We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with Fun, Very Friendly and Helpful Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Great Hotel with Fun, Very Friendly and Helpful Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

No bad experience! Everything is excellent, they even have guest reception every Wednesday with good food and wines. All the staff are very friendly and very accommodating!! I highly recommend it!! I always stay here whenever i am in Vancouver area for business trip(which is almost every month), they also have a good restaurant within the property and which carries all or almost any beer in the world. They are close to the airport (YVR) for that early morning flights and have a free shuttle as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    216
    67
    17
    5
See reviews for
124
189
64
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed there September 2012. In the drop down menu, I selected January 2013, but only because that was the earliest option to select. The rooms were clean, and everything about the hotel was good. There was a McDonalds right next door too. It was kind of far from the main, downtown Vancover area. Since I rented a car, I just drove into the city, so I had no problem.

Although, my travelling partner has asthma, and I don't remember, but I think that this hotel allows dogs. We just asked for a no-dog room, and we were completely happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francinetutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have stayed here a few times, always booked through Hotwire. It's a newer hotel, so the rooms are spacious and everything works nicely; no nickel-and-diming on things like Internet and TV. Service at the front desk is good. There is an in-hotel bar & grill, and an IHOP, McDonalds and Denny's within easy walking range but for the most part this is out on the highway in Richmond. There is the free airport shuttle bus, and there is a public transit bus stop about 100m from the hotel, but if you're looking to be right in the heart of Richmond or Vancouver, this will not be for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This property is a very nice hotel for the moderate price. We chose the advance option booking to receive a free breakfast for up to two in the adjoining restaurant. The room was very clean and well appointed and the breakfast choices were excellent. The free airport shuttle will be the best reason to stay here because it was on time (hour and half hour from the airport and 40/10 after to the airport) and the driver was courteous and helpful. It took only 10 minutes to the hotel and the check-in was easy. We arrived at 8:00 and the only restaurants nearby are the adjoining hotel restaurant and a McDonalds (across the parking lot). We chose the McDonalds and were happy with the service and prices. We were meeting a cruise ship here and the transition to downtown was easy.

Room Tip: This tip is not about the rooms but rather about the train to downtown. If you take the free shuttl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmwalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel was booked by a tour company for a night stay before flying out the next morning. The room was fine and dinner at the attached restaurant was fine. On check-in, the hotel asked for a credit card imprint for incidentals. The next morning when I checked out, my statement showed a zero balance (the night stay was paid for by the tour company). Two days later a charge for the stay showed up on my credit card (I didn't find this out till I returned a couple weeks later when I returned from my trip). When I called to ask about the charge, I was told that the reason no charge showed up when I checked out was because they had charged me immediately on check-in (something no hotel has ever done). When I asked how come it didn't show up for two days on my credit card as a transaction, I was told that this was because they didn't charge my card till midnight the next day! When I asked if the tour company paid for any other rooms the night I was there, they said no, they hadn't. After contacting my tour company and filing a complaint with my credit card company, I did get a credit to my credit card. However it is clear that the management will make up the most absurd rationale to justify their actions and not assist you in trying to resolve problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ricardo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager3, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello,

I am very concerned by your comments and would like to have a chance to discuss with you so I can get more details to figure out who checked you in and out to determine what the next course of action to retrain our associates is. I am surprised to hear of the credit card imprint as we do not do credit card imprints we are 100% paperless.

I am happy to hear that the accommodation was fine and the restaurant worked for your needs.

If you could please email me at gmgr@hiyvr.com

Regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night after a midnight arrival at the airport. Was not expecting much as had not paid much through a discount travel site. Room was small (king bed) but very clean. Bed was comfortable, different types of pillows.

Parking was $5 (cheap for the area). Common areas were clean.

Breakfast was included and had lots of options – eggs, hash browns, bacon, waffles, pancakes, cereals, yogurt, bread and pastries.

For a quick stay, you can’t beat the price. In fact, it was about $10 more for this room than we paid for breakfast at a nearby hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

First the good. Rooms were very clean, they felt new and well kept. Breakfast at the a joining restaurant was very good, and the hotel staff was very helpful.
Now the bad. Check in took a ridiculous amount of time. I have no idea what the heck he was typing in that darn computer, but it seemed like he was writing a novel. He asked if we wanted one bed or two. My husband said one... BIG mistake! Utterly the worst bed I've ever slept in. Yikes. It was a Murphy bed and OMG it was horrible. Strange because it seems they put a lot of effort into granite counter tops in bathroom, first rate cabinets,drapes, a fairly decent tv, but the number one thing your there for ..SLEEP...seemed to be bottom of list. I also hate having the coffee maker in bathroom, it's just not sanitary. There was no shuttle to the south terminal which is where the seaplanes take off from. The last place we stayed did have that option. So all in all, we won't stay again.

Room Tip: Never accept a one bed room...or at least make sure it isn't a murphy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank platobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager3, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear about your mattress experience. Based on your comments we will be changing the bedding immediately. I am glad that you noticed how clean our rooms are and that you enjoyed your breakfast in our restaurant. I would like to speak to you if you could please send me your contact info so I may call you.

Thanks,

Andrew
G.M.

gmgr@hiyvr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport
Address: 10720 Cambie Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1K8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Holiday Inn to the Vancouver Airport. Award-Winning Richmond, BC Hotel Offers Excellent Service For a comfortable stay in a well-appointed hotel, come visit the 100% nonsmoking Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport Hotel in Richmond, BC. Our hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus to the nearby Vancouver International Airport (YVR). Our hotel's location in Richmond puts you in close proximity to both Richmond and downtown Vancouver. Minutes away from the Riverport Sport and Entertainment complex. Spend the day exploring the historic Steveston fishing village, Richmond Centre, River Rock Casino, or head to Vancouver to see Gastown, Chinatown and the beautiful North Shore Mountains. If you're on business in Richmond, BC, our hotel's northern location will give you easy access to McKesson, BC Lotteries, MDSI, CSA Airport Executive Park, Crestwood Corporate Centre, Key West Business Park and the businesses around Vancouver Airport. Our hotel also has 1,900 sq. ft. of meeting space, a business centre and a separate business floor to meet your needs. With amenities like gated parking, our Fogg n' Sudds on-site restaurant and the fitness centre , we go beyond regular hotels near Vancouver to give you the comfort you deserve. Every room has free high-speed Internet access, an iPod clock radio, a cable TV, triple-sheeted bedding and a workspace, ergonomic chair and two-line phone. Our Vancouver Airport hotel's staff looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing