We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Room service food was prepared poorly - the main course of fish was mysteriously smothered in chocolate sauce. I was unable to get the TV to work properly, and the front desk staff was unwilling to assist. I tried to reconcile a problem with the billing for a movie, and the front desk person lectured me about hotel profitability rather than helping with the problem. Of 200+ stays at various hotels throughout the world in the last 365 days, this ranks as the worst. Congratulations Best Western Abercorn, your service is the most appalling.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank JHORNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 859 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2007

We were booked into this hotel by our travel agent. Upon arrival, we had problems checking into the hotel as there was a mix up over our last names. The staff present was less than helpful and insisted that we did not have any reservations. We told her that this is unlikely as the rest of the tour group had already checked in successfully. There was no apology, or rather, we got bad body language in return.

Getting around town
We decided to call for a cab to get to the nearby Chinatown. The front desk called for one and told us that it would be a 5 min wait. We waited for 20min, all this time within the receptionists' clear view. We could see them chatting to each other, but none came to follow up on our status. When we asked for their help again to call for the cab company, they picked up the phone in frustration and told us that it was a Friday and the delay was to be expected, all this while rolling her eyes at us and making it seem like we were interrupting her conversation with her colleague. We cancelled our booking and decided to take the 30min walk to Chinatown instead.

Breakfast in the morning
The service at the hotel café was disastrous. We waited 15min before realizing that people around us have been waiting for more than 30min had not been served. Tables were not cleared, and there was only 1 waitress in attendance. We suspect that there was probably only 1 cook inside the kitchen as food was coming out very slowly. I do not blame her for her frustration working there, but question the hotel’s bad management of their human resources.

The rooms
The rooms are very cramped, with large furniture. And the walkways are dark and dingy. There is a lot of noise coming from the planes taking off at the nearby airport. With only 1 lift servicing 3 levels, waiting for the lift also took a long time especially with so many luggage and too little space.

We will not be staying at this hotel ever.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BeanieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

We booked this as we were arriving late into Vancouver after a long flight from Europe. The courtesy coach was prompt and efficient. Check-in was polite and helpful and the restaurant staff went out of their way to accommodate us explaining that our 8 yeard old daughter could'nt sit in the bar area or nearby because of licensing laws but then found us a great table on the deck outside (by then it was 4.00am according to our body clock).
Breakfast was perhaps a little bit expensive and the service was not the fastest.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ALHECA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2006

We booked this hotel for 1 night only as it was close to the airport, as we were going to fly in late and didn't want to pick up the hire car late at night then search for our main hotel which was in Burnaby. The room was large and well furnished although it did smell a bit musty, opening the window for a few minutes helped sort that out.
A word of caution the only real negative came when I switched on the jacuzzi, it obviously had not been run for awhile as soon as it started up the water stank like a stagnant pond.
The included breakfast was a muffin (with butter and peanut butter)or toast, or croissant, friut salad and tea or coffee. Not huge but enough to keep you going.
The staff were friendly and polite, booking in/out was quick and a very helpful thing was the half hourly shuttle to the airport.
The location of our room was fine but you could get one near a raised dual carridgeway, but after a 9 hour flight I'd sleep anywhere.
All in all good value for money and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sapperjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2005

If you're looking for luxury, the Abercorn Inn is not for you - but who wants to visit western Canada and spend their time in a hotel, lazing around a swimming pool? However, if you're looking for a comfortable base with great food, excellent staff and a homely atmosphere, this is certainly the place to be!
The food - delicious and plenty of it.
The rooms - comfortable, with everything you need.
The "Pub" - great atmosphere and friendly staff.
The location - very close to the airport but far enough away to have minimum noise disturbance.
The restaurant - friendly and intimate (as the night wears on).
My verdict - just right for my needs!!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RobandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2005

Stayed at the end of May this year. Very pleasant hotel. Good clean spacious rooms. Ample parking spaces. Friendly helpful staff. Free breakfast is a very much grander affair than the normal ‘free’ buffet breakfast – waitress service. Breakfast voucher can also redeemed against the cost of a full breakfast. Both Restaurant and pub serve good food at a fair price.

Vancouver is about 25 minutes away, but the bus tour companies will come and pick you up from this hotel with no extra cost if you don’t fancy riving.

Rooms have refrigerator, but a microwave as well would have been nice. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2004

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night at the end of September 2004.

Located in Richmond, near the Vancouver International Airport, this hotel is slightly cheaper than the downtown Vancouver hotels. Its near proximity to the airport is a plus, and they have a complimentary shuttle that can take you to the airport.

The Inn itself is has a thouroughly Scottish theme and our room was of reasonable size, but quite clean and comfortable. There is an onsite (quite expensive) restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner or you can have a quiet ale and "pub meal" in the lounge also on site.

The staff are very friendly and there is also a "business centre" (1 computer) with internet which you can buy an access card from the reception desk> ($8 for 1 hour). You have to be quick though, as one night we wanted to use the internet and some guy tied it up for about 2 1/2, them we got on for 1 hour and then the same guy hang around waiting for us to finish and then got back on for who know how long. The best part was when we got up the next morning, he was in there again! They should have a time limit so all people wishing to use the pc can get their go.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank us2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Bridgeport
Travelodge Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport

Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $97 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing