We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for an in-town gateway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed May 17, 2006

Nice place to stay near the Vancouver Airport. The restaurant has good food. I would recommend it for couples looking for a romantic night.

Stayed: January 2006
7  Thank JAHRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 368 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2005

We stayed in a standard double room in July and August, 2005. The rooms have the interior you find in most Sandman Hotels and were well maintained. Bathroom size is above average. The pool is small and cold, but on a warm summer day still welcome. The best thing about the hotel is the Moxie's Classic Grill, which is always busy and has great food!

7  Thank robbertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Honolulu, HI
13
Reviewed July 23, 2005

First, this is a terrible place to locate.

Second, the air conditioning in our room was so plugged there was no air coming out. We had three rooms, two of the three the air conditioning was terrible and the third I was told was tolerable.

When I spoke with the front desk night manager, he suggested I wait until the day manager came in or call the manager later. We stayed here because we had an early morning flight, but because it was so hot we didn't get any sleep anyway.

Also, since I'm grumbling the room did not have shampoo.

On the good side the food at Moxie's was pretty good and it is conviently attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2005

We stayed here on two different days on either end of our holiday when we flew out of Vancouver Airport. We utilized their park and fly program as leaving our car here was cheaper than the park and fly at the airport. It basically cost us 25.00 to leave the car (as opposed to about 50 at the airport). We were on the third floor going out and on the fourth floor coming back.

The rooms were quite large. There were more than enough toiletries. There were also 4 towel sets. So often in other hotels there are only 3 sets, even when there are two beds and we end up having to ask for one more. The bathrooms were huge. Both rooms overlooked the parking lot, but we liked that as we were able to see our car.

We used the pool the first night and found it very refreshing. They had run out of towels, but housekeeping is just down the hall and they were happy to give us some. There is also an exercise room, but we didn't use it (too lazy!).

This is a busy hotel, since it is so close to the airport, so we always had to wait in line for both check-in and check out. But we always seemed to be second so the wait wasn't annoying.

We were not impressed with Moxie's, the restaurant in the hotel. This was nothing to do with the hotel though. We had to wait for 20-30 minutes for dessert. I think they must have been making the ice cream the old fashioned way. We spoke with management and they gave us a 40% discount. It wasn't our server, but I think they needed more staff in the kitchen.

The hotel has a free shuttle to the airport which was great. It only goes to one other hotel (Hampton) so it was very quick. Sandman is the first stop on the way back from the airport.

There is also a Tim Horton's just across Bridgeport which is open 24 Hrs a day and is very convenient if you have very late or very early flights.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Comoxbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
420
Reviewed July 10, 2005

Although the hotel is very convenient for the airport, it leaves much to be desired. Our room was in need of refurbishment - tired furniture, inadequate and noisy air conditioner. We had a room with two Queens, but the overall size was cramped.

When we arrived for a two night stay, there wasn't a case stand or even a "Do not Disturb" card in the room. We asked for two stands and a card. After some time one stand was produced, but we were told that they hadn't any cards left ! Our room was on the first floor one room away from the laundry. The cleaning staff left the laundry door wedged open onto the corridor for most of the day (couldn't really blaim them as it was so hot in there), and there was generally an unattended cleaning cart outside. Having said that the room was cleaned and made up well.

The phone calls were expensive (they charge for local and 1-800 numbers).

Roxio's - the attached restaurant - looked seedy and expensive. I would recommend any visitors to walk over to the adjacent Travelodge and use their restaurant - excellent value, pleasant staff, and a lovely room with vaulted ceiling.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
PEI
12
Reviewed June 8, 2005

The staff was pleasant but that was about it. They charged us 53 cents for every local call we made. The indoor pool was freezing and so on. We will never go back.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2005

I have only good things to say about this hotel. It is clean and modernly decorated. The staff are friendly and the hotel offers a free airport shuttle every 30 minutes. They provided an in-room coffee maker as well as complimentary tea, water, cookie and small bag of chips. In the morning I found a National Post at my door and they offered other complimentary newspapers at the front desk. Across the street from the hotel there is a Tim Hortons, Quiznos, A&W and Taco Del Mar so I never tried out the on-site restaurant. The price was very fair and parking was free. Sandman offered early booking rates on their website. I paid 70 CDN for one night in April and 74 CDN for one night in May for a small room with a queen bed. I would gladly stay here again.

Stayed: April 2005
5  Thank jiopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
Travelodge Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport

Address: 3233 St. Edwards Dr, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $113 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple 10 minute drive from Vancouver International Airport (YVR), Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport has easy access to downtown Vancouver, shopping, museums, and restaurants via the Canada Line SkyTrain, Vancouver's rapid transit line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Richmond
Sandman Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing