We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can't be beat, but you pay for it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stumbled into the lobby at midnight after two delayed flights from the East Coast of the US (so 3am for us). We were thrilled with the location--being able to just go up the escalator in the airport and be there was a treat. The bed was comfortable and the room was incredibly quiet especially given that we were overlooking the runways (which was kind of neat!). The weird slatted doors/windows in the bathroom did not allow for much privacy but the provided toiletries were quite nice. Breakfast was fine but not excellent and very, very expensive--more than $50 for the two of us to have rather weak coffees and eggs, bacon, and homefries; I make better at home for far cheaper. Overall the hotel was extremely expensive, but we were willing to pay for the location for one night (less than 9 hours total stay!).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,351 - 2,357 of 3,184 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We chose this Fairmont hotel for our one night stay between flights because it is the only one which is situated within the airport and so was the most convenient. We have stayed in several Fairmont hotels in the past and all are admittedly expensive, but provide a consistently very high level of comfort, service and good food, so you get what you pay for when choosing Fairmont! The Fairmont beds are the most comfortable in any hotels we have stayed in and the breakfast buffet was excellent - good quality food and included just about anything you could possibly want. Housekeeping keep everything clean and tidy and the front desk and bell staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We are always confident that we will have a good experience when we choose Fairmont and this hotel is no exception. The President's Club is free to join and provides free wifi as well as various offers sent by email. We were also "uograded" to the Gold floor on arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambersmum61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for business. Room was excellent and could not hear airport noise at all! We also used the restaurants for all meals. Very good. Convenient for the airport to wake up and walk right into the terminal. Will stay again!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Swanky hotel in the airport with attractive rooms and amazingly sound-proofed. The problem is that it is laughably premium priced. Bottles of water in the room cost $6.50, staff encourage you to join the irritatingly named President's club: if you don't, internet charges are massive, and also charged for each machine you want to hook up to. Breakfast options very expensive too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Large hotel, right in the airport terminal next to US flight check in.
Clean rooms, big bathrooms, and surprisingly quiet given its proximity to the planes.
But at 240$ for one night in a regular room, you are paying for the location and the hotel is taking advantage of being the only one around. It's super convenient but pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idybidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at this airport hotel several times since it was built. It is an excellent location to spend a night on arrival from a long flight or flying early in the morning. We never had a bad room in that hotel. But our favorite ones are facing the tarmac and the mountains. (all rooms are soundproof.)
Breakfast is excellent, so is dinner. If you just want to quick snack, take a short walk in the airport terminal and you will find something to eat.
We had to be downtown Vancouver the next day so we took Canada Line (a train built for the Vancouver Olympics in 2010.) After a smooth ride of 25 minutes, we are at the Waterfront.
We'll be back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and soundproof. The ones facing the tarmac/mountains are our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniqueVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Fairmont YVR almost every time we either depart or return to Vancouver (we live in a smaller community that is reached by ferry or plane and often cannot connect after long flights). It is always enjoyable, clean, quiet... and nothing beats the convenience of walking downstairs before boarding, or not having to hail a cab or catch the skytrain after a long day of travel. If you haven't had the breakfast buffet, your life isn't complete.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but it is nice to have a view of the mountains and runways if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at The Fairmont Vancouver Airport. We are so pleased to know that we are a regular part of your travel experience and that we are exceeding expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel out of Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Address: 3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $211 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel is the only soundproofed, luxury hotel and spa conveniently located within Vancouver's International Airport (YVR). Situated directly above the US departures terminal only a two-minute stroll from the luggage carousels. Sleep in luxury right above your gate and avoid shuttles. This AAA / CAA 4-diamond airport hotel features:- an extensive Health Club and Spa- soundproofed guestrooms- breathtaking floor-to-ceiling views- day use roomsThe Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel's award-winning, signature restaurant, GlobeYVR Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.Wireless Internet Access is available in all of our guest rooms and is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport
Fairmont Richmond
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Vancouver Airport Fairmont Hotel
Richmond Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing