We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Vancouver” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best in Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for business. Room was excellent and could not hear airport noise at all! We also used the restaurants for all meals. Very good. Convenient for the airport to wake up and walk right into the terminal. Will stay again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,109
    537
    85
    32
    21
See reviews for
669
948
292
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
173 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Swanky hotel in the airport with attractive rooms and amazingly sound-proofed. The problem is that it is laughably premium priced. Bottles of water in the room cost $6.50, staff encourage you to join the irritatingly named President's club: if you don't, internet charges are massive, and also charged for each machine you want to hook up to. Breakfast options very expensive too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan River, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Large hotel, right in the airport terminal next to US flight check in.
Clean rooms, big bathrooms, and surprisingly quiet given its proximity to the planes.
But at 240$ for one night in a regular room, you are paying for the location and the hotel is taking advantage of being the only one around. It's super convenient but pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idybidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at this airport hotel several times since it was built. It is an excellent location to spend a night on arrival from a long flight or flying early in the morning. We never had a bad room in that hotel. But our favorite ones are facing the tarmac and the mountains. (all rooms are soundproof.)
Breakfast is excellent, so is dinner. If you just want to quick snack, take a short walk in the airport terminal and you will find something to eat.
We had to be downtown Vancouver the next day so we took Canada Line (a train built for the Vancouver Olympics in 2010.) After a smooth ride of 25 minutes, we are at the Waterfront.
We'll be back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and soundproof. The ones facing the tarmac/mountains are our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Fairmont YVR almost every time we either depart or return to Vancouver (we live in a smaller community that is reached by ferry or plane and often cannot connect after long flights). It is always enjoyable, clean, quiet... and nothing beats the convenience of walking downstairs before boarding, or not having to hail a cab or catch the skytrain after a long day of travel. If you haven't had the breakfast buffet, your life isn't complete.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but it is nice to have a view of the mountains and runways if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at The Fairmont Vancouver Airport. We are so pleased to know that we are a regular part of your travel experience and that we are exceeding expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel out of Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent way to break up a long journey - good-size rooms, interesting furniture (only a queen-size bed in our room), great views of runway/mountains, great spa area (with pool) and great location. It literally only takes a few minutes from the hotel to the boarding gate. The only problem with Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel - value for money. Room rates and restaurant prices are simply too high for what is on offer. Since it is the only real airport hotel at Vancouver International Airport it's highly unlikely that rates will drop anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We did not want to drive home from Vancouver late on a Saturday evening only to have to drive back a few hours later for an early morning flight so decided to stay near the airport. We had no idea that there was a hotel above US departures which was just perfect for us. We were well looked after, upgraded to a deluxe room and after enjoying a drink in the bar had an excellent night's sleep.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the runway but there was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneE1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room as well as our Jetside Bar. We hope that next time you fly out of YVR you take advantage of the convenience of our hotel and take the stress out of your travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Property: Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Address: 3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel is the only soundproofed, luxury hotel and spa conveniently located within Vancouver's International Airport (YVR). Situated directly above the US departures terminal only a two-minute stroll from the luggage carousels. Sleep in luxury right above your gate and avoid shuttles. This AAA / CAA 4-diamond airport hotel features:- an extensive Health Club and Spa- soundproofed guestrooms- breathtaking floor-to-ceiling views- day use roomsThe Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel's award-winning, signature restaurant, GlobeYVR Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.Wireless Internet Access is available in all of our guest rooms and is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport
Fairmont Richmond
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Vancouver Airport Fairmont Hotel
Richmond Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing