We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Redondo Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice and comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This is a very nice hotel, the staff was friendly, helpful and they definitely speak English. We arrived early and did not expect the room to be ready for us. However, the hotel staff was kind enough to check us in and we were upgraded to a suite. The room was spacious and trendy with comfortable king size bed, a sofa bed and two flat screen TVs. The swimming pool area was clean and the fitness center has updated exercising equipment. Hotel parking was free to all hotel guests. Overall, I did not experience any problem and would stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaladeRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    351
    152
    77
    49
See reviews for
240
230
65
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

If this hotel's management wants to know the status of their desk department, I can sum it up right here. The desk clerks do a significantly better job than their manager. Actually, I should have written this review 3 years ago (when I stayed here), but I forgot so if since then there is a new desk manager, my apologies because this review is not about you. I stayed at this hotel because it was close to the airport, the rates were better than the Sheraton Four Points that I had previously stayed for two nights, and there was a shopping mall near by. I had asked for a room with 2 beds, but at check-in the manager told me the reservation said one, but had no problem with upgrading my family without any extra charge. The room was kind of congested with a queen size bed on one end and a king on the other....never seen that before. They should have just put 2 queens. Bathrooms clean and nothing fancy overall, but with the price we paid, don't expect 4 star amenities. Now as for the manager's demeanor, let's just say he really has no reason for speaking to his guests the way he did to my family. You ask him simple questions - because I'm a clueless tourist from the states remember - and he gives you attitude...I don't know why it's just those little roll your eyes movements, snooty tone of voice and sounding pushy over a question that can simple be answered within 30 seconds. Ex: Are there nearby golf courses you can recommend? ....There are plenty he says. Umm, how about just recommend 1 or 2 from your opinion? Oh and let's not forget what happened at check-out time. My mom asked him if we could store our luggage and when we came back to pick them up, she ask him if the wine we bought at the vineyard wasn't damaged, and he said of course not. Then a second later, I hear him chatty with one of the desk clerks saying, "What...she thinks I'm going to steal them?" We would not have tipped him if we knew he was going to make a smirky comments like that. I will give some accolades to the nice female desk clerk who went out of her way to suggest some things to do on my last day in Vancouver...personally, she should have been the desk manager at the time, but who knows, maybe she is now?! Since I am in the hospitality industry, no management should allow this type of employee run a department. Employees like this think they are too good to service any type of person. And if they think they're too good, they should go buy their own hotel, but until then, change the attitude or your company will replace you.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy5o4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGator, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Since the stay of this guest over 3 years ago, the Hotel has undergone an Ownership change and there have been changes in the Management as well. The new Ownership group completed a full renovation of the Hotel over the winter of 2007/2008 which has given the Hotel a whole new look which can be seen on the pictures of this website. We are sorry to read the comments of this guest so long after their stay and experiences and hope they will considering staying should their travels bring them back to the Vancouver area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We had a suite (that has a seperate bedroom) which was very comfortable and spacious. The hotel has been renovated in the last year and the rooms are done in a modern contemporary style with marble and granite bathrooms. LCD TVs in bedroom and sitting area. Bar fridge as well. Close to airport (5 min) and in the middle of a chinese neighborhood. Many excellent restaurants nearby. Complimentary breakfast in the hotel restraurant. Parking is available but you have to pay for it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waylaidback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed here 2 separate times. Both we needed travel to/from the airport. The shuttle driver was very friendly and accommodating-taking us to and from the south terminal as well.

The fitness room and pool are nice. The restaurant was a little pricey but the food was good. Overall, everything felt clean.

It was too bad that it wasn't closer to downtown Vancouver-but we needed it for closeness to the airport and that fit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mecanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Our entire family of 17 stayed at the Radisson July 2008 and the hotel overall was fine. All the rooms were newly remodeled in a modern decor.

Housekeeping staff was very nice and friendly and cleaned up the room very well daily. The front desk associates were decent - not 'excellent' in customer service, but they tried. We never encountered any rude Radisson employees.

Although the website says all rooms have microwaves and the hotel itself has laundry faciilities - it does not. A column of rooms towards the West side of the hotel do not have refrigerators or microwaves. Plus, none of the rooms have microwaves.

There are no general laundry facilities - only the hotel service which costs $2.35 to wash a pair of socks. However, there is a laundromat about 1 mile away, called EZ KLEEN, where I drove to do my own laundry.

Contruction was still going on during out stay but it didn't bother us. It is actually the contruction across the street that was noisy!
Ask for a room facing the mountains which will place you away from the sky train, plus you'll have a fantastic view of the mountains.

The fact that the hotel is right in the flight landing path was not a concern - the hotel is well insulated and you can't hear it. It was actually kind of cool to have the planes fly so close to our room - entertainment for us and the kids!

The hotel is located in an area with large asian population with many asian markets and good asian restaurants. There is also a large shopping mall right across the street from the hotel. It was very convenient to have the grocery store next to the hotel, because we had to purchase milk and snacks for my 2 & 5 year old kids.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Newly remodeled.
  • Disliked — No microwave in house and no self serve laundry facilites as noted on their website.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NC3SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

I stayed in room 1102 and loved it. There was an adjustable king bed (20 different firmness settings) and LCD TV. The entire look of the modern, well-appointed room just worked. I suspect it was recently renovated and would thus explain the big difference between my review and the others.

The renovations in the bathroom were less dramatic (the shower and toilet were definitely not changed), but it still had a bit of a new look and feel to it.

Light sleepers might find the planes overhead a bit challenging as the Radisson is virtually directly below a flight path.

Be forewarned: Richmond is a good 30-40 minutes from downtown Vancouver. A taxi will be pricey and a bus will take forever. But there's good news: a new SkyTrain line is being built and one of the stations will be across the street from the hotel. I think it will be completed by the Fall of 2009.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We got our room through Hotwire ($139 plus tax), so I didn't know what hotel it would be until after booking. After I found out and checked the reviews I was very concerned. I must say Hotwire was pretty responsive. They checked the reviews and expressed concern but said the hotel had been renovated so they thought the problems had been solved, and if not we could file a complaint afterwards.

We had a good experience there. The location was a little odd, but that's not unusual for an airport hotel. I read that parking could be a problem, but there was an event going on so we got to park for free right out front. Renovation was still going on in the lobby, but our room was nice and quiet, and the front desk people were friendly and helpful. There is an interesting mall right across the street geared towards Asian customers, and we enjoyed browsing there and had a great meal at a Thai/Malaysian restaurant recommended by a guy at the front desk.

I'm not sure all the problems have been solved, but I thought I should let people know we had a positive experience.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport

Property: Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Address: 8181 Cambie Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3X9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport is a deluxe, award-winning conference hotel near Vancouver International Airport. Also just a short drive from downtown Vancouver, the Radisson Vancouver Airport features amenities that include complimentary airport shuttle service, a fitness centre and a heated indoor pool. For added convenience, direct train transit to downtown is only steps away. We have been awarded a 4 Green Key Eco-Rating by the Hotel Association of Canada. The rating reflects many beneficial initiatives we have undertaken through a wide range of policies and practices that involve management, employees and guests. The rating also recognizes opportunities for our continuous improvement environmentally, socially and economically. Our hotel rooms a blend of style and comfort. Each room features a variety of amenities, including 32" LCD flat-panel TVs, complimentary Wi-Fi access and work desks. For those in need of meeting or social venue space, we have 16000 square feet of meeting space including a large foyer. All of the meeting space is on the same level in the hotel for ease of movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Radisson
Radisson President Hotel Vancouver Airport
Radisson Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing