We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a welcome oasis in the Vancouver Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a welcome oasis in the Vancouver Airport”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

we love Fairmont hotels, and this one didn't disappoint! We were very tired after 24 hours of traveling, and delighted to find out our room was ready for us when we arrived. We slept like babies in those wonderful Fairmont beds with their signature bedding, ready for the next part of our journey. Nothing compares to staying on the Gold Floor at the Fairmont…from a welcome cup of tea when you arrive, to canapés before dinner, to a gourmet breakfast before you leave. We were worried that it would be noisy right in the airport, but we didn't hear a thing in our room. I would definitely go back there again particularly if I am breaking up a trip, or if I have an early flight out of Vancouver in the morning and I want to avoid the traffic getting to the airport. We had a great dinner in the lounge sitting by the fireplace. The only thing we were disappointed with was the pool which was a small lap pool with about 3 feet of water in it. We really wanted to do some aquarobics and have a leisurely swim, but that was not possible in the lap pool. It also wasn't accessible. Other than that, we thought the hotel was wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your posting and your kind comments regarding your Fairmont Gold experience! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,170
    572
    92
    33
    22
See reviews for
684
989
307
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

In general i have an issue with the way that Fairmont hotels charge for extras - in particular email connection.No other hotel I stay with does this.
We stayed one night in a gold suite - where of course you don't have to pay extra, and one night with our son and partner in an ordinary room, before moving up to Whistler (where we stay at the Coast - free wi-fi and all!)
The convenience of this stop-over, the charming staff and the excellent bar-style meal they produced, as well as the excellent breakfast in gold level and ordinary - have won me over to this one!
So thank you all.
A note : Fairmont are one of the few hotel groups where you can still undercut their face room rates. Almost all the other groups will match discount rates if you phone them. Not the Fairmont. So if you're travelling midweek especially, or out of season its worth shopping around.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxontraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here for a night after a long flight, and before heading off to Whistler. This is an outstanding hotel and is really convenient, as you don't even have to step outside the terminal building to get to it.

The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and service outstandingly good. The buffet breakfast and service in the restaurant were also faultless. No noise at all - you wouldn't know you were at an airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NushNushandBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that we were a part of your journey up to Whistler. We have shared your kind comments with our team and hope to welcome you back on your next trip through YVR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed here for one night during my transit to south america.

room is tidy and clean. I expected some noise from the plane, but there is none.

Staff is helpful, friendly. Even the restaurant waiters are professional in serving a simple dish.

Gym is very advance in their equipment, all machines having screen are connected to internet, tv, tv games, etc. The phone inside the room is very advanced too, it has all the functions, which you could possibly ask for help

Room rate is not cheap. Room service is subjected to 16% service charges and extra CAD$5. The service time is late and very earily (0500). And you can order their light breakfast take-away too. So you don't need to worry that you do not have a good breakfast before your earily flight. Food quality is good.

You come out of the departure gate, turn left, you will reach it by less than 5 mins walk. Canadian customs always take time, and the airport is really big, even the hotel is so close, you should check out at least 1.5 hrs before the departure. Especially when your connect flight is a local city, and the destination is in another country, I would recommend 2 hrs. For big family, I would recommend 2.5 hrs.

For budget travellers, it might not be suitauble. Since I have a total flight time of over 31 hrs, I need a good comfortable stay-over in between, this price worths for me.

Room Tip: Any room within your budget, because you should not expect any special view from the room. You shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy_lui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Or just stay in this hotel and relax. This hotel is truly worth the money that they charge you for a nights stay. The bell hop will come and get your luggage when you arrive at the airport or assist you to your gate in the morning when you fly. The service at the front desk is absolutely excellent. Eating at the restaurant is superb as they offer an array of wonderful selections to satisfy anyones palate. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and every time we stay we enjoy a great sleep before or after we fly. If one obtains a parking pass on-line prior to flying and get it stamped by the front desk the parking fees are reduced to a better rate for ones long term parking needs. We both very much enjoy having a great sleep and being refreshed prior to flying.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share and post your recent experiences at The Fairmont Vancouver Airport. We are pleased that we have become a regular part of your travels and that you are able to enjoy our facilities. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

After a long flight with a 16 month old, my husband and I needed a place to rest before catching our connecting flight the next morning. I called the Fairmont YVR and they accommodated us right away. At check in, they gave us complementary bottles of water, tooth brushes, and toothpaste. I ordered a fruit plate and it took about 25 minutes to arrive, so they did not charge for it since it took so long!
The next morning we checked out and I realized at the security gate that I left my work phone in the room (my son was playing with it). We called them and they checked the room to find it. I was expecting to not have it for a few days while they sent it to us, but as we were sitting on the plane getting ready to take off, someone from the hotel managed to give it to the airline staff and I got it that day!!!
Staff go above and beyond to please their guests. I am blown away!!!

PS. The buffet is excellent and worth the price!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ETop28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your post and your kind comments about our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that our colleagues went above and beyond to assist you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I only stayed one night at this facility. We knew it was expensive, but chose it for its convenience for a one night stopover between flights. The price, all in, was just under $300. The decor is certainly above "cheap and cheerful", but certainly not sumptuously luxurious. We thought the louvered doors rather than solid doors on the bathroom to be a rather cheap and questionable design choice.

Sometimes it the little things that annoy travellers the most, and in this case I had a hard time accepting the $12+ charge for internet, given the already high price of the room, coupled with the fact that internet is free everywhere else in the airport.

More and more hotels are realizing that Free WiFi is becoming an expected feature. Why is it free with a $3 cup of coffee at Tim's, but $12+ with a $250-$300 hotel room? Today's social networking devices and are more important to many travellers than the television. Providing WiFi access in an upscale hotel should be an included item.

However this hotel also took the opportunity to manage to bill us (post checkout) for an additional $6.50 for the bottle of water that we had mistakenly thought to be complimentary. So their focus is clearly on revenue opportunities rather than guest satisfaction.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMC1086RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Property: Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Address: 3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#1 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel is the only soundproofed, luxury hotel and spa conveniently located within Vancouver's International Airport (YVR). Situated directly above the US departures terminal only a two-minute stroll from the luggage carousels. Sleep in luxury right above your gate and avoid shuttles. This AAA / CAA 4-diamond airport hotel features:- an extensive Health Club and Spa- soundproofed guestrooms- breathtaking floor-to-ceiling views- day use roomsThe Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel's award-winning, signature restaurant, GlobeYVR Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.Wireless Internet Access is available in all of our guest rooms and is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport
Fairmont Richmond
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Vancouver Airport Fairmont Hotel
Richmond Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing