We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location and Small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2005

We stayed at the Richmond location after having previously stayed at the downtown Holiday Inn (on Howe street).
The rooms at the Holiday Inn on Howe were positively huge when compared to this hotels.

The pros:
- free parking
- free continental buffet (bread, cereal, cinnamon roll)
- only 10 mins from the airport and there is a shuttle available

The cons:
- if you intend to sightsee be advised that this hotel is an easy 30-45 mins drive to downtown, certainly not ideal to see the central core, its fine if you intend to explore the outer area of the city though
- the rooms are small, we had requested an extra cot and whilst they had it in there (standing up next to the door) there was no room to actually lay it down on the ground!! So we had to have it removed from the room (they should have been honest about this when we made our bookings).
Whats the point of standing a cot on its head in the room when its not possible to actually lay it down and use it!! Thats just deceitful business practice. So we were very cramped in this room.
- whilst the buffet was free it is served in a lobby area (as there is no in-house restaurant) - often there was no place to sit and things ran out as there was very little serving space so you had to keep waiting for things to get refilled only to face a mob of hungry people and fight through a crowd to get something - waaaay too crowded.
- there is a Tim Hortons down a block but very few restaurants in the immediate vicinity, make sure you have dinner somewehere lese otherwise factor in driving about 25 mins to eat (we did order Pizza in one night from a place called "Camys Pizza" - reception will provide you with their flyer upon request - and the it was REALLY good - highly recommended).

Note: Keep your confirmation number handy - on check-in the front desk staff made out like they could not find our reservation and kept asking if we were confirmed (which we were).

I wouldn't stay here again as I found it poorly situated for touristy activities and I also disliked the very small rooms and the rush I would face for breakfast.
It may be Ok for a single business-person or a couple but certainly not a family and not if you like to be in a central location with lots of activity.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SafariBwana42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 563 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2005

We reserved a family suite for our family of five. The hotel was clean, fresh and very convenient to the airport and the central thoroughfares into the city. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Negatives: the family suite was a queen plus a bunk bed. There was no room to even set down our suitcases or put our 3rd child on the floor. Incredibly tight space. Parking was full by 9 p.m. and we had to park on the street in front.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2005

The hotel staff were freindly and the hotel overall was clean. The room we stayed in was small but nicely appointed and the toiletries and towels were above average. Our room however was located near the elevator and we could hear guests coming and going all night. We could also hear the traffic outside all too well which made for a poor nights sleep. We tried to drown out the noise by turning on the AC but you could still hear it over low and high was too noisy. The beds weren't uncomfortable but weren't comfy either and if you like fat pillows-this is the hotel for you. If you stay at this property be sure to request a room away from the elevator.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeeJaneEatStayPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
14
Reviewed February 21, 2005

I would recommend this hotel to travelers looking for a clean and convenient place to spend the night near the airport. Our 2 queen bed, non-smoking room was very clean and good sized. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient and the free shuttle to the airport was on-time and only a 10 min ride.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2004

We really liked this hotel. The staff were very nice. The room was beautiful. We pulled in late at night after a long run in the rain. We loved that room service was so reasonable. It was a treat. Just 15% above the regular prices in the restaurant. It is really close to the airport. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. Express checkout made everything easy. We would definitely stay there again.

3  Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
14
Reviewed July 20, 2004

I have stayed at other Holiday Inn Express hotels, but this one is really nice. Great quality all around! The breakfast is great, and the staffl in the breakfast bar are really friendly. That means a lot to me in the mornings! The rooms are quite large, especially the bathrooms. I parked my car there for a week while I was away, and there was no charge, even though they had a special parking lot with a fence and a gate for security. Their shuttle is also free and runs very early in the morning. The desk staff were really helpful, especially with restraurant advice. And its really close to the new casino.....lots of fun and great place to stay.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2003

When we arrived, they couldn't find our reservation and as there were not vacant rooms as the one we booked, they gave us a bigger room , respecting the price of the room we have booked. The hotel seems new, the rooms, the corridors, the breakfast room, are very clean. We usually don't use the room's coffee maker because they are alwsys dirty, but we found the cofee maker and the microwave oven and fridge were perfectly clean. The position is very good, the parking is free, there's a bus stop in front of the entrance. In our opinion, you receive more than what you pay for. If we return to Vancouver, we certainly would stay there again.

17  Thank None_6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
936 reviews
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport

Address: 9351 Bridgeport Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $120 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport Hotel Our Richmond (Vancouver), BC hotel is conveniently located near the Vancouver International Airport in Richmond. Home of the 2010 Winter Olympic Games, the city is a hub of culture that will connect you to a plethora of superb attractions. Vancouver exists as a metropolitan refuge surrounded by natural beauty, bringing nature and civilization together. Our Vancouver Airport hotel is close to several sights and attractions like the 2010 Olympic Oval, Buddhist Temple, and the River Rock Casino. The Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia, Granville Island, Gastown and the Steveston Fishing Village are other attractions we encourage travelers to see while staying in our hotel. Vancouver, Canada is a diverse and historic city where vacation dreams come to life. In this bustling metro, film, international trade and technology are all important industries. The versatility of the city presents many opportunities to corporate guests of our hotel. Our Vancouver travelers can rest assured that while staying on our executive floor, they will experience a relaxing, focused environment. During your visit to Vancouver (Richmond), enjoy our choice amenities including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar, high-speed, wireless Internet access and free local calls at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel at the Vancouver Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Express Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing