We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not as good as it should be”
Reviewed January 2, 2008

I've stayed here about 10 times now. Very nice hotel, but it's changing in the wrong direction. On the initiation of my visit to VAncouver, we stayed there and got a really nice room on the 9th floor. New soft bedding and redone carpet. That night, we ate at the jetside lounge area as there was a huge XMas dinner going on ... service was HORRID at the lounge. Food was only marginal.

The return part of the trip was about the same, except our room was on the 7th floor. Old stained carpet, and NO soft bedding (we're back to the sleep on a piece of sheet rock syndrome which I'd expereinced before there). THe dinner at the restaurant was again disappointing. Service was poor (i gave the waiter only 10%) and the food was dismal. The food used to be QUITE good at teh restaurant. IT's really awful now. I will never eat there again, and i probably wont' stay there again at the hotel ... i'll just have to get up earlier to leave vancouver.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — just not fairmont quality
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank profwho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,127
    551
    86
    32
    22
See reviews for
679
961
295
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Definitely not what we expect from a Fairmont property. Only one inferior room available for check in at 3:00pm. General houskeeping left a lot to be desired. Routine maintenance seemed to be lacking. No bathrobes available. Service in the lounge was very slow even though it was not busy - staff seemed to be more interested in stocking the bar than serving the guests. The only reason I would consider staying in the property again is the location right in YVR airport.

  • Liked — Convenience to YVR airport
  • Disliked — Condition of the property and amenities
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYJGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

Great hotel...room was large and the bathroom was excellent, large with seperate shower and the bathtub was big, I could lie out in it and I'm 6'1". If you have a lay-over in Vacouver airport it is the place to stay for sure! Highly recommend it.
We overlooked the runway, greta view.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ontherock3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

I have stayed at this airport hotel many times for business and it remains my favourite. It's great if you have a late evening incoming flight, or an early morning outgoing, as it is attached to the airport.

The rooms are large. Many face the runway, but all are beautifully soundproofed. The bathroom is fantastic, whether you are a shower or bath person. The baths are larger than in any hotel that I have stayed in, as are the separate glass shower enclosures. I used the layout as a model for the ensuite in the house we have just built.

I love the temperature control feature that is built into the clock radio/ light switch. You can change temperature, turn lights on and off, and set the alarm withut leaving your bed.

The corridors are wide, and the check in area is convenient. The area
is well staffed, with usually very little wait. The workout area is fabulous with good equipment and lots of room in a purpose built facility with windows overlooking the airport check in area.

The lounge is comfortable, featuring B.C. wines, with views of the runway, often live piano music, and a double sided gas fireplace/
lounge area.

If I have a quibble, it is the restaurant. I have eaten there a number of times, and unless they have changed the chef, the food does
not live up to the rest of the property, although the prices are
those of a first class hotel.

  • Liked — The bathroom and the quiet.
  • Disliked — restsaurant food.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank neamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

I travel @ 75 days per year. Stay all area's and am on expense accounts usually. Although a little pricey, this is by far one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at anywhere. Classy, no noise, quiet rooms, eager attentive staff, very fast check in and check out, EXCELLENT Eggs benedict!
Truly one of the nicest hotels I have expirienced. I usually stay at Westins exclusively and this is definatly a cut above.

  • Liked — Very Quiet and super clean. Did I say very serene?
  • Disliked — A little pricey.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwell r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

We stayed here for one night prior to our Alaskan Cruise. As other contributors have said the hotel is excellent. It was so nice after a 10 hour flight to be able to just walk to the other side of the airport and be at your hotel. We thought we'd be in line for ages to check in due to lots of fellow cruise passengers who were on our flight, but as soon as reception staff saw the queue other members of staff were called to get everyone checked in.
The reception staff were friendly and our room was well decorated, clean and spacious. The shower was great, like a mini wet room. The view of the mountains from our window was awesome. We heard no noise at all from the airport and sat for ages watching the planes land and take off.

We didn't eat here, however. We were just too tired to get dressed up for dinner on the evening, so we found a fast food pizza stand, in the morning we ate at a restaurant in the airport - can't recall the name but it was on a corner opposite a large seating area. All in all we were disappointed to only be staying one night!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aduf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

What a perfect location if you have to catch an early flight. We were immediately (within 5 minutes) checked in (early) and on being shown our room and my expressing disappointment about some staining on the carpet in front of the entertainment center,our room was changed within minutes! How much better service can you get than that?! Once the room change was approved (perfect),our luggage was moved..and we were called by the front desk to make sure we were happy. Great service from a really great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sierram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Property: Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Address: 3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel is the only soundproofed, luxury hotel and spa conveniently located within Vancouver's International Airport (YVR). Situated directly above the US departures terminal only a two-minute stroll from the luggage carousels. Sleep in luxury right above your gate and avoid shuttles. This AAA / CAA 4-diamond airport hotel features:- an extensive Health Club and Spa- soundproofed guestrooms- breathtaking floor-to-ceiling views- day use roomsThe Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel's award-winning, signature restaurant, GlobeYVR Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.Wireless Internet Access is available in all of our guest rooms and is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport
Fairmont Richmond
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Vancouver Airport Fairmont Hotel
Richmond Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing