We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rooms, Mediocre Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, Mediocre Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

As stated in the prior reviews, the only thing that is keeping this hotel from being 5 stars is the location. First, it is difficult to find, as it is essentially located in an alley behind some deteriorating auto mechanics. Second, the area around it is grimy (minus the new apartments next to it), and I would definitely not be walking around the area after dark. However, it is about 15 minutes walking distance from subway and Aberdeen Centre and 10 minutes from another plaza with plenty of Chinese food. You just need to know which direction to walk in.

The hotel itself is much smaller than I expected. Don't expect a huge Westin hotel lobby. The lobby is clean, small, and functional. Each floor also does not seem like it has very many rooms, many 10 or less per floor. However, once inside the rooms, they are very nice. The Westin Heavenly beds are really awesome, and they have tea/coffee makers and tub and separate shower. It is very clean.

On the whole, it seems like the Radisson is located in a much better spot, but the room itself at the Westin are probably much nicer. There is a free shuttle that runs every 30 minutes on the 15 and 45. It takes about 10 minutes or so to get to the airport. There is also a business center where you can check in and print out boarding passes for free.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatster31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    320
    81
    31
    14
See reviews for
207
243
53
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times since the beginning of the year. I usually stay downtown, but find that most of my client visits are anywhere but downtown, so staying in Richmond is making more sense, especially with some of my visits being in Surrey. This hotel's location offers equidistant drives to my regular meetings, so it makes sense. The hotel is new and the rooms fairly modern. Bathrooms are roomy, and offer a full size shower, in addition to a deep soaker tub. Lighting is better than most hotels these day, as well. They do charge for internet and parking, which I find a bit surprising, considering their location, but the prices are in-line for the region. Service is great, from front desk to house keeping. The only issue I've had was finding a few local phone calls on my bill, when I went to process my expenses. I looked up the numbers on the Internet and found that they were to area massage parlours. When I mentioned this on my second visit, the front desk staff member did not seem to care, or offer to do anything about it. I would have accepted an apology, but didn't even get that. Outside of that one person, I have found all the staff very professional and helpful, and will still consider staying here in the future. For the quality of the hotel, the rates are pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

I have another review below of the same property. I stayed this month for 3 more nights. As before, great stay. My prior comments apply here.

It was very busy this time but still a very quiet property. Had a car that had to be parked across the street again which is no biggie given it is FREE.

This time I ate at the restaurant. It was outstanding - kind of odd for a business hotel. Not that expensive for what you got. You have to be willing to give the whole molecular cuisine a try....

Would stay here over many others in Richmond in a second.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

The location was great, just 5 minutes drive to the airport. Bedroom is large and very comfortable, very clean and modern decor. Parking is like $30 per night. Saved money by parking on the street (FREE). Thank you to Jude (Apron Restraurant Server ) for a great dinner service, Cody from Belldesk for the warm welcome, Front desk and shuttle driver are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel especially if you have an early flight. Thank you WESTIN for the excellent service!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yenj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

A little far from the airport, nothing really around some fast food walking distance. I stayed here when this hotel was pretty new. The heavenly bed was nice - I love the Westin soaps and bathrooms too. Starbucks coffee in room is cool. Shuttle service is ok but again a little far from YVR. Staff were nice. Did not get to try the room service. Love the Westin finishings.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zanezed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Great hotel. Convenient, free on street parking, close to airport and downtown via car or train.
Had a lovely suite, only issue is that the curtains do not at all block out light (come on!) and you can hear traffic easily through the windows, which seems odd given the hotel is brand new.
Sounds like someone cheaped out on the insulation there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed two nights. Hotel is relatively new, so you can expect everything to be in excellent condition. Bedroom is large and very comfortable. Bathroom has separate bath and shower. Very clean and modern. Front desk is not so friendly, a bit cold. Parking is like $30 per night (with taxes) and internet about $18 (can't remember exact amount). Both can add a lot to the final bill. Saved money by parking on the street (free, no time and day restriction - just don't park near the fire hydrants). I had a lovely room overlooking the river and the North Shore mountains.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport

Property: Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Address: 3099 Corvette Way, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 4K3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Family Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Wall Centre, Vancouver Airport is conveniently located near the airport, offering complimentary shuttle service to and from and providing guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing