We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable - courtesy of Adele”

Harold's Bistro & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Harold's Bistro & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 913 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $12 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Centre
Cross street: Minoru Blvd
Transit: The Bistro and Lounge can be easily accessible by transit buses or by taxi. We are a five minute walk from the Brighouse station on the Canada Line.
Description: Upon entering Harold's Bistro, you'll undoubtedly be drawn to the warm & welcoming atmosphere of this Richmond favourite, named after a guest who has dined with us daily for more than 35 years. Our menu will have you wondering if you're at home or on the road, and our wide selection of locals wines, beer on tap, and spirits from around the world guarantees to offer something for everyone. Connect with colleagues and friends in the bar. The lively atmosphere, plasma-screen TVs and inviting courtyard patio will supply the perfect ending to a productive day. Every day for over 35 years, Mr. Harold Cross has been coming to our place for lunch. In fact, you may see him sitting at his usual spot by the window, greeting everyone by name, sharing a laugh and offering a warm smile. Our biggest fan and one of the nicest people you'll ever meet, we couldn't think of a better name for our restaurant. See you tomorrow, Harold!
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Memorable - courtesy of Adele”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The menu is simple to understand and the team members are very helpful with healthy recommendations depending on your expectations.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ini J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    91
    44
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
1 review
“Casual dinner with family”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had a wonderful experience watching the Canucks game and sharing some delicious appetizers with my brother. The waitress, Chandace, was very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was really comfortable. we had a great time. Thanks Harold's we will be back for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Value on Steak Night Special”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The first night was excellent. Went with family. Steak was excellent. Services was excellent. The next time I went I was by myself. It was well after the dinner time rush. There were empty tables however I felt I was left standing "waiting" to be seated for too long of a period. I am physically disabled and can not stand for long periods of time. So I went to anther restaurant in the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 518 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Harold’s Bistro & Bar is attached to the Sheraton Hotel kitty-corner to the Richmond Mall shopping centre.

This restaurant is named after its namesake Harold Cross who frequents the bistro on almost a daily basis. In fact, when we were there on Sunday, Harold was there having lunch.

The restaurant was mostly empty around lunch time; maybe 6-8 tables with customers. We made use of an entertainment coupon.

My spouse ordered the blackened halibut on a ciabatta bun with fries. The halibut was tender but not spicy.

I ordered the Harold’s specialty beef burger (ciabatta bun) with caramelized onions, mushrooms, provolone cheese and back bacon. I substituted the fries with a small green salad with a balsamic vinegar dressing. The portion size of the burger was in the 6 ounce range.
The burger was well done – almost to the point of being dry; needless to say, due to health concerns.

The burger was okay; nothing special.

The caveat for my rating is that I was feeling a bit under the weather with a sore throat when we went for lunch so I don’t know if my sore throat had any impact on the taste. However, the few times I have gone to Harold’s before, the food has been average / good but nothing spectacular.

I don’t know if I would go back if I did not have a coupon.

The service was adequate; nothing fantastic.
The server was friendly.

Overall, I would give it 3 out 5 - average, for the food and service.


Tips:
The Saturday-Monday night dinner special on the poster board was Prime Rib night with soup or salad for $20.00. It sounds intriguing and I might go back to try the prime rib roast.

Ask for free cranberry bread.
Parking is free if you tell them your license plate number.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bottomshelfhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Caesars”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loved the Harolds Caesars as well as all the good food. Try the Caesars though, as they are awesome. You ,must go to Harolds Bistro and Bar if you are staying at this hotel. It is great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank wantTBretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harold's Bistro & Bar also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Harold's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing