We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Britannia Shipyards”

Steveston Heritage Fishing Village
Ranked #1 of 108 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A 19th-century frontier seaport is reborn more than 100 years later into a picturesque working fishing village.
Woody Point, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Britannia Shipyards”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Gorgeous sunny day to spend in Steveston. The waterfront boardwalk with renovated 19th C stilt houses was so charming. I imagine it would be crowded in summer or in August when the Maritime Festival is held. Great area for bike riding. The docks have some tantalising seafood restaurants but we enjoyed take away fish and chips and were even visited by a Bald Eagle!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    349
    45
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint and Delightful”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great Fish and Chips there. Lovely place to visit on a sunny day.
Saw the tall ships there when they came to the area, incredible.

Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Quaint fishing village all grown up”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have been visiting Steveston since childhood prior to its presence on the tourist map. I was always struck with the charm of this place--fishermen hawking their catch at their docked boats, the cannery, Pajo's shack off the jetty. The place still oozes charm despite the influx of restaurants and shops.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldWanderer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting stop”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We just had a brief visit here to buy some fresh fish off the boats, and have dinner. We bought some great fish from Hillisbros. boat, and they were very nice supplying us with a styrofoam cooler and throwing in a few extras! We will definitely return when we have more time to explore Steveston further.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cariboogeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I am one of the lucky people to call Steveston home. It is by far the best place in Richmond to live. Whether you are out for a stroll through the village, getting fresh vegetables, heading to the docks for the catch of the day right off the boat or looking for somewhere to go for dinnr , the village is the place to be!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steveston Heritage Fishing Village also viewed

 

Been to Steveston Heritage Fishing Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing