We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for late night YVR arrival” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for late night YVR arrival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

This hotel was perfect for a late night YVR arrival with a kid. Hotel was easy to find, room was really comfortable and clean. Loved the telescope looking over the runway. Lots of choices for breakfast in the airport. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristabelle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, General Manager at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank you for your posting. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,109
    537
    85
    32
    21
See reviews for
669
948
292
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

Stayed here on the last night of a convention trip to Vancouver. The location and convenience of walking steps to checkin for a flight cannot be beat and that is the best thing about this hotel.

The room we had carpet had stains, the sheets were threading and their was hair (not ours) in the bed - so gross.

Breakfast was on the main floor, had a decent coffee but the yogurt was too warn and possibly sitting out for longer than healthy. I was OK though as I am from Nepal and very tough.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGohol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Had to stay here because my flight was cancelled. I was greeted at the stairs going up to the hotel and taken up there by the doorman, who was charming. Got a discount on the room because it was late and wow, when I opened the door - LOVED the room. Large bathroom, bath separate to shower, closed off toilet room, very large mirror, one sink, granite counter. Huge bedroom with desk. I liked how you could control all the lights by hitting one switch or separately. Comfortable bed and nice cotton sheets. Huge window to look at airport, worried it would be noisy but no, not until about 7 a.m. then jets but really pretty quiet considering. I loved this hotel and would likely stop over in Vancouver just to go there for a treat. Way nicer than any in Montreal, Toronto or others in Vancouver. Would have liked free internet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkswithafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Well, the stay was good, where I was received on the departure level, my bags taken off and I went for check-in. It was just an overnight transit, leaving early the next morning, and with a quick checkin I went to my room. Ordered room service, the fries were slightly lacking, but nothing horrible. The one complaint I have is that the telephone service acted as a central hub of some sorts, and it was really annoying to get around that. The service was in general good, just one minor complaint, there was no soap in my bathroom, had to request it twice. Also, I asked for them to take my room service, and they never did citing that I didn't leave it outside. This is the first time I have seen this attitude, but I saw it again later in the Redmond Marriott so figured this is natural for Canadian/US Hotels.

As I was in a Fairmont Gold Room, I got the free shoe polish done, but I wasn't allowed to take my breakfast in the public restaurant, only in the club lounge. That was annoying as I was the only one in during that time, so it took a while for the staff to realize I was there, also when you are traveling solo, it's always nice to see other people. Check-out was pleasant, taxi was called for and I was off.

Overall pleasant stay with minor service inconvenience

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aviationfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

This place is the perfect option for someone who has an early flight out of Vancouver International. Entry to the hotel is via the inside of the airport so you can get out of bed early in the morning and walk to your check in counter without having to worry about taxis, traffic, bad weather, etc. Rooms are beautiful. Ours faced north with a great view of the planes landing. We had a telescope in our room so we could get a great look to the mountains on the North shore. Nice touch! Not the cheapest place to stay but we got the government employee rate which shaved $70 off our bill. Room was spacious with a great variety of pillows. Even though it overlooks the runway it is quiet and we had no trouble getting a good night's sleep. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

An absolutely beautiful hotel. I didn't get a chance to visit the spa due to timing but the rooms are spacious, luxurious, the room service quick and reasonable with much selection and the bathroom was equipped with the biggest/longest tub I've ever been in. That worked out well since I didn't get a chance to visit the spa :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuiGonJin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

I agree with most of the reviews about this hotel. It is a very convenient and extremely clean facility. Strong 4.5* hotel which just happened to be at the airport.
Negative: restaurant very expensive. Standard breakfast is $30 !?
Even the wireless internet in your room is $15 ?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Property: Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Address: 3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel is the only soundproofed, luxury hotel and spa conveniently located within Vancouver's International Airport (YVR). Situated directly above the US departures terminal only a two-minute stroll from the luggage carousels. Sleep in luxury right above your gate and avoid shuttles. This AAA / CAA 4-diamond airport hotel features:- an extensive Health Club and Spa- soundproofed guestrooms- breathtaking floor-to-ceiling views- day use roomsThe Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel's award-winning, signature restaurant, GlobeYVR Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.Wireless Internet Access is available in all of our guest rooms and is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport
Fairmont Richmond
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Vancouver Airport Fairmont Hotel
Richmond Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing