We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a good old school field trip”

Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site
Ranked #2 of 108 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1894 in the historic fishing village of Steveston, the Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site is one of B.C.'s few historically intact canneries. The 121 year old cannery is now home to a museum commemorating the history of Canada's West Coast fishing industry from the 1870's to the present. Learn about our unique local history through interactive exhibits and activities for visitors of all ages!
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Like a good old school field trip”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We took our kids to the Cannery as part of a day trip into Richmond/Vancouver. It reminded me of what a good school field trip was like when I was a kid. Plenty of uniquely West Coast history passed on by the guide, Mark, who was terrific.The construction of the building is quite impressive, if you are into large timber buildings.
It was a good, cheap, way to spend an hour or two.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank adognamedrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gogcannery, Guest Relations Manager at Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and tour of the Cannery. We do have many schools that come to take part in our school programming, so we like your comment that a visit feels "Like a good old school field trip" very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    119
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A really neat place to visit”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Some of the most interesting museums are those built in facilities that formerly did whatever they are presenting, and this is once such place. Its a very rustic building as one would expect, and quite fascinating to see the old equipment and get a sense of the historic BC fishing and canning industry. Would be great for a family visit and also for photography.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A bit of west coast history”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Education on northwest coast fish processing industry form salmon to sardines. I only know of one other cannery like this and it's in Port Edward near Prince Rupert.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mechanic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“something to learn for my kids”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

it was ok. my 2 kids liked it to learn about history of fishery around Fraiser River and cannery. no more to say. no more to say.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank seigo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gogcannery, Guest Relations Manager at Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of our site. We are glad to hear that your children enjoyed learning about the local fishing history and the cannery. That is exactly our mission -- to preserve and present the history of Canada's west coast fishing industry! Since you last visited, we have updated our Kids' Activity area with many more interactive games and activities related to fishing -- hope you will come visit us again with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kids with interest in history will beg to return”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My boy would visit every weekend if we said OK. I'll admit that his opa (grandpa)worked here some 70 years back, which may have resulted in some internal response. That said, he enjoys going through everything each and every time we visit, and spends at least 45 minutes in the crafts section making something for me, or my wife. The price is reasonable, and even more so if you combine with the Fort Langley exhibit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CeeCeeVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing