We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Afternoon for the Whole Family”
Review of Steveston EcoTours

Steveston EcoTours
Ranked #3 of 10 Tours in Richmond
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Steveston EcoTours offers Vancouver's best small group Marine Wildlife Adventure Tours. We depart from the Historic Fishing Village of Steveston, in Richmond, B.C., thirty minutes from downtown Vancouver, through the Fraser River Estuary, and to BC's spectacular Gulf Islands. Special tours each season! View magnificent WHALES, SEA LIONS, SEALS, PORPOISES, EAGLES and SEA BIRDS, in their spectacular natural environment. Our 12 passenger limit means you receive your Captain's personal attention!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This 3 hour getaway was the perfect afternoon with my young girls. The scenery was beautiful and the close interaction with the sea lions and sea birds still has the kids talking weeks later! Bruce, our guide was knowledgeable, friendly and brought even a bit of charm and wit to a perfect afternoon. Highly recommended for all ages.

Thank TKIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steveston_tours, Owner at Steveston EcoTours, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Steveston EcoTours of the Fraser River Estuary are a great opportunity for families to spend some time together in a beautiful setting. We share our knowledge of this special ecosystem, in ways children (and adults!) of all ages can enjoy and understand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

Picture a perfect early summer evening at high tide near the mouth of a huge river. Many picturesque old buildings and moorage sites along the river with wonderful long range views of mountains on the north shore and over on Vancouver Island. The commentary and guide experience was also first rate. The captain (Bruce) was very informative and lively throughout the tour. The boat was clean and orderly and very professionally run with a strong emphasis on safety. My every memory is positive and I plan to take English friends out for a similar tour when they arrive. I would change nothing of the expeprience. dave

Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steveston_tours, Owner at Steveston EcoTours, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

The Historic Fishing Village of Steveston, at the mouth of the mighty Fraser River, has several unique historic sites viewed from the water on a Steveston Ecotour, including two National Historic Sites of Canada! These attractions share the Steveston Harbour with nesting Bald Eagles and other marine birds, as well as Harbour Seals and the occasional Sea Lion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

During a recent visit to Vancouver, I wanted to experience the Gulf Islands with limited free time. Steveston Eco Tours was recommended as a way to do that.

We set off under sunny skies from the beautiful setting in Steveston, which includes a wonderful assortment of boats, buildings, businesses and condos. Captain Bruce demonstrated his deep knowledge and passion for the local history, giving a running dialogue as we headed toward the open waters of the Strait of Georgia. Once clear of the jetty, we enjoyed a smooth, comfortable and quick run across the strait to my destination at Valdes Island. Once there, Bruce found a convenient location to let me step off the boat and begin my time exploring the island. What a peaceful and beautiful place, with postcard-like views from the Sunshine Coast of BC to the mountains of Washington State. Time passed too quickly before I had to return to the mainland and a schedule flight home. Bruce was waiting for me at the appointed time, and we retraced our route to return to Steveston. Along the way there was more conversation about both the Gulf Islands and the variety of wildlife that inhabit the area all during the year.

All in all it was a great trip. Bruce is an experienced operator who obviously enjoys both what he does and the setting he gets to work in.

Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steveston_tours, Owner at Steveston EcoTours, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

In 2013, our guests will be able to extend their visit to the Gulf Islands, with an overnight stay at our EcoLodge on Valdes island. Catering choices will be available, plus a number of adventure options to learn more about this unique ecosystem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

we were treated to wine and appetizers as we waited to launch from the steveston dock..a few interesting stories about the neighbourhood and the long history of the fishing village was only the begining of the lore our knowlegeable guide would share with us on this 2 to 3 hour excursion of the adjacent waterways. the boat is smalish in size but this is a plus as you sense that you are close to the water and can experience an intimate connection with the sea life and surroundings..an eagles nest here , a blue heron there.. a stop at a local pub on the water in an area replete with house boats and an array of oldr unique bungalows on the water is an option i recommend.

Thank pquelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steveston_tours, Owner at Steveston EcoTours, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Club tours are a great - and special - way to enjoy meetings with your colleagues! Booking our Ecotour boat gives your group a private setting to relax together, and enjoy a relaxing tour of the Fraser River Estuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Steveston Eco Tours, is like a boutique amongst big box stores. You can work with the friendly owner/captain to create a trip that will suit your budget, interests, and time-frame. There are no scheduled whale-watching trips with 30 other people... and that is a good thing! This isn't for people who want to chase whales around the Strait of Georgia, but it is for people who want to explore the stories and history of the Strait, the Gulf Islands, and the Fraser River, while seeing many native bird and animal species along the way.
We have chosen Steveston Eco Tours twice now, for giving our out-of-town friends a real taste of the West Coast. We love how the group size is small (six passengers) so that we could chat with the captain and each other comfortably and privately! For both tours, we explored a bit of the Fraser River, and Captain Bruce pointed out historic buildings and different birds. Then we went out across the Strait and over to the Gulf Islands. Our friends loved seeing sea lions and nesting eagles. One group of our friends was lucky enough to be here during the salmon bonanza of 2010 (September) and the fish were literally jumping like dolphins all around the boat. Captain Bruce stopped the boat and let us take many pictures, and it was just an incredible experience. I live in Steveston and have never seen anything like it. Whenever we have friends coming to Vancouver to visit from other cities and countries, we'll try to include Steveston Eco Tours on their itinerary!

Thank MJLVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steveston_tours, Owner at Steveston EcoTours, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Your Steveston Ecotour saw one of the biggest runs of spawning Sockeye salmon to go up the Fraser River in years! Truly a magnificent sight! Many of our Steveston Ecotours do see the various whales that inhabit our area, including Orcas, Humpback, Grey and Minke whales. If we know these whales are in the area, we will design our tour route to give a good chance for our guest s to view these fabulous marine mammals in their natural environment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steveston EcoTours also viewed

 
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Steveston EcoTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing