We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
339 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Wow! This is place is awesome. I had a reservation but was a bit dismayed at the queue at check-in, apparently an Air New Zealand 747 had canceled its operation to Auckland and sent the entire cabin over to the Fairmont. The conceirge waved me over and let me check in without waiting behind the 400 ANZ passengers. As further apology they upgraded me to Gold Level. This is the kind of personal attention that makes you feel more comfortable about paying so much for a nice hotel. I enjoyed a drink in the lobby level lounge which has a striking view of the runway, but was even more impressed with the hotel room itself and the gold club level. This place really "knocked my socks off" Large room. Not completely silent, there is still a bit of airplane noise but I found once I completed closed the curtain to the floor-to-ceiling windows the noise almost completely disappeared (sound proof curtains, what will they think of next?) Excellent food from room service and while a bit expensive, it was not as pricey as I would have expected. The gold level lounge had desserts and an honor bar. It also provided a full breakfast in the morning. They call it continental breakfast, but with eggs, meats, smoked salmon, pastries, fruits, cereals, it is more than enough to get anyone started for the day. The rooms with the views to the north have more runway action and in the distance you can see the mountains, the view to the south is nice too though - it is more distant from the runways and therefore quieter and in the distance you can see the ocean and the San Juan Islands. You win either way! I was sorry to have only stayed one night, this place was truly amazing!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,168
    569
    92
    33
    22
See reviews for
684
987
306
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
217 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Rooms are good size. The missings are: slippers, Wi Fi should be standard, considering the charges in an airport hotel that is almost at par with some of the 5 star downtown hotels. Complimentary tea coffee in room is great and not so great when there was no milk or cream with it. Breakfast buffet lacks a variety of fresh fruits like cherries, strawberries that are abundant in BC. Service in restaurant is fair only. E.g. When asked for something, the response is: they are up in the front but I get it for yu anyway. Hardly befitting a world class brand hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Always a pleasure to check into a well organized, efficient , and classy property.

Quiet - considering its location. well appointed rooms. Great amenities.

Only minor negative - No cream for in room coffee. It is in the mini-bar, and i wasn't offered a key for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We flew in from Europe and had a flight the following day out. The fairmont proved to be the perfect choice. Obviously the location right at the airport. But only a 20 min train ride from downtown Vancouver. Room was very clean and spacious. Very comfy bed (which proved essential after a 12 hour flight). Gym facility and good bar a bonus. The view on to the runway a real bonus!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailaway1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was a great Fairmont as we stepped out of the airport after 19 hours flying and went straight to sleep in the most comfortable bed. We stayed here for 2 nights and travelled into the City via the train which is linked directly to the Airport. The fare is only $2.50 and takes around 20 minutes. Very convenient.

Room Tip: All rooms are soundproofed and we were not disturbed by aircraft noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyboomer58sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

If you have an early flight ex-YVR, this is the hotel. It's expensive, but the convenient location alone justifies.

On top of that, it's a very high end hotel. Big and very clean rooms, and great fitness center overlooking check-in area.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGrandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Although this hotel is in the Vancouver Airport, it is one of my all time favourite places to stay. I usually wish I was staying longer than a one night stopover before a flight - the rooms are beautifully appointed, quiet, clean and comfortable. The beds are divine and don't make for an easy early rising. When I go to book a flight, I try to book an early one so that I have an excuse to stay over night (I live outside of Vancouver). Really a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babaramdass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Property: Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Address: 3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#1 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel is the only soundproofed, luxury hotel and spa conveniently located within Vancouver's International Airport (YVR). Situated directly above the US departures terminal only a two-minute stroll from the luggage carousels. Sleep in luxury right above your gate and avoid shuttles. This AAA / CAA 4-diamond airport hotel features:- an extensive Health Club and Spa- soundproofed guestrooms- breathtaking floor-to-ceiling views- day use roomsThe Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel's award-winning, signature restaurant, GlobeYVR Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.Wireless Internet Access is available in all of our guest rooms and is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport
Fairmont Richmond
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Vancouver Airport Fairmont Hotel
Richmond Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing