We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day on the water”

Steveston Seabreeze Adventures & Whale Watching
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.32*
and up
Whale-Watching Adventure
Ranked #1 of 10 Tours in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale watching company based out of the historic fishing village of Steveston, BC. We operate from April-October offering a variety of tours and fishing charters. Our 40-foot semi-covered vessels accommodating groups of 23 passengers, offering comfortable inside seating & unrestricted outside viewing. Tours are minimum of 3 to 5 hours and are professionaly narrated.Ask us about our shuttle services and guaranteed sightings!
Powassan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful day on the water”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We took an afternoon tour and had a great time. The morning trip did not find any whales so we were hesitant to even go. However, the crew received word through their whale watching network that there were a couple of humpback whales way off the coast of Victoria and they took us out there even though it is out of the range they usually travel. Our trip was stretched to 6 hours total, at no additional cost and I am truly grateful. Great service, great trip, the whales were amazing!! Oh, and they have FREE shuttle service from hotels.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EMDorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    50
    13
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loud & long with great service”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A couple of things you should know if you decide to go. The morning trip is for finding the whales. If you take the afternoon trip you can call ahead to see if they found whales or not. Please note if you take the shuttle they don't tell you they haven't found whales until you get there.

We called ahead and knew they hadn't found orcas on the morning trip but were told they found 2 other kind so we opted to go. We were on the boat that isn't orange and it was LOUD, they know and do offer you ear plugs, but even with the plugs it's loud. It's also a little slower boat than the orange one. Also note that the first leg of the journey to see the whales is in very choppy water.

We were out for 6 hours and saw one humpback whale. I give them credit because they took us as far as they legally could and they are very friendly and service oriented (that's why I gave them a 3). But, with so many things to do in the Vancouver area we wish we would have stayed at Stanley Park. If you are going to go whale watching I would use them because they were the only boats we saw with an indoors area, all the others you were outside the whole time and it does get cold.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaSaid45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Successful whale watching trip”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Thanks to the TripAdvisor forums we found out that we had a great chance to see Orca whales off Vancouver. After researching each operator we went with SeaBreeze and so glad we did! On the day we picked the weather had turned to a dull wet misty day but we were not down-hearted. The free shuttle came on time to pick us up from our hotel in Vancouver and took us to Steveston where they are based. The boat held 24 people and was under cover with a bathroom. They provided free coffee, bottles of water and granola bars but a lot of people also took packed lunches with them. It was very cold and rough once out on the water but the interesting facts from their girl on board was good at keeping our minds on the wildlife. We saw seal ions at one island inlet and then were privileged to see the pod of killer whales eventually. The weather was poor but did not dampen our spirits at seeing the whales breech out of the water! There were other boat trips out at the same time but they were not covered like ours and it looked pretty miserable and wet for them. Was glad I researched the various boats on offer!! Was glad we took warm waterproof clothing with us despite having weather the day before of 28 degs as you are outside to see and take photos. After we docked our bus was ready to take us back to our hotel. Was a long day with over 5 hours on the boat as they have to go quite far to find the whales but was worth every minute for the experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Italiandreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must do!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

These guys are awesome!! From the staff in the office to the guides and captains on the boats. I've been whale watching in this area before a few years ago with another company, but didn't really enjoy it as much as when I went out with Steveston Seabreeze Adventures. First of all they picked us up for free from our hotel in Richmond which I was not expecting. Secondly, their boats are great. You can get up and walk around, have some coffee, chat with other people, use their bathroom. They even have an upper viewing deck, so it gives you a different angle when you're watching the whales. I highly recommend going with these guys instead of going on the zodiak boats. You just have much more freedom and can get out of the elements if you need to. We saw a few zodiak boats out on the water, and everyone onboard them looked frozen. I kind of had to laugh a little. Oh, and they let you go again for free if you don't happen to see whales. We did, so all was good, but going out on the water through the beautiful gulf islands was worth it in itself. Again, highly recommended!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav_Abr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“It was a worthwhile”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was a worthwhile experience after having seeing them only in national geographic.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anuar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steveston Seabreeze Adventures & Whale Watching also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Steveston Seabreeze Adventures & Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing