We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food with mixed service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tandoori Kona

Tandoori Kona
Ranked #66 of 883 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East Cambie
Vancouver
Level Contributor
447 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with mixed service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Went there on a Friday night and arrived around 6pm. Within 15 minutes the place was full and a line formed at the door. A steady stream of take out customers coming in and out.
We ordered several orders of butter chicken and a combo plate which lets you choose 3 entrees for $1 more. All dishes were just excellent and include rice, naan and papadom. Dishes all about $13.
Service was a bit of a miss. They forgot our drink orders twice but did keep checking in on us. I know it was really busy.
Still would go back as the food was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LLHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Indian Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The service was slow and the food was average. I took my fiance to have his favorite food here and it turned out to be a dissapoiting experience for the both of us.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Got takeout here and holy, was I surprised. For $26.00 I think I got 7 lbs of food! A huge order of butter chicken, a huge order of rice, a huge order of aloo gobi and naan bread. There was enough to FEED a family of four. I swear it was so good I ate so much I couldn't sleep. You should definitely eat this food. I will be back here if I find myself in Richmond again. Wow, not disappointed at all!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthVan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in Canada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I found this restaurant in 2009 and am obsessed with it. In fact, when I first found it I dined there 5 of 7 days.
I live in Ontario and visit BC often as a close friend lives there. The last time she visited me I asked her to bring me some Kona on the plane and she obliged. And I was super happy to find that I had a four hour lay over recently in YVR so I could see my friend and get my Kona fix.
They have the best butter chicken I have ever tasted. It is soft, moist, flavourful and with just enough spice (they do ask if you want mild, medium or hot when ordering). Portions are large enough for sharing, though I would bathe in this stuff if I could.
Service is great and the place is a little dated but the food is out of this world.
If I could marry their butter chicken, I would.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina_Moorshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food but Very Slow Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We ate here on a Saturday night with reservation. The tiny restaurant was packed with people waiting for table and waiting for take out. All their dishes are delicious, but we have to wait for over an hour for the food to come. Make sure you make a reservation before eating here or else the wait will be even longer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Kona also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Tandoori Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing