in Vancouver. A great value (coporate rates!) and good location for me to connect on routes heading to either downtown, PoCo, Surrey, or Annicis Island. The proximity to the airport would work well for anyone needing a close place to stay...regular airport shuttles would eliminate the need for a taxi or car rental.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a good stay. The staff was polite and efficient. The hotel commands a good view of the surrounding area so a high floor should afford views of the city and/or mountains.

Room for improvement:
* The window/sliding door was dirty.
* The room was a dusty. I am not sure if it was the curtains or the carpet.
* The hotel showed signs of recent renovation, but the contractor did not do a good job. For example, the new flooring in the bathroom did not align with the tub, therefore an inch or so of the old flooring stuck out. Also, the bathroom sink faucet rubs against the wooden back splash. Lots of little stuff like that indicates quality control was not important.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night before our trip to the caribbean and one night following. We had two adjoining rooms in one of the towers on the tenth floor and then on the fourteenth floor when we returned from our trip. The rooms were large, clean, quiet, the beds were very comfortable, there is free parking and a free airport shuttle.

The hotel is modern, well maintained and affordable. The kids enjoyed the pool, water slide, and hot tub, there is also a small gym and sauna. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay here again anytime we need to fly out of Vancouver.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
East Cambie
Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
Travelodge Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort

Property: Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort
Address: 10251 St. Edwards Dr, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 2M9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, Relaxation, and Comfort await you at the Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort. Located just minutes from Vancouver International Airport, the property is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests will be greeted with exceptional services and amenities including luxurious rooms, complimentary high-speed Internet access and airport shuttle, indoor Swimming Pool, Hot Tub & 225 foot long water slide, fitness centre, Indoor Tennis, and Squash Courts. By harmonizing our legendary Sandman Service and Amenities with fresh contemporary design, our guests will experience a refined yet unpretentious quality reflected in the details and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Signature Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing