We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey but comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pricey but comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My flight from YVR to LAX got cancelled, so United put me up in the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport for the night. I had to front the money and apply for reimbursement from the Airline. The hotel was over 300.00 for the night, and i had to pay to 15.00 for access to the internet - those were the two negatives that I can remember. The room on the other hand, was immaculate and nice. The bed was extremely comfortable, with plenty of drawer space. There was a desk lap and a large chair, as well as a shower and a huge tub. NO problems getting a good night sleep here. Overall, the cost is a bit much, but the quality of your stay is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplestyles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,129
    555
    91
    33
    22
See reviews for
679
967
295
610
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent one night in this hotel after Air New Zealand delayed our flight 24 hours.
Room was very comfortable and I loved the view across the runway and sea to the mountains! Was surprisingly silent considering there were 747s taking off outside! The staff were wonderful and very understanding about mine and a few other people returning from ski seasons financial situation (ie. no money left for tips haha, as we hadn't planned on another day in Canada so had shut our Canadian accounts etc.). The bar was great, good selection of local beers and good food, it was rather expensive for someone such as myself, but considering Air NZ payed for everything it was very, very enjoyable. Loved being able to check-in in the terminal then head back to the hotel to relax with a drink before checking-out and passing through airport security at the last minute. Would definitely return when im rich. Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryQ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stumbled into the lobby at midnight after two delayed flights from the East Coast of the US (so 3am for us). We were thrilled with the location--being able to just go up the escalator in the airport and be there was a treat. The bed was comfortable and the room was incredibly quiet especially given that we were overlooking the runways (which was kind of neat!). The weird slatted doors/windows in the bathroom did not allow for much privacy but the provided toiletries were quite nice. Breakfast was fine but not excellent and very, very expensive--more than $50 for the two of us to have rather weak coffees and eggs, bacon, and homefries; I make better at home for far cheaper. Overall the hotel was extremely expensive, but we were willing to pay for the location for one night (less than 9 hours total stay!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We chose this Fairmont hotel for our one night stay between flights because it is the only one which is situated within the airport and so was the most convenient. We have stayed in several Fairmont hotels in the past and all are admittedly expensive, but provide a consistently very high level of comfort, service and good food, so you get what you pay for when choosing Fairmont! The Fairmont beds are the most comfortable in any hotels we have stayed in and the breakfast buffet was excellent - good quality food and included just about anything you could possibly want. Housekeeping keep everything clean and tidy and the front desk and bell staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We are always confident that we will have a good experience when we choose Fairmont and this hotel is no exception. The President's Club is free to join and provides free wifi as well as various offers sent by email. We were also "uograded" to the Gold floor on arrival.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambersmum61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for business. Room was excellent and could not hear airport noise at all! We also used the restaurants for all meals. Very good. Convenient for the airport to wake up and walk right into the terminal. Will stay again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
173 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Swanky hotel in the airport with attractive rooms and amazingly sound-proofed. The problem is that it is laughably premium priced. Bottles of water in the room cost $6.50, staff encourage you to join the irritatingly named President's club: if you don't, internet charges are massive, and also charged for each machine you want to hook up to. Breakfast options very expensive too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan River, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Large hotel, right in the airport terminal next to US flight check in.
Clean rooms, big bathrooms, and surprisingly quiet given its proximity to the planes.
But at 240$ for one night in a regular room, you are paying for the location and the hotel is taking advantage of being the only one around. It's super convenient but pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idybidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Property: Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Address: 3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#1 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel is the only soundproofed, luxury hotel and spa conveniently located within Vancouver's International Airport (YVR). Situated directly above the US departures terminal only a two-minute stroll from the luggage carousels. Sleep in luxury right above your gate and avoid shuttles. This AAA / CAA 4-diamond airport hotel features:- an extensive Health Club and Spa- soundproofed guestrooms- breathtaking floor-to-ceiling views- day use roomsThe Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel's award-winning, signature restaurant, GlobeYVR Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.Wireless Internet Access is available in all of our guest rooms and is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport
Fairmont Richmond
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Vancouver Airport Fairmont Hotel
Richmond Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing