We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago and had a pleasant experience. Disappointed to have a different experience this time. Entering our room, we discovered there was unflushed paper in the toilet bowl. The bathroom sink drained very slowly and eventually clogged (kudos to staff for promptly fixing the clogged sink the next day). Found the bathroom counter to be so low it hurt my back. These were minor disappointments compared to the breakfast service and the wifi. Breakfast used to be a buffet which is perfect for visitors like us from out of town that have many things to do and cram into our short time in the big city. Breakfast now is a sit down service that took the better part of an hour. This is an airport hotel so I'm sure the slow breakfast causes major stress for people who have to get quickly to the airport. It sure frustrated us since it used to be a quick serve yourself affair. The wifi was a major frustration. Likely because we were in a room on the top floor on the SE corner, the wifi repeatedly dropped. So aggravating to have to walk to the hallway door every few minutes to capture the signal only to have it drop when lying in bed or sitting in a chair.

Room Tip: Avoid the far corner rooms with spotty wifi service
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear DuncanMusicman,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We do work with pest control and are proud to report we have had no issues in property within the past two months. Apologies for the critter sighting in parking lot! We will also
double check the wifi signal and maintenance issues. As this is an airport hotel I understand the urgency to eat breakfast in the morning and are working with restaurant to provide a better breakfast experience as your satisfaction is important to us. We most certainly will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Alanna Kobza
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    337
    175
    82
    39
See reviews for
207
337
69
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

No complaints......except missed the shuttle......hard to read location when the headlights were glaring.....pretty cold when it finally arrived.( had arrived from Mexico ).....check in fast and friendly, received a coupon for a free drink....with it being late, had to eat in the pub, for us the music was brutal after a long journey.......breakfast voucher more than covered our meal.
Room comfortable and clean....stayed here in the past , and have already made another booking

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decogran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear decogran,

Thank you very much for giving us a five star! We were very happy to see the appreciation you had for the service in gerenal. We looking forward to provide you with another superior experience!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is how I would summarize both good and bad: convenient location near the YVR airport; shuttle runs every 30 minutes; free parking if you have a vehicle; very good breakfast with à la carte selections; free and fast wi-fi; the building is a bit tired but the rooms are clean;; comfy beds; quiet rooms; near 3rd Road if you need to run to a convenience store or drugstore. I wish I could give it 4 stars but, except for the waitress at the restaurant, the staff (specially those at the front desk) is extremely rude, very rude and unfriendly.This is my 5th stay since 2008 and, unfortunately, this has not changed or improved; the in-room coffeemakers are difficult to operate; don´t look out your window if you expect a room-with-a view. Also, if you don´t like animals or are allergic to them, beware, since this hotel accept pets. Overall, clean, comfy, good breakfast, conveniently located, unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tishlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Tishalf,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We will be having a briefing shortly to reenforce attitude and service as we have a high standard here at BEST WESTERN PLUS. On a positive note we will be changing all coffee machines in the rooms soon which will be more user friendly! Also we do have designated floor section and only certain rooms for pet friendly to avoid allergy issue. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed 4 nights, with 2 dogs, room was very comfortable and quiet, excellent breakfasts we had one dinner which also very good, staff very friendly, courteous and helpful in the hotel and restaurant. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Kelly B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and your positive recommendation! We were very happy to see the appreciation you had for our service in general. we are actually one of the only hotels in Richmond that is pet friendly! We looking forward to see you again!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here with some family members last month, just for one night.

The rooms are nice. The bed is comfortable. But the most memorable thing about this hotel is how rude every single person working there was! (Except the waitress we had in the restaurant--she was pleasant).

I called them asking where to catch their shuttle service from the airport. The front desk person told me " you go outside and catch the shuttle there". I asked "does it stop at a particular terminal or floor?", which was a silly question, in hindsight, but she because so rude and condescending, telling me step by step how to walk off a plane and walk out of a building and along the sidewalk looking for a sign. I just wanted to get an idea of where the shuttle would stop! I don't think that was an unreasonably stupid question.

At the hotel, a different front desk person was jolly enough, but was kind of rude to my aunt (who is an elderly lady who is sometimes a bit foggy and unaware) when she was wondering where on the page to sign. I get that it might be a tiresome job always having to talk to people, but it is their job, so I think his rudeness to an elderly woman was uncalled for.

Next time I need an airport hotel, I would rather go to a different hotel where people are friendlier, or at the very least, aloof and not bent on being rude and condescending.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinnyFredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear VinnyFredo,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

needed to stay one night after flying in - very convenient to airport, free parking and breakfast was good. the room was large enough for my family (5 of us in a room with 2 queen beds). we got vouchers for breakfast which were good for a choice of 3 hot breakfasts, or could apply the value towards a larger/fancier breakfast. Service a little slow, but it was very busy. Food was pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank bethtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear bethtex,

Thank you for choosing your stay with Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn. We are glad that we were able to meet your accommodation needs. We do hope you return and look forward to the possibility of hosting you again!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Bed was awesome! Best I've had a in long time. I was super hungry and found out that there was only deep fried appies to be had ( this was around 2200 hours ). Not pleased. Other than that, the staff was good & the room was clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank deepseadinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear deepseadinko,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad that we were able to meet your accommodation needs. As restaurant is a leased property we will share your feedback with the restaurant manager to improve their service. Thank you again to stay with Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn. We wish to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn
Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing