We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace be with you...”

International Buddhist Society (Buddhist Temple)
Ranked #5 of 108 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The International Buddhist Temple is one of the largest Buddhist temples in North America, housing the largest Buddhist statue on the continent and the largest Buddhist mural in the world.
san francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Peace be with you...”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wonderful place to spend a morning or afternoon.

Classic Chinese Buddhist architecture, with a shiny gold Buddha, beautiful tiled walls, & serene landscaping.

There is a restaurant which serves a delicious vegetarian lunch.

Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2-4dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    46
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,365 reviews
679 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 804 helpful votes
“Very calming in a busy world”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I do not see the excellent Thrangu Tibetan Style Monastery mentioned in Trip Advisor, but this is just a short drive from there (8140 No5 Rd) and equally spectacular on every level, just different.
The property is quite large. The architecture is magnificent. The statuary unfathomably wondrous, intricate, healing. There were not a lot of people there when we arrived about 3:00pm, we walked leisurely throughout the grounds. I took 147 pictures. Really! There are areas where photography is forbidden, though I used a sneak shot for my Buddha picture. There is a Zen Restaurant open until 3:00 that we missed, but looked quite serene and lovely. We let the peace and tranquility permeate ourselves and left much calmer, and ready for the return drive to Surrey.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tranquil Visit”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Soothing experience from the moment we parked. Disabled member of our party was treated with kindness and needs were immediately recognized and accommodated. Great place for information and education on Buddhist history and philosophy. We were invited for lunch being served in several locations, but politely declined. Gardens are serene, but gravel is difficult to walk on--wheelchair could not roll over the stones.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Other Buddhism”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Bright and over-painted Chinese Buddhist experience. Nuns are gems. The lunches (usually free) are simple but great. The information is mostly in Chinese, but some in English. Feels like an over-developed Buddhist, perhaps hot house, rather than a zen or Tibetan experience. So if you like your buildings a bit too bright and your decorations a bit too numerous, this is your spot.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank KyotoBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
792 reviews
292 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“very nice, thoughtful, serene,”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Highly recommend whether you are or are not religious.Serene, calm, tranquil, thought provoking.Beautiful and very nice to walk the grounds.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KweqSmanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Buddhist Society (Buddhist Temple) also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to International Buddhist Society (Buddhist Temple)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing