We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wonderful walk”

Britannia Shipyards National Historic Site
Ranked #10 of 108 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tour of this old shipyard will acquaint you with the area's rich maritime history.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful walk”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have not been there is years and wow what a place they really take care of the grounds it is a perfect place to go walking with your family

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jess j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    48
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Evening Trip”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We wanted to do something local one evening and were delighted to find the shipyard. Self touring very easy and the history of the area is well displayed and very interesting. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rlamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice scenery”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

excellent place to spent time with the kids, have pictures, or just walk alone on the river shore.
very clean, historical, beautiful gardens.
There is a clean washroom on the site.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LooveCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to photograph”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We added this location as part of a camera club photo excursion - everyone was impressed with the historical buildings and we all captured some excellent images. Lots of great textures in the old weathered building and equipment. We visited in the early morning and in a slight drizzle so there weren't too many people around. Watch out for dog droppings if you go off the trail and onto the grass!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tripjimbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Trip Back in Time”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This historic attraction is one not to miss. I am a local and find it more interesting each time I go. All the renovations to bring this Ship Yard back to the days of 'when' has all been done by volunteers. The building are historic sites and have been kept in place to allow them to keep the status.

If you are going to Steveston don't miss this attraction.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Shipyards National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Britannia Shipyards National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing