We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, relaxing atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PIER 73 Restaurant

PIER 73 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
PIER 73 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 885 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Canadian, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Russ Baker Way
Transit: Near the Bridgeport Skytrain Station
Description: Nestled on the banks of the Fraser River, with floor to ceiling windows and a magnificent view of the river, North Shore Mountains, Mt. Baker and the Cascade Mountain Range and overlooking our 138-slip marina, Pier 73 is the idyllic setting for cocktails and casual dining amid contemporary vernacular British Columbia design. Dine indoors or outdoors on our spacious seasonal deck. Our chefs are leading the revolution in "Farm to Table" restaurants in Richmond, capitalizing on ethically raised animals, sustainable seafood, and local produce from harvest to storage and processing to ensure freshness and quality. We are proud to use family owned suppliers of local products where ever and whenever possible.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice location, relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ate there twice in the last 2 days. Food is pretty decent - menu is standard pub fare.
Service was very good both times - staff are friendly and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NormSRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, Manager at PIER 73 Restaurant, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Good Evening Norm,

Your starting to become a regular!!! Norm thanks for spending two days dinning with us at Pier 73 Restaurant. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, service. I couldn't ask for much more. Our menu is currently being worked on hard by our Chef's and team to give a little twist to the standard pub fare, and this menu will launch the end of May.

Thanks for taking the time to write your review on your experience on TripAdvisor for others to see. I do look forward to welcoming you back to the Pier next time, and hopefully get the chance to meet you personally.

Sincerely,
James Addington
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    234
    72
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went there for Easter Brunch. When we called ahead for a reservation it sounded like they'd be busy. When we got there we could only see eight tables occupied. It was a beautiful day, so the scenery was nice. Waitress was full of personality but seemed more suited to a truck stop diner in her manner. I do commend her for her efforts at customer satisfaction though.
Food was really the problem. Very bland. Hard to screw up eggs and bacon, but the hash browns were totally tasteless. No one at our table finished their meals. Food there really needs an overhaul.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank willowinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, Manager at PIER 73 Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Good Evening Willowinme,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent visit to Pier 73 Restaurant. I do apologize that the overall experience was unsatisfactory while dinning with us. This is definitely not the experience that we want to provide for yourself or any of our guests. As well I apologize that you didn't find your server to be suited to our restaurant. However, we train our staff to provide high levels of guests satisfaction and service levels, and this is what makes an employee valued at our restaurant.

As for the food this is a unfortunate to hear. We have revamped our brunch menu prior to going into Easter weekend. However, we will take your feedback into consideration and ensure that we are seasoning properly and continue to monitor our guests feedback.

Again, I do hope you have an opportunity to dine with us at Pier 73 in the future and have a much more enjoyable experience.

Sincerely,

James Addington
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Westcoast Cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Westcoast has its own flavour, Westcoast has its own feel, Westcoast is Pier 73. Fabulous staff, top notch view - day or night, we arrived late afternoon and left early evening - lovely. The portions are fair and flavours delicious.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, Manager at PIER 73 Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Good Evening Bill,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Pier 73 Restaurant, this is fantastic news. Everyday we are trying more and more to gain the notice and loyalty of guests such as you so I appreciate your feedback.

The view won't change but we will try to control the weather. Hope to see you back at the Pier soon.

All the best and thanks for spending the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

James Addington
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We enjoyed dinner at Pier 73 prior to leaving on vacation. The steak was wonderful, cooked perfectly to our liking and the garlic mashed potatoes were great. Upon our return from our trip we enjoyed a snack late in the evening. The crab dip / taco chips and bread were very tasty. We'd order this again
We found the waitresses to be very friendly and service excellent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KLtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, Manager at PIER 73 Restaurant, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Good Evening KLtravelbug,

Thanks for your review on Pier 73 through TripAdvisor. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the steak and potatoes before you set off on your trip, and the dip on the way back. Hope that you enjoyed your trip in the middle of all that. :)

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pier before your next vacation or join us sometime in the summer just for some fun in the sun.

All the best,
James Addington
Food and Beverage Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I eat there several times a year and the food is always good, the service is friendly and helpful because so many of their customers are in transit and need to have a tasty, relaxed meal. I have always enjoyed the food - well-prepared and served, except once, when I ordered their special clam chowder soup and found it to be a watery disappointment, of quality much below a poor home cook. The other items I have had have been good, and after long flights, they should be.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank normpimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, Manager at PIER 73 Restaurant, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Good Evening normpimm,

Glad to hear that every time you make a trip to Pier 73 you enjoy it. Apologize to hear that the clam chowder hasn't been great in the past. We are currently in the process of developing our new menu to launch on May 22nd and switching up the chowder is in order.

Look forward to having you come and relax at the Pier again in the near future. All the best and safe travels.

James Addington
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PIER 73 Restaurant also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to PIER 73 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing