We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront hideaway!”
Review of Mandalay Lounge and Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mandalay Lounge and Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Steveston
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Waterfront hideaway!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We experienced the Mandalay recently because of an attractive promotion. It worked! We returned not long after our first visit, to experience another great sunset meal, delivered with friendly service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steveston_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hard to find or phone”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

1 - Making phone reservations was awful. I tried multiple times over the course of a month before they answered the phone. If I didn't have a gift certificate I would've given up. Also, their hours aren't posted anywhere online or in their phone message when you call. They ARE posted by the entrance to the restaurant but seem to be closed randomly as well.

2 - Hard to find the entrance (its around behind the Hog Shack - follow the red elephant footprints).

3 - They have a wonderful fruit flavored beer that I'm glad the waitress recommended to me.

4 - While my husband loved his Chicken Tagliattelle, my Seafood Tagliattelle's mussels seemed undercooked & my cream sauce had a very gritty texture (almost like I was eating shell pieces)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blonde_bond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view, great food!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We reserved a table for a Sunday late afternoon and got a table with an amazing view of the water. We were treated to fantastic dinner including steak and seafood. Our waitress was extremely pleasant and she made perfect menu recommendations. Athough this restaurant is not visible from the roadside, take the time to search out the entrance and stop for a meal. It wasn't extremely busy the evening that we were there but it may be best to try to make a reservation. Well worth the money!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Traveller_Van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancovuer, BC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place Nice location”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Right on the river so its a beautiful view. the only traffic you see are the boats going by. It around back of the building so the street traffic is hidden away. Nice atmosphere and decor.
I tried the pork chop special. Nothing special about it. My wife had the butter chicken and loved it. Pretty good value though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adamandtaly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in Steveston”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

They are located right on the water with amazing view. Great patio space for warm weather and beautiful decorated interior. They have friendly service and yummy food. All the seafood we order is fresh and delicious and steak is well cooked. Making phone reservation is hard because usually no one answers. We'll be back again for the food for sure!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandalay Lounge and Steakhouse also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing