We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed with the ribs”

Moxie's Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Moxie's Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 921 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Bridgeport
Description: Moxie's Grill & Bar Richmond, a casual restaurant featuring full menus and bar, near the Vancouver-Blaine Highway and Vancouver International Airport. Open late.
Golden, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not impressed with the ribs”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Attached to the Sandman hotel, Moxies is convenient for the traveller. But we were very dissatisfied with the food. My traveling companion and I both ordered the ribs. Dried out, overcooked, with remnants of burnt sauce. Came with stuffed potato which was good, but the seasonal vegetable was diced sweet potato. Huh? Had a lime margarita which was decidedly one of the worst that I have ever been served. If you have to stay there order an appy and lots of beer to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogtooth1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    85
    43
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“terrible experience”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a few times as I stay in the hotel next door most times I'm in town. I can honestly say that I have never been a big fan but to their credit the kitchen is open late and I have had a decent steak here before. But the food portions are so small I have to go to the a & w for a burger after dinner, but I,m used to small portions here in Canada. we seem to just except the fact that we are being ripped off, as prices go up and portions get smaller.
Anyways went in around 11 pm for a late dinner, and the place had maybe ten people there, the waitress started out ok got us a couple of drinks and than took our order for an appitizer to share, I said we needed more time to decide for our main dishes. well that was the last time we saw her. She clean table all around us served the table of 5 next to us all the while our appy plate was empty aswell as our beers and the two waters. maybe twenty minutes later she rudely says to me do you want to order anything else or should I get you the bill.I replied why are u ignoring our table we wanted to order lots more twenty minutes ago but now we are honestly a bit put off and think maybe we should just getpay the bill. I tell upon bringing the debit machine that we are going to get dinner somewhere else nearby and She burst into laughter,, says I'll get the manager and walks away. The manager comes over starts with an apology and and says "oh it's to bad you already paid your bill I would have given you a discount". So instead she comes back with two shots of yagermiester. I don't drink hard alchohal and I'm a forty year old man and this is not some college bar on spring break. so I just got up and left and will never go back. terrible restaurant that only hires young tarts who spend more time socializing with each other than doing their jobs. So much for getting dinner at the hotel before flying out the next morning. moxies is nothing special, overpriced generic food and drinks that I could make better at home. We walked down the street to the shark club and had a great meal with great service, don't waste your time or money, at moxies when there is a better restaurant two minute walk down the street. Like most chain generic restaurants in the Vancouver area you fail. now off to Vegas for some real hospitality experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stanvanisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse,Yukon
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great meal..great service..great value”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We received absolutely great service from the staff immediately upon entering the premises. The food was wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Surprised by the quality for a restaurant chain. The food was tasty and the service was excellent. Prices are in the mid-range.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gdl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food/Service”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Food was consistent with what you expect from Moxie's. it is well prepared and good quality. The service was very good and the staff were friendly and accommodating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendym001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moxie's Grill & Bar also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Moxie's Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing